Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Keane To Please
Hopes and Fears is Keane's debut album....and what a debut it is! This band are what real music is about! They breathe life into every single track and Tom Chaplin's voice is out-of-this-world! He has an amazing vocal range and is note-perfect. Their sound is very much individual with hints of Travis or Snow Patrol style. Every track is a stunner but the one's that stand...
Published on 13 April 2009 by G.E.Manton

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Single fish
There are 3 good tracks on this album.

The rest sounds like boring Bontempi organ music.

If you really like the singles, then individually download them.

Do not waste space the shelf where you hold your music collection with the case of this CD.
Published on 17 April 2010 by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Keane To Please, 13 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
Hopes and Fears is Keane's debut album....and what a debut it is! This band are what real music is about! They breathe life into every single track and Tom Chaplin's voice is out-of-this-world! He has an amazing vocal range and is note-perfect. Their sound is very much individual with hints of Travis or Snow Patrol style. Every track is a stunner but the one's that stand out for me are: Everybody's Changing,Sunshine,Bend and Break,This Is The Last Time,and the beautiful etheral ballad Bed-shaped. All tracks are written by the band and there is no doubt in my mind that keane will reach the top with this album. Good honest pop music at it's VERY best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 1 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
This album is an incredible example that quality and beauty have no patterns. This album has that kind of great-simple-but-intense songs that make your day, make you think and make you feel in love of music once again. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever Album!, 25 Mar 2012
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
This is the first Keane album and I love it. I bought it when it first came out several years ago and it is still top of my list of albums to listen to. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one Keane album, buy this!, 9 May 2009
By 
D. S. Hutchison (Old Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
This is a superb album, superb because of its sheer musicality, style and understated beauty. There are big, hefty tracks and one or two more melancholic and quieter songs, but each has purpose and style. Honestly, and at this price, do yourself a massive favour - buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEANE 'Hopes And Fears', 8 Oct 2009
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
Propelled by fairly simple piano chords coupled with the strong pure angelic voice of Tom Chaplin, then Keane, via this their debut album, sent shock waves throughout the indie scene. Opening track 'Somewhere Only We Know', basically using a minor chord progression F#m, C#m, Bm then E, coupled with someone who can actually sing, plus thoughtful lyrics "Oh simple thing where have you gone? I'm getting old and I need something to rely on", is one of the strongest numbers heard in years. 'This Is The Last Time' continues that high level - they develop a powerful beat on the CD with the piano being pushed slightly more into the background. With the virtually ditto sounding 'Bend And Break' and quieter 'We Might As Well Be Strangers', then there's a slight dip in the momentum & the signs of a musical sameness, but don't worry because 5th track 'Everybody's Changing' takes us back up again...those simple high-pitched piano chords being pushed to the forefront in the production...excellent number "Oh everybody's changing and I don't feel the same". 'Your Eyes Open' is more mysterious, but again that solid beat is there with piano chords bouncing around. Pianist Rice-Oxley said that this song initially resembled something Kylie Minogue might attempt. The delicate 'She Has No Time' follows, with Tom Chaplin's voice reminding of Geneva's Andrew Montgomery. Final four tracks continue the high standards 'Can't Stop Now', 'Sunshine', 'Untitled 1' & 'Bedshaped', with in particular the latter two being both really quite brilliant. Bathe yourself in this ocean of melodic indie power pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re:cd case, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
Did not come in normal cd case but folding card type case ,but otherwise very happy with it. It did arrive promptly thiugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
I got this cd for my wife it is very good she has played it just about non stop
Another good purchase from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never fails to amaze me!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. J. A. D'souza "bravel" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
I love love love this album! Hard to know what else to say other than that I would recommend it to everyone I know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
A must for most record collections, mean, moody & great to just sit & listen too at any time of the day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get this masterpiece!, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. I. English "I.J. English" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hopes and Fears (Audio CD)
This album is wonderful, unique and deserves to be a masterpiece! It's the album that got them noticed big-time!! Tune after tune is wonderful! I urgently recommend that any Keane fan that hasn't got this debut album needs to get a copy of it ASAP. And you will love it so much! It's brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hopes and Fears
Hopes and Fears by Keane (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews