Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics
It got here fast & in hood condition. WWF Summer Slam 1998 will always be my Fav Summer Slam purly because of HHH VS The Rock for the I.C belt in a ladder match & Austin VS The Undertaker.
Published 14 months ago by Nik

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A sizzling year but then followed by a cold-snap
SummerSlam 1998 is largely remembered for it's thrilling main event. The "Highway To Hell" storyline between Steve Austin and The Undertaker was one of the highlights of the "Attitude" Era and it reaches a thrilling peak here in an excellent main event. That is by no means the only highlight on the show though. The Rock and Triple H show their bright futures by...
Published on 18 Sept. 2010 by IWFIcon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A sizzling year but then followed by a cold-snap, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WWE - Summerslam 1998-1999 [DVD] (DVD)
SummerSlam 1998 is largely remembered for it's thrilling main event. The "Highway To Hell" storyline between Steve Austin and The Undertaker was one of the highlights of the "Attitude" Era and it reaches a thrilling peak here in an excellent main event. That is by no means the only highlight on the show though. The Rock and Triple H show their bright futures by clashing in an excellent ladder match, Ken Shamrock and Owen Hart have an interesting "UFC" style clash (or as close as you'd ever get in the WWF, anyway) in the "Lion's Den" whilst D-Lo Brown and Val Venis have a tremendously entertaining opening bout which makes you wish that young under-card talent would get such chances on a regular basis in today's WWE. In another rarity, the WWF era Jeff Jarrett has an enteraining bout opposite X-Pac which has added heat thanks to it's Hair Vs Hair stipulation.

Of course as with most shows from this era, there is some dross to sit through. The Oddities Vs Kai-En-Tai is a comedy match that's simply not funny (well not 12 years later anyway) and the New Age Outlaws/Mankind match is an artistic bust and very disappointing. Still the good very much outweighs the bad at SummerSlam 1998.

The 1999 show was a curious beast, largely hampered from the start when Stone-Cold Steve Austin showed a disinclination to put Triple H over for the belt. To be fair as well, the WWF wanted guest referee Jesse Ventura to be able to hold a popular hand high at the conclusion of the bout. That this was to be decreed as the barely mobile Mankind (who rushed back from injury for this bout) meant an anti-climatic main event. Although the pop seemed to be huge, Mankind was never in Austin's class in terms of popularity and any subsequent title reign he had (even if it only lasted for a day like this was) was destined to lack that "feel-good" atmosphere.

Sadly nothing on the undercard "saves" the show to any great extent; the best thing, believe it or not, is the "Greenwich Streetfight" pitting Test against Shane McMahon. As exciting as it undoubtedly is though, it's yet another example of Shane O'Mac attempting to prove his "toughness" and watching it with the knowledge of where Test's career DIDN'T go renders it pretty pointless to the modern viewer. Perhaps perversely, the only real entertainment is seeing just how far out of his depth Billy "Mr. Ass" Gunn was during his main-event push as The Rock destroys him. If the marker of how good a show is works around what you would want to see for a second time, SummerSlam 1999 fails on every count. There is some decent stuff on here, but nothing you would want in your collection for posterity (unless you're a massive fan of Mankind or Jesse Ventura!)

1998 just about justifies this purchase on it's own merits, but if you do buy this collection I wouldn't think you'll be wasting too much time on the second disc. Still, 1998 is a great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars tagged classic value,mixed releases, 29 Sept. 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Summerslam 1998-1999 [DVD] (DVD)
The tagged classics is a great way for me to put all that i have on video onto dvd and at an affordable price,summerslam 1998 and 1999 are very much part of their era,the attitude era but to be fair the pool of talent at this time differed in quality as WCW was stealing all of the WWFS talent so you must bear that in mind.
Summerslam 1998 was the tenth annual summerslam and took place in madison square garden,much was expected and in truth they didnt deliver as they should have.
The event opened with the european championship on the line,the champ d-lo brown went up against val venis.This match lasted 15 or more minutes and that was its downfall,it juts went on for too long,it started well,val had been with the company three months at this juncture and performed well,d-lo also worked hard but it went on and on and repition set in as did fatigue,both men were fit for nothing towards the end,it should have been wrapped up earlier,the ending was lousy.
It doesnt please me to say this but the worst wrestling match of all time could well have featured next,it was a handicap four on three tag match featuring the oddities,surely one of the worst groups of all time,earthquake as golga,who went up against the group known as kaientai,we also had luna and the insane clown posse on the outside,that balloon kurrgan dancing through the match and no flow to it at all,so bad i have had enough of writing about it.
A hair vs hair match was up next and provided the evenings first sustained piece of quality,jeff jarrett went up against x-pac,for those in the dark,the loser gets his hair cut off by the winner,generally speaking these things happen when an athlete states he wants a change of image,anyway,the match was good and fast and skillful and hard to fault.
A mixed tag match was up next and was very poor,marc mero and jacquline went up against edge,in his first ppv i think and sable.There was too much messing about and running on the outside and farcing about for this match to be considered as anything other than filler,not good.
The first ever lions den match was up next,a cage was erected for this and it is angular and escaping it isnt going to win you the match,it is submission or knock out rules.This match featured ken shamrock against owen hart.Own worked hard here in a match that was outside his usual comfort zone,ken also worked hard to ensure we got a good match,i was impressed with the skills and the relentless energy shown in a match that could have been dull given that it is all about wearing the other man down.
The tag team belts were defended next as the champions of mankind and kane,who didnt show,so this was a handicap match went up against the new age outlaws.This match was poor and i dont know why they couldnt have done something better with it,mankind got his head kicked off so i dont see why this could be called a contest,the ending was meant to shock ,it didnt really.
A ladder match for the intercontiental championship restored my belief in this event big time,the champion,the rock went up against triple H.This was a battle,a war,nothing was easy here and both men emphasised their importance to the company at that time,a real classy match,end of story.
The main event was up next,a very hyped match indeed,stonecold steve austin,the WWF champ went up against the undertaker.This was another great match,toe to toe bout,brutal yet entertaining,hard to seperate the two men in what rates as one of their best matches,a surefire winner,sadly the entire event was mixed.
Summerslam 1999 was all about jesse ventura being guest ref in the triple threat main event,i couldnt have cared less,cruel,but true.This event was better in truth than the year before.
The event opened with two titles on the line,the european title and the intercontiental title,both were held by d-lo brown and if he lost against jeff jarrett then he would lose both titles.This was a very good opening match,both men injecting all they had into the bout and creating chemistry that meant this feud was far from over.
An enjoyable tag team turmoil match was up next,six teams,two start,when one loses,another team enters the ring until there is one team remaining,always a good idea in my eyes.The teams featured included the acolytes,edge and christian,the new brood,hardcore holly and crash,albert and droz and mideon and viscera.This match was all over too soon but that meant it was rapid and enjoyable,some of the athletes were poor such as droz and mideon but the match as a whole worked.
The WWF hardcore championship was contested next between the big bossman and al snow,the bossman was the champ going into this and the match was as manic as they come,they left the arena and fought in a pub which was entertaining,the commentary was also good here and i was entertained,to be fair most of the hardcore matches back in the day were fun.
The WWF womans title was next and was poor.
A lions den match was up next as ken shamrock went up against steve blackman,this match was poor compared to the den match between owen hart and shamrock,it just was clumsy and lifeless,a real shame.
A greenwich streetfight match was next as test and shane mcmahon went one on one,test and i seldom got on but i thought he did well here,the match was pretty contained in where it went but it was still entertaining,stephanie mcmahon was at the middle of this feud and it all seemed plausible,a job well done.
The WWF tag team champions,x-pac and kane went up against the big show and the undertaker next.This match was ok but didnt flow that well,as hard as x pac tried he couldnt get going and the match didnt really run that well,one must remember that there were three big hitters in this match and that didnt help its flow much.
A kiss my axs match was up next,billy gunn went up against the rock,this match was poor,how the heck billy gunn was this high up the bill is beyond me,the rock had to slow down and let gunn have a go at him,this was a farce,a real dogs dinner.
The main event was next,a triple threat match for the WWF gold,the champ stonecold went up against mankind and triple H,jesse ventura was ref and did a decent job i guess.The match was good,didnt outstay its welcome and was a battle where all three men walked away with new scars,a good match and a good winner,a solid event,a tagged classic worth getting? sure why not ,but beware some of the matches.2.5 stars for the all round release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Summerslam 1998-1999 [DVD] (DVD)
It got here fast & in hood condition. WWF Summer Slam 1998 will always be my Fav Summer Slam purly because of HHH VS The Rock for the I.C belt in a ladder match & Austin VS The Undertaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wwe-summerslam 1998-1999 dvd, 7 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Summerslam 1998-1999 [DVD] (DVD)
i found the double edition dvd excellent value and very entertaining and alot better than the wrestling today .5 out off 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highway to Hell!, 3 Dec. 2007
This review is from: WWE - Summerslam 1998-1999 [DVD] (DVD)
Summerslam 1998 (One of my favourite PPVs ever!):

D'Lo Brown vs Val Venis - European title match which was given a lot of time with some bits very dire and some parts gripping wrestling. A bit of a lame-duck finish, but a good way to kick off a Summerslam. It could have been A LOT WORSE (note: every match but the 1st match at December to Dismember) 6/10

The Oddities vs Kai-en-tai - Growing up this was one of my favourite matches to watch because it is pure comedy gold. Still find it roflmao to this day. I'm gonna give it 9/10 because I still love it.

Jeff Jarrett vs X PAC - Eh, Howard Finkel as a member of DX......otherwise not bad at all. They were both on-par with each other. 6.5/10

Mixed Tag Match - Usually I would say "Next" but it was cool. Edge very over. 6/10

Owen Hart vs Shamrock - Ah, the lions den...zzzzzzzZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz... 4/10

Mankind & Kane vs New Age Outlaws - The one man wrecking machine Mankind kicking ass, then that big red bast$£% comes in.....grrrr...don't understand it. Could have been brilliant. 4/10

The Rock vs Hunter Hearst Helmsley - The ladder match. A very good ladder match. Showstealer? Perhaps, otherwise one of their best matches. I quite liked Backlash '00 though. 9/10

SCSA vs The Undertaker - One of my favourite matches of all time. The chemistry was off the chart, this was THE match everyone wanted to see, and despite one or two fups during the match, it ruled. Their best match against each other imo. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Summerslam 1998-1999 [DVD]
£34.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews