Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive brilliance, 13 Nov 2007
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Adrian Monk's wife was killed in a car bomb. Already a delicate person, Monk's OCD and phobias became overpowering, meaning that he was unable to continue working for the police force but could come back as a consultant. But Monk's attention to detail makes him a brilliant detective. It sounds like a very angsty programme when you look at the back story, so how is it that Monk remains one of the funniest, most original detective shows around?

Tony Shalhoub's brilliantly nuanced central performance undoubtedly has a lot to do with it. The character has a lot of twitches, but it is undoubtedly Shalhoub's delivery of the lines in that hangdog, slightly drony manner that makes Monk's Charlie Brown karma so endearing. Monk can be intensely selfish at times because of his obsessiveness, there's a great scene in this series where a refuse collectors strike leads Monk to commandeer a rubbish truck and drive around the city trying to clean it up by himself. When asked by Capt Stottlemeyer what he's going to do when the truck is filled up, he replies "Drive into the river. Then get another truck, fill it up and drive that into the river." At other times, particularly when thinking about his wife Trudie, the pathos brings a tear to your eye.

I don't really watch Monk for the murders, I see them as just being a set up to see how Monk reacts to a certain situation, and there are some good situations in this series, such as when Dr Kroger, Monk's therapist, decides to retire when he thinks a cleaning woman has been killed by one of his patients and Monk desperately tries to convince him not to.

What's great is that, even in this the fifth season, Monk still feels fresh. Like Columbo it's the sort of show that because of the great acting of the lead, and the brilliant character work, I can keep going back to it and watching it again. I thought the Mr Monk, Private Eye episode was quite slow, even for Monk's pacing, and that it failed to fully examine the setup. But one out of sixteen isn't bad.

You also get a pilot for a show called Psych, which isn't as good as Monk, but may have legs.

If you're already a fan of Monk, this fifth series won't disappoint. If you haven't seen Monk, you're in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class Reunions, Rock Concerts, and Shock Jocks, 2 July 2007
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Season five of Monk continues to bring us the cases and struggles of Adrian Monk (Tony Shalhoub) as he struggles to solve crimes despite his OCD and many phobias. This season finds Monk facing new issues in the same old way.

When the city garbage workers go on strike, it's up to Monk to solve a murder to get everything cleaned up. His assistant Natalie (Traylor Howard) convinces Monk to strike out on his own and open a private eye business. Monk's 25 year class reunion at Berkley involves a painful stroll down memory lane and the murder of a nurse. When Captain Stottlemeyer's (Ted Levine) son skips school to attend a rock concert, Monk finds a dead man in an outhouse. And in a "Wings" reunion, Steven Weber plays a shock jock that may have killed his wife. He just has the perfect alibi; he was on the air at the time.

This season featured two episodes at aired during the hiatus between parts of the season. In the first, Monk finally meets his dad, a trucker who needs Monk's help to solve a murder. The second is very interesting. "Mr. Monk and the Leper" was originally shown in black and white and color. It's a very noirish tale, and the black and white color scheme really adds to the episode. Both versions, including their original introductions are included in the set.

As always, this season provided many fun character moments and some hilarious situations. At times, the characters can become cartoonish. This felt especially true near the beginning of the season. But the actors do a great job of keeping things believable and human.

Since the set has both the black and white and color versions of the one episode, there are 17 episodes in this four disc set. Extras include an audio commentary (a first for the series) on the black and white version of "Mr. Monk and the Leper." Disc four contains some hilarious "webisodes" that premiered on line. I know I've seen at least one used as a promo on TV, however. Finally, there's the pilot of "Psych," a similar comedic mystery.

Monk isn't for everyone. But anyone who is a fan will love the latest set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't kick the habit, 20 May 2009
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Fifth series of the unique detective series featuring the obsessive compulsive Adrian Monk. The central premise still has legs and Tony Shaloub is perfectly cast as the crumpled and damaged but fiercely intelligent Adrian Monk. Nice set; now also available as part of an entire series set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but still peerless - MONK, 9 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I freely admit to having an undying love for this show. The first four seasons of MONK have been a peerless combination of gripping action, confounding mystery, subtle comedy, touching melodrama and all round superb character acting. Hence, I was desperate to see the fifth season and was lucky enough to rent it on DVD before UK broadcast. I had high hopes for Seaon five and throughout the DVD there are at least two or three golden moments per each MONK. The overall standard is exceptional and still enjoyable.

This series of Monk has all the elements of the previous series, however the comedy and melodrama are really at the forefront. There are several episodes where the situation comedy works really well and makes good viewing (Mr Monk and the Garbage Strike, Mr Monk and the Big Game, Mr Monk Can't See a Thing, and, my personal favourites, Mr Monk Gets a New Shrink & Mr Monk and the Really Really Dead Guy). But to accommodate the comedy/melodrama, some episodes have the murder mystery virtually as a secondary plot (Mr Monk and the Actor, Mr Monk meets his Dad) though these are still entertaining.

I love all the aspects of the character of Adrian Monk but his main talent is his brilliant crime solving. Personally, I do watch the show for the murder mysteries. I love the previous series where there is an element of an impossible murder (as in Mr Monk goes to Mexico) or a perfect alibi (Mr Monk and the Sleeping Suspect,) a charismatic/celebrity suspect (Mr Monk and the TV Star, Mr Monk and the Astronaut) or a simple who-done-it mystery (Mr Monk and the 12th Man). I find I can forgive any inconsistency or anomalies in the plot as long as the creators have taken extra steps to set up (and then explain) a good murder mystery.

With that I mind, I really liked Adrian Monk going up against the shock-jock radio star with a perfect alibi in Mr Monk is on the Air. This is an all round classic Monk (even if the eventual murder method is highly reminiscence of a murder featured on a Columbo episode). Also, despite being awkward in places, Mr Monk and the Class Reunion is pretty good. Despite being awkward in places, It deliberately builds up to a point where the viewer is left totally mystified as to what is going on, but all for the purpose of the story. Watching it a second time round, it is actually quite clever and funny.

There are one or two episodes that are slow and dull at times, but this has been the case in previous series. However, I particularly did not like Mr Monk and the Leper, shot in film noir style black and white. For MONK, it was unnecessarily artistic and surreal, the film noir references were lost on me and, although I liked its subtle in-jokes, It felt it was slightly pretentious; an opinion I never thought I would label at the show. There were also two glaring on-scene errors, which spoilt the viewing experience (Randy at the clinic, Monk on the air ballon - the creators make jokey reference to the errors when giving the directors commentary).

Additional features on this DVD include the directors commentary on the black & white version of Mr Monk and the Leper . It has some of the creators and crew, its not really insightful but nice to hear their critical veiws anyway. Meanwhile the Webisodes are a great additional feature. They are each 2-3 minutes long but show Adrian Monk at his quirkiest and funniest.

All in all, it's great to see new episodes of the show,and despite noticing its changes, I still feel it is a great watch. Luckily, UK Television has finally decided to broadcast this series of Monk, though long after the DVD release. Perhaps this decreases the necessity to buy or rent it, I would suggest buying the complete set seasons 1-5 and enjoy all Mr Monk and friends anytime at your own leisure; something that I am seriously considering myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monk returns to our screen, 3 Feb 2008
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
With his quirky mannerisms you can't help but get hooked on Monk.

This season sees Monk in many funny pickles, blinded he still manages to solve a crime and in the process temporarily helps control his fears, what he can't see can't bother him.

This has to be one of my favourite shows on TV, I watched the complete series back to back including the webisodes, don't miss out on them.

The only annoying thing about this series is the film noir, it had two versions of the same episode, I want more Monk, not the same one twice. Roll on season 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Monk, it's a great show and this season is not a let down! The price is superb and you get so much entertainment out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MONK season 5, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I had doubts about season 5 of MONK. Was it going to be as good as, as thought provoking, as funny, as sad as the previous seasons. After all, many other shows begin to tire after awhile. I need not have worried. Season 5 of MONK is just as brilliant as the others. My only criticism and it is a minor one is the B/W episode. I do not see the point of it when it is also shown in colour. And the pilot for another cop show.
But apart from these minor hiccups, this season gives the best insight yet into the reasons for Monk's behaviour.
The scenes with his father at the end of one of the episodes is truly heart breaking and brought a tear to my eye. The scene where Monk loses it with a 'Shock Jock' who winds him up over his beloved Trudy and the last scene of that same episode when in silence he watches old footage of his wedding are equally touching.
Tony Shalhoub has made Monk a believable character and he should have won award after award for this role.
I wondered if the show would miss Sharona but Natalie is a brilliant replacement, who is a tough cookie and doesn't let Monk rule the roost as he did with Sharona.
This season is brilliant.
Can't wait for Season 6 to arrive !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Monk., 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I just love Monk and he helps me, me being in a similar disposition. Monk seems to get more into his character more along into the Seasons that I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy if you love Monk, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Having purchased all the other seasons, this was a no-brainer to purchase. If you like the other seasons, this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Descover Monk, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Monk: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the entire DVD collection for my brother, he is a big fan and loves watching this qwarky decective.... what will I get him next????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monk: Season 5 [DVD]
Monk: Season 5 [DVD] by Tony Shaloub (DVD - 2007)
7.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews