Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvention at its Best!
This really is a great second series. Whilst watching series 1 (and thoroughly enjoying it), I was often thinking where they could take this show in its second season. Well, where did they take it?

Essentially, this series is all about the relentless pursuit of the escapees by a significant new character, Agent Mahone, played by the outstanding William...
Published on 27 Aug 2007 by D. A. Giambrone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars prison break season 2
It does what it says on the tin; some of the twists & turns are not very plausible but its great fun, full of action, & as not too much thinking is required an episode is just the right length to keep my mind occupied during my morning bike exercise before breakfast!
Published 20 months ago by Martin Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvention at its Best!, 27 Aug 2007
By 
D. A. Giambrone "Daniel Angelo" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This really is a great second series. Whilst watching series 1 (and thoroughly enjoying it), I was often thinking where they could take this show in its second season. Well, where did they take it?

Essentially, this series is all about the relentless pursuit of the escapees by a significant new character, Agent Mahone, played by the outstanding William Fichner. He is on an intellectual par with Michael and what we end up with is a real game of cat and mouse. Mahone is almost like a Terminator and his presence adds another layer of intensity to an already tense show.

Meanwhile, we see Michael attempting to locate Westmorelands $5,000,000 stash, clear both his and Lincolns names, reunite with the very pretty Sara Tancredi and flee the USA. Not only does Michael have to contend with Agent Mahone, he also has to evade, Kellermann, a now rogue Belick and the might(?) of the USA's finest law enforcement agencies.

One area in which Series 2 surpasses Series 1, is the embellishment in the secondary characters storyline's. T-Bag, Sucre and C-Note are given more screen time and, as a result, there is even more depth/emotions/humour there.

Sure the show is extremely far-fetched,but it is supreme fun and highly addictive, with lots of cliff-hangers. The finale is inspired (if a little over-the-top) and, for me, laced with genious and originality.

We are in a golden era of television, what with Sopranos, 24, Heroes, Lost, Rome, The Dead Zone etc and this is no exception!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than 24 ? Believe It !, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Jason Darragh (Sunbury on Thames) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Prison Break, the best thing on tv for the past 2 years, in my opinion of course !

Put simply for those that are new to this, its about one brothers plan to break his wrongly accused brother out of Prison by getting himself locked up enabling him to set about his intricate break out plan. Oh yeah, I forgot about the tatoo...

Season 2 continues where the first left us, the prison break out. Our group of cons are now on the run across America with Officer Brad Bellick and others in tow.

British-born Wentworth Miller as in season 1 plays Michael Scofield brilliantly, he continues to carry out his plan of helping his brother Lincoln Burrows (Dominic Purcell) escape following his ultra finely executed plan. Cool to the point of frozen, Scofield is a focused, finely detailed individual who is so driven you wonder if its all way too perfect.

On the run the brothers are aided by their motley crew of fellow cons who despite differences inside know the reward awaiting them if they are successful in escaping. One of the fellow cons and the stand out character for me in this whole programme is Theodore "T-Bag" Bagwell played amazingly by Robert Knepper, at times his portrayal of this perverted, creepy letch is mesmorising. T-Bag also happens to be one of those characters granted the best one-liners in the show and Robert Knepper delivers them with aplomb !

Unfortunately this time around the escapees don't have it all their own way as in pursuit for this season is FBI Special Agent Alexander Mahone played brilliantly by William Fichtner (ex-Invasion). Along with T-Bag this guy is unforgettable, not only is he battling the brilliant mind of Scofield but he is also battling his own demons which enables Fichtner to demonstrate some great acting. There are some great moments where the brilliance of both Scofield and Mahone's minds clash as they attempt to outwit one another.

This season delves a little deeper into the cons relationships both with one another and others. The brothers blood is tested as Scofield's heart is continually tugged by his feelings for Sara Tancredi and at times he must decide where his real path lies. Each of the cons have their own agendas on the outside, Sucre longs for his woman, ditto T-Bag and C-Note yearns for the day he can be reunited with his daughter and loving woman.

But with Mahone on their tail like a dog with a bone and the desperate Bellick in tow with the smell of reward money in sight Season 2 for me improves on season 1.

What makes Prison Break so great is firstly its strong characters, there are many memorable in particular T-Bag, Mahone and Bellick aswell as the brothers. Every episode rarely fails to deliver, at times the pace is frenatic - take note "Lost"..ha ha ! But it has a good mixture of action, comedy et al.

However, lets not kid ourselves, yes the plot at times is flimsy, yes its a little far fetched but hey its great entertainment. Just put your cares and worries to one side, look at the screen, relax and enjoy the ride its tv, enjoy.

Until a couple of years ago, "24" was the stand out prog for me but that has been surpassed for the last couple of years by Prison Break, this show is definitely underated and many people are missing out on an enjoyable romp of television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb manhunt thriller, 14 Sep 2007
By 
Greg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I really don't know how some people can say ''This show should have ended after Season 1''; breaking out of prison is far more than just getting over the wall. The suitably titled first episode of Season 2 ''Manhunt'' proves exactly this. The escapees are out and now on the run.
The introduction of the new FBI agent (Agent Mahone) assigned to tracking down the escapees is an excellent addition to the cast. Michael Schofield and Mahone in this season are almost locked in a battle betwwen the criminal mind, one that plays out very well on screen. Furthermore the conspiracy theory begins to unravel with interesting consequences.
The acting and direction is still superb with some great scenes from T-Bag.
Prison Break in its second season is still as addictive as the last, even more so that we see characters go their separate ways and the possibilities with regards to their actions are limited to the outside world, not to the confines of the prison where we always knew the outcome would be them breaking out.
From the looks of this, the third season is going to be an absolute corker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not as excellent as Season 1, 26 Aug 2007
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Prison Break Season 2 is a notch lower than its predecessor despite the addictive viewing factor and strong characterization;
Every character has a driving force - something that makes them act in abnormal situations so as to experience the normal lives they crave for.
However, there are so many twists in this second offing and some of them really defy logic - I can understand that audiences do no constantly want to be fed the same fodder but there are times when some situations border on the necessity of stupendous human strength, and buckets full of luck.
I would recommend that this highly priced DVD be rented rather than bought. Because of the strong suspense factor, Prison Break has a difficult repeat value watchability however good the show maybe. A bit like '24' in that sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prison Break Series 2, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Fox River (The World's Best City - Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The full series 2 here on the programme made for the DVD format. After Series 1, I wondered if the second series could possibly live up to the first. WELL IT DOES! The plots and sub-plots are complex, so I can understand anyone who has not viewed either the whole series and/or series 1 struggling - but the bottom line is that this is the VERY BEST series on TV, and is easily worth buying the first series too - and Series 3 starts soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Breakthrough, 27 Oct 2007
By 
B (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The boys are back and now on the run!

Prison Break is the most refreshing concept to air on television in years, it is something that was needed and the writers sure delivered! Season 1 was completely mesmerising and so addictive!
The show has it all, everything from conspiracy & Romance right down to the true message, going to the most extraordinary lengths to protect your loved ones..and in this Season, we indeed see how far people will go for their own means...
In a nutshell the acting is fantastic all round!
William Fichtner is completely mesmerising...
Robert Knepper is outstanding!
Wentworth Miller & Dominic Purcell play their roles perfectly!
This Season is a must have for fans! Check out with this DVD you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT - But why rip us Off??, 19 Aug 2007
By 
B. Gee (Staffordshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 2 is fantastic, carrying on all of the hype of the first season. Maybe a little predictable but its still a great watch. The only thing I will say is WHY RIP US OFF?? Us British have to pay 45 to get this, yet, in America its $39 or about 19.50, and its the same company. This is absolutely rediculous. I dont no what it is about Britain that seems to say - RIP US OFF - its time it ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Continuation For A Superb Show, 24 Oct 2007
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Picking up where the 1st season left off brothers Michael & Lincoln along with several other escaped convicts are desperately trying to avoid the law while clambering to prove Lincoln's innocence. Things are made a great deal more difficult with the insidious company & government agents with their own agenda also pursuing.After escaping from FBI custody brothers Michael & Lincoln aided by a rouge secret service agent attempt to acquire evidence exonerating them of their crimes before heading down to panama whilst the other remaining escapees attempt to avoid the law some more successfully than others...

Season 2 of Prison Break continues to captivate audiences with its nail-biting stories, intriguing characters & pulse pounding action. The pace at the start is frantic and as the season goes on some of the episodes move slightly slower than others but still remain thrilling never knowing whats coming next which leaves you with the 'must watch next episode' feeling, TV at its addictive best.

The show retains its high standard in this second season leading to a shocking cliff-hanger it will be interesting to see where prison break goes from here. If You haven't alreday get dug into Prison Break
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 July 2007
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Please do not listen to "Reviewer X", this show is amazing, fantastic second series, yes season 1 was better but what do you expect when they are out of prison and on the run. The only bad point about the season is how will they continue with season 3 from that ending, but the writers and directors are very skilled at there jobs and im sure they will carry on writing a fantastic show, Cant wait to get this on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Second Season, 17 Nov 2007
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the action and suspense of season 1 I began to watch the follow up with a feeling of trepidation. Yes I was excited to see what was in store for the former inmates of Fox River but on the other hand, how many prisons can anyone break out of? However, I was wrong.

This season follows the escapees as they stake their claim for freedom. During which they run from the authorities, battle personal demons, hatch plans and make and make crucial decisions. I found myself gripped and stimulated by the depth of the characters, plot twists and the suspense created by each episode.

The escapees are constantly tested, both collectively and individually which helps you gain a better understanding of their motives and psyche. Stories which began in the 1st season are developed, which help to add clarity. New characters are introduced adding sub plots and intrigue along the way

I'm a prison break fan and I think this is a clever, interesting and slick drama series. This season has all the ingredients to keep most hooked and I had no qualms giving it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD]
Prison Break - Season 2 [DVD] by Robin Tunney (DVD - 2007)
24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews