Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i was hooked
I had never heard of this series at all but I thought I would give it a whirl if only for the fact that Max Beesley was in it.
You won't be disappointed.
It's like a more darker,sexier,funnier Cold Feet,alas,its only 4 episodes though.
I was hooked within the first 5 mins and watched all 4 episodes back to back.
The support actors in this ,I must...
Published on 5 Jun 2008 by scousebird

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almodovar it ain't
So much for the British "stiff upper lip"!

There hasn't been such an assortment of selfish, self-indulgent, self-absorbed people on film since "Valley of the Dolls". Not one character gives a single thought for the consequences of his actions - generally to bed someone - or who may be hurt. If it `feels right' (read: if horny enough), that's sufficient...
Published on 3 April 2008 by M. FUSCO


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i was hooked, 5 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had never heard of this series at all but I thought I would give it a whirl if only for the fact that Max Beesley was in it.
You won't be disappointed.
It's like a more darker,sexier,funnier Cold Feet,alas,its only 4 episodes though.
I was hooked within the first 5 mins and watched all 4 episodes back to back.
The support actors in this ,I must confess,out-act Mr Beesley.
Lots of laughter & tears,especially the best mans speech plus sexy scenes and the bonus of seeing ,once again ,Max Beeslys bare bum.
Deffo one for the ladies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 8 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Must say i never saw this when it was on TV, but am really pleased i bought it. It is really gripping and i ended up watching the 4 episodes in one go! I hope they make another series as it would be nice to see what happens next and its not like there are loads of great things to watch on the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Beesley.... yum., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Another fantastic show with the scrumptious Max Beesley in it. I just love watching this man. There is something about him that is very magnetic. Even though he is actually the lout of this series (having an affair with his best mate's wife. Womanising every female that he meets), I found myself gunning for him. A fun drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talking about Talk To Me, 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliantly sharp drama, first shown on television a few years ago. Great cast, including Max Beesley (Hotel Babylon), Joseph Millson(Holby City) Kate Ashfield(Shaun of the Dead) and a young Aaaron Johnson (kick-Ass) Tangled lives and troubled relationships weave the intricate plot of this very watchable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!, 24 Oct 2008
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very sexy totalling absorbing drama. I cannot rate it enough - very real to life and brilliant storylines. Very good to see Emma Pearson back working with Max Beesley after Hotel Babylon - her character was again fantastic. 5 Stars....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 July 2007
By 
L. Fowler "Lynn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was one of the best dramas i have seen on ITV in a long time and kept me interested the whole way through. Highly recommend it, very good watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British drama, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great British drama , very interesting plot could have easily watched it in one session . Pity a second series was not made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great series, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn't sure what to exepct with this purchase as I had never seen the programme at all. I was pleasantly surprised though. Very good acting, great characters involved, and a really good and fun series. Max Beasley is fantastic in this, along with the other male actor (main part). Well worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almodovar it ain't, 3 April 2008
By 
M. FUSCO "yawnmower" (NEW YORK, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
So much for the British "stiff upper lip"!

There hasn't been such an assortment of selfish, self-indulgent, self-absorbed people on film since "Valley of the Dolls". Not one character gives a single thought for the consequences of his actions - generally to bed someone - or who may be hurt. If it `feels right' (read: if horny enough), that's sufficient.

Max Beesley as Mitch Moore, womanizing talk-radio jockey, is funny and entertaining. Although he tramples on the feelings of woman after woman who willingly fall for his line, he does it in a light-hearted, winning way.

But the show changes course radically, from witty social farce to maudlin soaper, when Mitch sleeps with his best friend Woody's fiancee. She throws herself at him two days before her wedding to Woody, with whom she already has a child. Now, how could Mitch say no to that?! But, taste considerations aside, he becomes obsessed with her, the drama stops, and the melodrama begins.

On the basis of that one-night stand, Mitch renounces his naughty nature, which made him so attractive, and decides he wants only her. His manner becomes unsympathetic, mawkish, tedious, and - worse - boring.

And don't even talk to me about his sister! Her self-destructive actions defy description or credibility. She could so easily have been happier, and less hurtful to someone quite vulnerable, with just a modicum of reflection. Suffice it to say, for a teacher she has no clue how to talk to a teenager.

The only character that comes across with any dignity at all is Woody. As he is the producer of the show, Mitch jeopardizes his career as well as his only friendship to have a self-centered woman. Neither Mitch nor his wife deserve Woody who, as played by Joseph Millson, is handsome, desirable - and nice! On the downside, he does cry a lot. But, to be fair, the characters around him could drive anyone to distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally brilliant, 20 Oct 2010
By 
B. Brocklehurst (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Surely the best thing you'll see all year. Superb performances, brilliant direction. And what an ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD]
Talk To Me - Complete First Series [DVD] by Dearbhla Walsh (DVD - 2007)
10.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews