Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At The End of Time is beautiful and sad abstraction
Although Robert Fripp's soundscapes series has always been interesting, very few of the CDs have been particularly listenable or coherent all the way through. The honourable exception to this was "Blessing of Tears" which used a predominantly sad mood (Mr Fripp had recently lost his mother)and subtle variations on a relatively limited theme to create a remarkably moving...
Published on 3 Aug 2007 by J

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
I bought this after being bowled over by Love Cannot Bear (which I would highly recommend). Unfortunately this fails to live up to the high standard set by that record. The nod to Messiaen in the album title seems completely groundless - what we have here is a rather weak circulation of ambient sounds, occasionally crossing the line from meditative to repetitive. Each...
Published 17 months ago by I. P. Hale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At The End of Time is beautiful and sad abstraction, 3 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
Although Robert Fripp's soundscapes series has always been interesting, very few of the CDs have been particularly listenable or coherent all the way through. The honourable exception to this was "Blessing of Tears" which used a predominantly sad mood (Mr Fripp had recently lost his mother)and subtle variations on a relatively limited theme to create a remarkably moving piece.

At the End of Time (Churchscapes)is definitely a step forward for Fripp. Although played live in several different churches, it is brilliantly edited into a cohesive whole. Whereas at times, his soundscape CDs have varied between being rather muzaky (unlike the tape-looped Frippertronics there are times when you can hardly tell that a guitar is generating the sounds) followed by almost violent outbursts of noise, this CD flows like a series of suites and definitely benefits from subtle soloing over the back-washes of sound. It is a bit like his collaboration with Brian Eno on Equatorial Stars but rather more lively and more involving with Fripp (and a bank of computers) somehow creating the whole soundpicture. It would be pointless to single out particular pieces except to say that the chiming effects and coda pieces magnificantly frame the ethereal movements between them. Fortunately you don't need to be religious for this to work on an emotional level.

Let's have more pieces like this released as carefully composed (i.e. improvised and edited) CD releases. Also,it would be great if Fripp didn't leave it another 30 years before fully collaborating with Eno again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Ambbient, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
This wonderful piece by Robert Fripp is a real must for those times when it's all been a bit too much. On a miserable winters night or indeed any other time when you just want to loose yourself for an hour, this is the one. Best enjoyed through a higher end system, this rises and falls as it wraps itself around your living space, creating a new more enriching atmosphere and leaving the memory of a hard day behind in its wake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Churchscapes to Escape!!, 5 July 2007
By 
M. R. Witney "Mark" (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
This work..... quite simply "staggering"!!!! One could also use the word sublime as well. In fact any words of this genre would be good - none of them would be adequate though. Quite possibly the best "Soundscape" yet. Beautiful and profound. No, there are no pyrotechnics - no power playing here. No, this is refrained brilliance from a master of his craft. Recommend it? Well, of course I will and, no doubt, so will others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 14 April 2013
By 
I. P. Hale (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
I bought this after being bowled over by Love Cannot Bear (which I would highly recommend). Unfortunately this fails to live up to the high standard set by that record. The nod to Messiaen in the album title seems completely groundless - what we have here is a rather weak circulation of ambient sounds, occasionally crossing the line from meditative to repetitive. Each track segues into the next and none of the tracks really develop anything interesting. It's pleasant enough, but it's like water compared to the wine of Love Cannot Bear, and I can't say I've really listened to or enjoyed it. If you're a fan of ambient-chill-out this will probably be tolerable, but old fashioned frippertronics devotees will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Mr Fripp - a great Christmas Present, 26 Dec 2007
By 
Barry Todd "bazthetaz" (Newcastle upon Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
I first heard one of the title tracks on Late Junction about 2 months ago (surely the best music programme on radio!)and immediately put it on my Christmas wishlist. Christmas Day - I was not disappointed!! It works as pure ambient whilst at the same time merits closing off the rest of the world and just sitting and listening. The music raises a couple of questions for me. Firstly, is this entirely the product of synthesised and looped guitar with no added keyboards?? If so - how does Mr Fripp's Solar Voyager work? Secondly - how do I get to hear of RF's live performances BEFORE they happen. Oh to see him live!! (Surely one of my 50 things to do before...the end of time.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply brilliant, 22 Aug 2007
By 
S. Harris (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
Don't try and categorise this music. Buy it, find a quiet space, turn down the lights, concentrate and listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Don't Get The Fuss, 27 Sep 2007
By 
O. Neale (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the End of Time (Audio CD)
Having read reviews hailing it as a magnificent work, I expected to be blown away by this album. However, I was disappointed upon listening to it and discovering it is ambient background music, something that was avant-garde thirty years ago but is almost cliched now. As it stands, it's a half-decent ambient album, but I'm not sure where all the hyperbole has come from. It's not that good, but it'll suffice if you want some relaxation. Apparently, Robert Fripp has a 'Wow button' that he presses that makes the guitar go onto another level. There's no wow here, and no other level: it is all inoffensive, neutral, and minimalist. Maybe I should try taking drugs next time I listen to it or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the End of Time
At the End of Time by Robert Fripp (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews