Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised at an amazing album!
I was so taken aback when I first put on this CD. I bought it wanting to expand my horizon on 60's psychedelic music. The diversity of the tracks on this CD is amazing, there are so many different styles of psychedelia. From the completely obscure 'The Beauty of Time Is That It's Snowing' to the incredibly catchy 'Your Mother's Homesick Too', this compilation will draw...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Mr. William C. A. Dorey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Filler
There are some poor psych compilation out there ...this is not one of them, but with too much filler I don't see how it can get a constsnt 5 stars. Worth getting - especially at this price!
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by R. Slee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised at an amazing album!, 11 Jan 2010
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
I was so taken aback when I first put on this CD. I bought it wanting to expand my horizon on 60's psychedelic music. The diversity of the tracks on this CD is amazing, there are so many different styles of psychedelia. From the completely obscure 'The Beauty of Time Is That It's Snowing' to the incredibly catchy 'Your Mother's Homesick Too', this compilation will draw you in and not let you go.
There are some reputable names such as Steve Miller Band, Quicksilver Messenger Service and The Beach Boys, but most are names you will not likely of heard. This compilation is of the highest quality, and I recommend it to the first time psychedelic listener as well as the experienced listener. it holds many treats in store! EMI also has a UK counterpart for this album entitled 'Insane Times', which is also fantastic! Peace---
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tune in, turn on, drop out!, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
I feel compelled to respond to the first review of this excellent compilation if only to advise potential buyers that my copy of the C.D. plays absolutely fine on the first track by The Balloon Farm. (Interesting to note the Band derived their name from a throw away Bob Dylan quote.)

The excellent liner notes by John Reed draw comparison between The English Pyschedelic Scene and the U.S. equivalent. The biggest difference being that whereas in the U.K. The Scene centered largely around the Capital, and a few major record labels, by contrast the U.S. was much more diverse with Garage Bands flourishing in many different States under lots of differing regional labels.

This compilation provides ample evidence of the depth of that diversity. There are many rich pickings indeed, not the least being the following gems: The Human Beinz "April 15th" a 7 min guitar workout. Mad River's great "Wind Chimes", and The Common People's "Soon they`ll be Thunder" taken from the superb recently reissued Album "Of the People, For the People, By the People". Then we have other delights such as Gandalf, Food and Fargo all making this a very worthwhile addition to any Psyche Collection. Go ahead, Tune in, turn on and drop out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Stunningly Good And Diverse Collection', 4 Sep 2008
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
'Ah Feel Like Ahcid' is quite simply one of the best compilation albums I have ever heard, its as simple as that. There is something for every kind of psychadelic taste on this album and the running order means that there is a change of style, sound and direction around every corner, all of which add to the listening experience.

To add to the fun, the album comes with a very interesting (and surprisingly detailed considering the space) booklet. Compiler John Reed's notes making for a great read as much as his intelligent selections have made for a great listen.

This album has rarities, classic bands and little known recordings in equal measure and there are many gems to discover. Personal favourites are the soft centered but dreamy psych of Food's 'Forever Is A Dream', The Human Beinz's instrumental 'April 15th' and the more guitar acid-rock of SRC's 'Up All Night' but, so good is this compilation, that many others are likely to join the list with time. Like EMI's other recent compilation 'Insane Times', this album is a winner from start to (bizarre Beefheart! HA HA!) finish.

YOU NEED THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent springboard into psychedelic/garage music, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful compilation on a par with Nuggets and Left of the Dial.There is one error on the track-listing: the sixth track is "Sing Out" by Morning Dew from the album "No More" and not Crusader's Smile from the album "At Last". I know this having bought both Morning Dew albums since hearing their contribution to this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Alternate Nuggets, 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
The Beatles were the unwitting founders of Psychedelic music and were soon joined by the Byrds,opening the floodgates for every other American group to inspire the legions of copyists and the idea of "anything goes".
By the end of the 60s there were thousands of groups at it and only a few emerged into the mainstream.Those who didn't went unnoticed for a few decades until the CD Age.
Thus a collection like this is aimed squarely at collectors.
And yet virtually anything given the right exposure had a chance at this time.
The Third Bardo for instance could have been there instead of the Count Five as both plundered the Yardbirds songbook.
The British had actually reminded America of its musical heritage but then so had Bob Dylan earlier.In his case he had to take notice of the British and go electric-whether it was the Animals or the Beatles is a moot point
I stole the Goodyear Blimp-this could have been big if only because it was so unusual.It actually starts off with the famous line "woke up this morning" same as the We Five hit You were on my mind plus 1000 blues songs
With this CD you suddenly have 2 dozen unknown tracks laid on you and you need to hear them many times in order to digest them.
If Psychedelia is your thing then this is manna from Heaven.
As is usual nowadays you get a detailed booklet with rare pix and if you like exploring Unknown Regions then this is as good as anywhere to start.
The title incidentally comes from a Captain Beefheart song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some Filler, 27 Aug 2012
By 
R. Slee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
There are some poor psych compilation out there ...this is not one of them, but with too much filler I don't see how it can get a constsnt 5 stars. Worth getting - especially at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rarely Heard Beach Boys Track, 22 Mar 2012
By 
T. Hardman (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ah Feel Like Ahcid: 24 American Psychedelic Artefacts From The EMI Vaults (Audio CD)
Although credited to The Beach Boys, "Never Learn Not to Love" is an obscure B side originally entitled "Cease to Exist" and was actually written by none other than Charlie Manson....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews