Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie . . . Whatever your age!!!!!
Well, what is there to say that hasnt been said already. This was constantly on my video when i was a nipper, and now its on dvd, its great. I love the idea of the hidden treasure, the bad guy brothers (who play off each other brilliantly), and the gadgets and secret passage ways and. . . . Just watch it, because you will love it, however old you are!!!!
Published on 24 Nov 2004 by glenncowie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles issues....quality of the translation
The Portuguese subtitles/quality of the translation work is very poor. Other than this, nothing to report. The kids enjoyed it, so did I when I was their age....
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Walking President


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie . . . Whatever your age!!!!!, 24 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Well, what is there to say that hasnt been said already. This was constantly on my video when i was a nipper, and now its on dvd, its great. I love the idea of the hidden treasure, the bad guy brothers (who play off each other brilliantly), and the gadgets and secret passage ways and. . . . Just watch it, because you will love it, however old you are!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW I forgot how fun it was being a kid!, 27 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
When i saw this film on the shelf in this shop i wipped it straight into my basket. How could i resist? I couldn't! This is the most fun loving film with a meaning behind it and you don't have to be a kid to enjoy it. To describe it in 3 words, they would have to be: Exceptional, Dedicated & Chunk! This packed full of action film is one for everybody. Go on, make it appear on your shelf, you'll thank me for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite movie forever!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goonies (Amazon Instant Video)
I watched it since I was a child and I'm still watching this movie I simply love this movie I never get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Goonie, 3 Dec 2008
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As with all UMD's it loses the extras the DVD gives you but gives you the extra the DVD didn't give the abitilty to take the moive with you and it is super light plus the PSP is alos a game system.

The movie is crisp and perfect it may be many years old now but some of the 80's movie are great unlike the new ones filled CGI.

You probably know the plot and story but I will tell you anyway.

The Goonies are a group of kids about to lose thier home to development and be split up. They go on an adventure to find some pirate treasure and are followed by a trio of bungling crooks they outwit all of the booby traps set in thier way this is a great film to wath on a long trip and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEY YOUUUUUUUUU GUYS!!!!!!!! LOL, 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Summary:

The Goonies stumble upon a treasure map hidden in an attic and set off on the adventure of a lifetime in order to save their community from demolition.

This might be the greatest pre-teen adventure movie ever made. In my opinion it is, I own it on DVD and yet every time it's on TV I still watch the entire movie. The storytelling and filmmaking are that good. Hell, I want to be a Gonnie and run from the Fratelli's and find One-Eyed Willie's secret treasure. it bring's out the kid in all of us i feel.

The individual characters in the movie are great and extremely memorable. There is Mikey boy (leader), Chunk (truffle shuffle fat kid), Data (slick shoes) he is an inventor & the ever so gorgeous Sloth lol and the rebellious Corey Feldman as Mouth. The movie is funny, suspenseful, exciting, romantic and rewarding. And just because the movie is about kids, doesn't mean that adults can't enjoy it. All ages will enjoy this great adventure. Goonies never say die.

Note: If you rent the DVD be sure to watch the film twice, once with cast commentary. It's hilarious seeing all the cast grown up and talking about the making of the film.

This is a must own, 80s classic, cheesy as hell but great never the less, one film that will always be remembered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute classic, 25 Feb 2004
By A Customer
this film is a total classic great cast with corey feldman leading the way.datas gadgets saving the goonies on more than one occasion.what can I say .side splitting from start to finish a must see for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must see for every Goonies and non Goonies fan, 23 Jan 2002
By 
frontmullet@aol.com (Leighton Buzzard, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This superb adventure leads a group of friends (The Goonies) through many dangerous situations in search of 'one eyed willies' treasure. They work their way through booby traps, puzzles and the persuing threat of the dangerous Fratelli family in search of the treasure that will save their homes from redevelopement.
This DVD contains many extras including the infamous octopus scene which was cut from the cinema and vhs version of the film in the uk.
This film was the launch stone for some very talented young actors/actresses, including Sean Astin who played Samwise Gamgee in the massive Lord of the rings Trilogy, and Joe Pantoliano who went on too star in numerous films including The Matrix and the tv series The Sopranos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Blu-ray viewed on a PS3 and a 40" 100z 1080p TV., 6 Oct 2008
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I guess everyone's first question is How does it look? Well, it looks good. Really good. Perfect? No. I'll list the poorer aspects of the transfer first.

To me, a lot of shots with close-ups of actors don't look as vivid as those without. This might simply be because flesh tones have less variance when filling a large portion of the screen, and therefore maybe it's an unfair comparison. But it's definitely not as clear as I've seen on other movies (Blade Runner is an obvious example, and that has the highest definition HD master so far, scanned in at 4K resolution). One scene that looked particularly grainy was where Mouth is telling Rosalita she'll be locked in the cupboard. I think this can only be down to the original negative, because there are other scenes with lower light levels that have absolutely no grain at all. One thing that the HD mastering hasn't done much of is make the visual effects looks worse, as is the case with a lot of FX-heavy movies. One thing I did notice more was when the kids land in the pirate ship cavern and we get the big reveal, the flow of water on the right looks really bad - it's way too fast and looks composited.

On the positive side, it really does look good in wide shots, and there are many in this film. The shots of Astoria look great, I definitely noticed the backgrounds look sharper in some of these shots, like shot of Chunk doing his truffle shuffle - when you get the reverse shot of Chunk standing on the box, look at the houses on the hillside in the background. The attic scene looks surprisingly good, considering it's shot in low lighting. The plasma ball and lightning tube look really vivid here, I liked that. I was happy with how good the whole scene looked because it's got some great rain-diffused lighting and cinematography.

Another shot that jumped out at me is when Mr Perkins and his associate walk away, the tankers at sea behind them are really clear now despite not being in the field of focus. Later, when the kids get off their bikes at the top of the hill and look out to the beach, it's incredibly crisp, and shortly after that when they drag their bikes to the top of the hill, you can see every wave hitting the rocks in the distance. Quite stunning.

I must say, one scene I was really looking forward to seeing was the wishing well/coins scene. I always thought it was beautifully shot, whatever I was viewing it on. Well, it looks crystal clear, as it should with such vivid lighting.

The miserable Astoria weather is more vivid than ever, both visually and the crystal clear audio. And in some shots, the map is clear enough to read yourself.

Oh, and Chunk's Hawaian shirt looks better than ever! Or worse, depending on your taste.

The audio is crisp, although one problem with this movie has always been the noise of too many characters speaking at once. That can't really be fixed, but given those in-built limitations, it sounds great. Dave Grusin's score is always lovely to hear as well.

As for the rest of the Blu-ray, the special features are straight from the DVD. The famous commentary is one of the best ever made for a DVD, so if you didn't get the DVD, you will love it. But at the end of the day, the film is what matters most, and let's face it, this one is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Film, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased a Christmas present for my 23 year old son who absolutely loves this film. As he now only uses blu-ray films I thought I would get the limited edition for him.

For all of you who have never watched this film, what are you waiting for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ah, kids adventure films, how fondly we remember., 29 Sep 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Goonies [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
In an effort to ward off property developers and save the Walsh's from having to move away. Mikey Walsh, Brand Walsh and their intrepid friends, set off to look for pirate treasure they believe exists after the discovery of a dust covered map.

Fun fun fun! Treasure, pirates, booby traps, crooks, weird cellar dwelling humans, water slides, wishing wells and budding teenager romances The Goonies has it all. Directed by Richard Donner and written by Steven Spielberg and Christopher Columbus, The Goonies is one of those rare animals that thrills the children and bewitches the adults in equal measure. Romping along at a fair old click, the film never stops to pause for breath, thus dragging the viewers along for the ride. There is no expense spared with the production (the sets are delightful) and the cast are mostly engaging, some minor annoyances aside {the girls are adventure caricatures for instance}. To leave a film that once loved in childhood, will hopefully stay far beyond into your adult years. A junior Raiders Of The Lost Ark perhaps? Maybe not, but still one wholly satisfying action adventure picture, one that's standing the test of time for many of us with our fondly nostalgic glasses perched delicately on the end of the nose. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goonies [Blu-ray] [1985] [US Import]
Goonies [Blu-ray] [1985] [US Import] by Richard Donner (Blu-ray - 2010)
50.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews