Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comic Mastpiece
John Ritter (lead in Three's Company, the US version of Man About The House) stars as Paul Hennessey, husband of Cate (Married With Children's Katey Sagal) and father of three kids: Self-obsorbed 16 year old blonde bombshel Bridget, sarcastic, moody "middle child" Kerry and younger brother Rory, who has a rather creepy habit of hiding in his sisters' closets and an...
Published on 30 Aug 2007 by Alan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty
Did not work. Very disappointing.
Published 1 month ago by Grace Treston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comic Mastpiece, 30 Aug 2007
By 
Alan "AL" (North Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 8 Simple Rules: Complete First Season [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
John Ritter (lead in Three's Company, the US version of Man About The House) stars as Paul Hennessey, husband of Cate (Married With Children's Katey Sagal) and father of three kids: Self-obsorbed 16 year old blonde bombshel Bridget, sarcastic, moody "middle child" Kerry and younger brother Rory, who has a rather creepy habit of hiding in his sisters' closets and an ambition to own a monkey.

Paul writes a "slice of life" column in a sports paper, and when wife Cate returns to work as a nurse after being a stay-at-home-mum, it's fallen to Paul to be a stay-at-home-dad.

Trouble is, Paul is overprotective and worries that his daughters are dating boys with their own agendas. He constantly warns any potential suiters to watch their step. Or as he puts it, "You have hormones and I have a temper. If your hormones get in the ring with my temper, my temper will win." Or, "If you make my daughters cry, I'll make you cry." The girls hate it when he scares their boyfriends while they're getting ready upstairs. They call him "Psycho-Dad". But when Paul tries to be cool and "hip", the girls remind him that no one's said hip in years - and anyway, it's a bodypart!

And when Paul takes the kids to school, he isn't even allowed to say "bye" or speak to them at all. In fact, it's preferable that he parks around the corner. After all, he is a hundred, right?

Bridget is obsessed with her looks. She's the most popular girl in school - and knows it. She's never a read book in her life, whereas Kerry is the smart one who gets all the "A"s. Rory constantly sniches on his sisters - and loves doing so, getting a sort of twisted pleasure out of it!

Paul struggles between protectness and embarresment, quite often finding himself in a no win situation. "What is it when you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't? Oh yes: Fatherhood."

Fortunatly for the kids, mum Cate is more laid back. It's Paul who reads the book on parenting!

This show is my all-time favourite American sitcom. It is a laugh a minute - even three laughs a minute! Why not check it out and enjoy every witty oneliner, side-splitting situation, fantastical farce, riotous reaction and many hilarious hours in this amazing sitcom tour-de-force which everyone can relate to!

This DVD includes all 28 uproarous episodes. They are :

1. Pilot (Pilot)
2. Wall Of Shame
3. Bridget's First Job
4. Wings
5. Son-In-law
6. Cheerleader
7. Trick Or Treehouse
8. By The Book
9. Two Boys For Every Girl
10. Give It Up
11. Paul Meets His Match
12. All I Want for Christmas
13. Rory's Got a girlfriend
14. Carrer Choices
15. Kerry's Big Adventure
16. Come and Knock on Our Door (This includes a spoof of Three's Company)
17. Drummer Boy Part(1)
18. Drummer Boy Part(2)
19. Cool Parent
20. Every Picture Tells a Story
21. Kerry's Video
22. Good Moms Gone Wild
23. Career Women
24. Queen Bees and King Bees
25. Bake Sale
26. The Doyle Wedding (This guests John Ratzenberger - Cliff in Cheers)
27. Sort of an Officer and a Gentleman part(1)
28. Sort of an Officer and a Gentleman part(2)
Special Features include bloopers.

And in case you're wondering, the 8 Simple Rules for Dating my Teenage Daughter are:

1. Use your hands on my daughter and you'll lose them after.
2. You make her cry, I make you cry.
3. Safe sex is a myth. Anything you try will be hazardous to your health.
4. Bring her home late, there's no next date.
5. Only delivery men honk. Dates ring the doorbell. Once.
6. No complaining while you're waiting for her. If you're bored, change my
oil.
7. If your pants hang off your hips, I'll gladly secure them with my
staple gun.
8. Dates must be in crowded public places. You want romance? Read a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're the Psycho-Dad!, 21 Sep 2008
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
`8 Simple Rules' is one of those shows that can be watched over and over again. I don't know how many times I've seen these first season episodes on television, but I never get tired of seeing Paul Hennessy (John Ritter) being run ragged by his teenage daughters, the superficial yet supremely confident Bridget (Kaley Cuoco), and the more serious-minded but fragile Kerry (Amy Davidson). The youngest member of the Hennessy clan, and the only other male in the house is Rory (Martin Spanjers). His main ambition is to own a monkey, or, failing that, something poisonous. Paul's wife, Cate (Katey Sagal) tries to make sense of the pandemonium that seems to engulf their lives. "I swear to God, Paul," is her exasperated constant refrain as her husband tries to keep their daughters' affection while at the same time doing his best to limit any funny business that he thinks their boyfriends may have in mind.

So what makes this sitcom better than any number of other family-based shows? I think it's the performances that all the actors bring to their characters and the razor-sharp scripts. There are 28 episodes in this first season and there's not a dud among them. Although John Ritter has the lead role, the rest of the cast gets a good share of the laughs and most of the stories revolve around Bridget and Kerry's lives. The strength of the guest stars helps too, notably Larry Miller as Paul's unscrupulous colleague, Tommy who is also the father of Bridget's none too bright boyfriend, Kyle (Billy Aaron Brown), and Patrick Warburton as Paul's boss, Nick Sharpe whose own life bears an uncanny resemblance to Paul's.

There are far too many highlights to list here in their entirety, but some of my favourite moments are: the `Three's Company' spoof in episode 16 (`Three's Company' was an Americanised version of the 1970s sitcom `Man About the House' in which John Ritter played the Richard O'Sullivan role); the moment when Bridget and her nemesis, Jenna Sharpe (Nikki Danielle Moore) square up to each other gunfighter-style, "Whatever," says Jenna viciously to which Bridget responds with a sharp intake of breath as though this was the worst insult possible; the studio audience's reaction when they see Cate just about to enter the girls' bedroom as Rory is rescuing his stash of girlie magazines that his sisters have confiscated; the hysterically awful cheerleader auditions that Kerry turns to her advantage; and Rory's reaction to seeing the new-look Aunt Maggie (Cybill Shepherd) in the season's final episode.

It would have been nice to have some cast interviews or commentaries included in this set, but the only bonus material in the package is a blooper reel. These are probably more amusing for the actors involved and the studio audience. There are only so many times you can watch actors fluffing their lines before it becomes boring. But the 28 episodes contained in this collection are wonderfully funny and it's a pleasure to own them on DVD. Don't be surprised if you unintentionally while away a whole evening watching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family sitcom everyone can enjoy, 31 July 2009
By 
Riccardo (Rushden, England) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent American family sitcom and the series remains fresh no matter how many times I watch it. It is brilliantly scripted and produced, and the interaction within the family is delivered with great comic timing by all concerned. House dad Paul (John Ritter) is overprotective of his teenage daughters, particularly the pretty but self obsessed Bridget (Kaley Cuoco), and also the more grounded, but often surprising, Kerry (Amy Davidson). This all leads to some hilarious situations with Paul trying to restrict and control where they go and who they date, hence the 8 Simple Rules for dating my daughter. While this is going on, mischievous son Rory (Martin Spanjers), who can do little wrong in Paul's eyes, is often stirring things up, to his, and our, amusement. Working mum Cate is the arbiter and voice of reason, beautifully portrayed by Katey Sagal.

I hope the later series, including those featuring James Garner and David Spade, also get released in Region 2 format. They are equally as funny, and those immediately after John Ritter's sad death in 2003 are genuinely moving as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release this on region 2!, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. C. A. Williams (Pembroke Dock, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8 Simple Rules: Complete First Season [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love this series, but would love to buy it on region 2.
I hope this happens sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect way to remember the late great John Ritter, 4 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. E. J. Gothard "Canass" (Portsmouth England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Simple Rules: Complete First Season [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love this show, I found it by accident on abc1 while channel surfing. I'm so glad I bought the first season as They seem to have cancled abc1 altogether.
The basic Idea is John Ritter is a father of 2 teenage girls who are growing up far to fast for him, and his youngest a boy who does not seem to be growing up fast enough.
His kids, who adored him when they were pre-teen now think he is really uncool. They do what ever they can to get their way from emotional blackmail to playing mother off against father and vice versa.
Their father is very overpretective and strict with his girls in his desperate attempt to hold on to them as the children he remembers them as, but lets them get away with murder when he is trying to be a cool father in their eyes.
The eldest daughter Bridgett is blonde and stunning but not the sharpest tool in the box. The youngest girl is Carrie she is a red head very switched on smart but living in her sisters shadow. The youngest child is Rory he is just annoying.
The show is really funny and well written the acting is spot on. John Ritter was great however half way through the second season he collasped and was rushed to hospital were he later died. The shows that followed Ritters death were a tribute to him and really show the skill of the other actors in the show.
I would really recommend this show its fantastic and I really hope they bring the second and third season out as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!!!!!, 26 Sep 2008
this series is amazing and so addictive, I got the DVD about a week ago and have been watching nothing else since. Its a great feel good comedy and I highly reccomend it to anyone who just want to sit back and have a good laugh. LOVE IT 5 STARS !!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8 Simple Rules: Complete First Season [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Amazing always loved 8 Simple Rules Funny Awsome!!! it you have a sense of humar you should buy this a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for my lil girl, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was bought for me little girl, who pestered me to buy it, but pleased i did as she watched over & over, next year might get series 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good for money, works perfectly, enjoyed watching it. If you already love 8 simple rules like me, buy it! If you've never seen it before, buy it anyway because it's an amazing show and as far as I know isn't aired anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great US comedy series, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Jenkins (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over protective Dad, easy going Mum, 2 teenage daughters into boys and a tale telling young son. Very funny series. Well written and very well acted by the cast.

Had me in stitches, the situations are hilarious and the 2 teen girls getting their own back on the parents and their snitch of a brother makes for a very enjoyable watching experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews