Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2007
James Gilchrist gives a stunning performance on his latest disc of songs by Vaughan Williams, Gurney, Warlock and Bliss. He has for sometime, been a tenor who I have followed, and this disc meets every one of my expectations.

Flawless interpretation and intonation - Check. Well chosen accompanists (the Fitzwilliam Quartet is particuarly fine) - Check. Perfect diction and emotional delivery - Check.

Praise must also go to the Linn engineers who have achieved a pefect sound balance and wonderful sonic ambience. In short, this disc is perfect in every way - I cannot praise it enough. If you a fan of English song - buy this, you will not be disappointed!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
Gichrist is on top form, but hats off also to the other musicians on this recording - listen to Tilbrook's playing on Bredon Hill, or the the wind effects wrought by the Fitzwilliam players in Wenlock Edge. These are just examples - the whole ensemble works perfectly to evoke the mood of each piece - dynamics and phrasing faultless throughout. This is a great selection of English early 20th C song that I would recommend to anyone with any interest in the genre - the lyricism of the Bliss contrasting the stark edginess of The Curlew, as well as the better-known pieces by Vaughan Williams and Gurney.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2008
If you like "Wenlock Edge" you will love this interpretation. Perfect diction, crystal clear sound from Linn, you can almost feel the wind on your face. The best version of this achingly lovely song cycle.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I agree with virtually all the published reviews of this disc. Gilchrist delivers thoughtful, deeply-felt interpretations of each work, supported beautifully by Tilbrook, the Fitzwilliams, etc.

I especially like the chamber version of 'Wenlock', which allows Gilchrist's searching, beautifully-sung interpretation to shine through.

This disc remains in the memory long after the end of each piece...and for maximum effect, listen to each one separately.

Is James Gilchrist the most exciting singer of songs since Mark Padmore...or the heady days of the young Philip Langridge?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
Couldnt believe it when i found this on Amazon, hadnt expected to as its not an everyday album on the radio. Great purchase and made an excellent unique present for a fan
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2010
Wonderful interpretation by a great tenor of beautiful songs by Vaughan WilliamsOn Wenlock Edge - Songs by Vaughan Williams, Warlock, Bliss & Gurney
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
I find On Wenlock Edge so emotional that I can't listen to it too often. Loved all the other songs as well, and it was good to get to know the Warlock. Every word is clear, what a wonderful voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
Just a fabulous collection of some of the finest song writing from the early twentieth century performed with admirable poise by singer and instrumentalists alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)