Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 1/2 discs of great entertainment
The animated Iron Man ran for 2 seasons between 1994 and 1996.
The first disc and a half contain the first season which pits Iron Man and his Forceworks allies Hawkeye, Scarlet Witch (in an outfit you would never get away with using live action), Spider-Woman, Century (who was new to me) and War Machine against The Mandarin and Modok.
Modok here is no longer the...
Published on 27 July 2008 by I. R. Kerr

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man
As with all the Gantray-Lawrence produced Marvel Serieses in these releases, the 3 part episodes are cut down, with the recap footage and 2nd and 3rd titles in each episode removed.
Very disappointing. There was no need to upset the fans with this omission.
Also, there were five serieses produced: Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Sub-Mariner and Hulk.
The...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by Pj Thorp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 1/2 discs of great entertainment, 27 July 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The animated Iron Man ran for 2 seasons between 1994 and 1996.
The first disc and a half contain the first season which pits Iron Man and his Forceworks allies Hawkeye, Scarlet Witch (in an outfit you would never get away with using live action), Spider-Woman, Century (who was new to me) and War Machine against The Mandarin and Modok.
Modok here is no longer the evil man-machine that led A.I.M., he is reduced to being the Mandarin's lackey and as comic relief, except for one notable episode with his "new" origin. In almost every episode they are joined by their villainous allies Hypnotia, Whirlwind, Dreadknight, Blizzard, Grey Gargoyle and Blacklash. Occasional support comes from Titanium Man, Ultimo, the dragon Fin Fang Foom and Tony Stark's industrial nemesis Justin Hammer.
The bizarre, and mercifully brief, CGI costume change added nothing, nor did the Hall of Armour and Stark's oversize briefcase. That aside, the first season was OK but never really rose much above that.
Season 2 kicked off with the catchy "I Am Iron Man" theme tune and saw the Forceworks team split up as well the Mandarin seemingly killed after the battle with Fin Fang Foom. After this clearing of the decks the way was clear for some new characters and Iron Man's team becomes Spider-Woman, War Machine (often just as James Rhodes) with guest slots from Nick Fury and S.H.I.E.L.D., the Hulk and Stingray.
New foes Firebrand, A.I.M., Sunturion, Crimson Dynamo, Madame Masque, Titanium Man, Dark Aegis, the Leader and some brief guest slots from a whole series of armoured villains in "Armor Wars" including old Marvel favourites Stilt-Man, Beetle, and The Controller.
The last 2 episodes see Iron Man re-joined by his Forceworks allies as The Mandarin also re-unites with his old allies from the first series to battle it out one last time.
The animation is great throughout but season 2 is the real stand out. As an old Marvelite who missed out on the 1980'S & 1990's (but am slowly catching up) this was a treat to watch as it mixed old stories I recognised with new variants. There's even a new origin for Iron Man himself and it's nice to see Hawkeye's chip still standing firmly on his shoulders after all this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bland first season, VERY stylish second, 24 Feb 2008
I bought this series only remembering the first season, so I had no idea what the second would be like, and there are major differences between the two; the first being the quality of animation which is drastically different in the second and a huge improvement. Also the cast is stripped when Forceworks disbands to concentrate on the only characters that were really developed in the first season (with the possible exception of Hawkeye). The theme tune and appearance of Tony Stark is changed to give a more rugged and rocky look, and instantly when we meet him we get the impression of a man that NEEDS his armour to survive, not just for taking on the bad guys which is one of the integral parts of the comic book's character. I have to agree with the review that says the second season is the reason for buying this set, and is where 3 of the four stars belong. The DVD quality is fine for both seasons, although I did notice a slight difference in sound synchronisation for one of the first seasons episodes.
After all my praising for the second season, the first season will be fun for the younger viewers and worth a watch (It is the reason I bought the set afterall).
And again I was disappointed with the lack of extras for the set: nothing at all - not even the 'fun granddad' Stan Lee intro that I remember from the videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Pj Thorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man - The Complete Series (1960's) [DVD] (DVD)
As with all the Gantray-Lawrence produced Marvel Serieses in these releases, the 3 part episodes are cut down, with the recap footage and 2nd and 3rd titles in each episode removed.
Very disappointing. There was no need to upset the fans with this omission.
Also, there were five serieses produced: Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Sub-Mariner and Hulk.
The Hulk series has been curiously omitted from these releases.
Don't spend the money, until the company does the editing job properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uber Man, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Iron Man - The Complete Series (1960's) [DVD] (DVD)
I love these era of toons....and this is a bit of a classic for me. I had the older set but loved the new packaging so had to get it too. The inside slip has the episode synopsis too which is a useful touch. Good stuff! There's also the 90's series coming soon which I liked too, on a 3 disc set I think. Wicked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Iron Man tales, 22 Jun 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man - The Complete Series (1960's) [DVD] (DVD)
Here are all 13 episodes of the 1966 series which featured animated versions of the Tales of Suspense stories, featuring artwork by Don Heck and stories written by the great Stan Lee.
Iron Man's old nemesis The Mandarin appears 4 times but there are other treats here including Moleman, Titanium Man, Crimson Dynamo, Jack Frost, Black Widow and Hawkeye, Count Nefaria, Mad Thinker, Chameleon and Kraven the Hunter with a guest appearance from Captain America.
It features Happy Hogan's first change into The Freak, The origin of the Mandarin, Stark's first run in with Senator Byrd (Boyd here) and the start of the romance between Hogan and Pepper Potts.
Annoyingly the stories are out of sequence so in some tales he has the new armour which is followed by a tale in the old armour. Other than that, oh! and the annoying theme tune, this is a pretty decent collection that will appeal mostly to old Marvel fans like me and may not appeal as much to anyone used to modern computer aided animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Pj Thorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These were originally broadcast as part of Marvel Action Hour, with Stan Lee introductions. You won't find them on this DVD set, but the stories are all there. Season 2 is much faster, more complex and entertaining.
Robert Hays witty delivery of Iron Man/Stark's lines is an asset to the show.
Watch for guest appearances by Nick Fury / SHIELD in season 2, as well as a dramatic subplot involving Force Works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So, So..., 11 Dec 2007
The 90's Series Iron-Man was unequal. The fisrt season was marked by poor animation and a lack of characterisation. The stories were ridiculous and pointless. But don't worry, season 2 rocks! Great animation, great characters, and great stories.

Well, as far as the DVD set is concerned...my god...I've never seen such a poor box set. Keep in mind that you're only bying 13 good episodes (the second season), and that's all! No subtitles, no bonus, no other language, nothing! Only the 26 episodes of the series. Thankfully, it's good quality.

It's clear that the 90's Marvel Series don't get the DVDs they deserve.

Buy it only if you're an Iron-Man fan (...or if you liked the series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant! Golden age of Marvel animation!, 12 Jan 2008
By 
Peter Parker "Spidey" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Wonderful boxset! I watched both series in the 1990's and found the series absolutely fantastic!!! So i had to buy it when it came out last year!! Superb animation in both series and great storylines make this a must-have for any marvel fan!! Don't read the last review, the man who wrote it is a sourpuss!
Buy now for Golden Marvel animation- cartoons these days aren't the same as this wonderful series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The truth is, I am Iron Man, 9 Jan 2009
yes season 1 came off as very 80s & season 2 was a drastic improvement. has anyone had any problems w/ the s1 episode, "enemy without, enemy within," sync-wise? i've tried watching the episode twice & have noticed that the audio & video syncing is way off. all of the other episodes are fine, though so i'm thinking that this is only a flaw within that episode. other than that, season 1 is very cheesy whereas season 2 flows a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just okay, 28 Aug 2009
A little disappointing. Difficult for my 4yr old to get into. But otherwise very fast delivery and service. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man - The Complete Series (1960's) [DVD]
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews