Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly missed
I came to this music late listening to Giles Peterson, if you don't know it get it music, of beauty to lift the spirit to the top of the tallist mountain and then some. Thank you Terry for such music!
Published on 24 Dec 2012 by John Hawkins

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good collection
Not totally all to my taste but when your in the mood for some great laid back thoughful songs this cd is a great one to put on. Has a good variety of tracks on it and for the price is a great buy if like me your just a casual fan.
Published on 3 Jun 2009 by S. K. FLORA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly missed, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected (Audio CD)
I came to this music late listening to Giles Peterson, if you don't know it get it music, of beauty to lift the spirit to the top of the tallist mountain and then some. Thank you Terry for such music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep Your Heart Right, 20 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Collected (Audio CD)
RIP Terry. I first saw him play, at a friend's recommendation, at the Pizza Express in Soho. That warm, up-lifting voice was an immediate hook. This is a reasonably good introduction and good value too, although, as fans will always say, 'best of' collections are usually far from.

Time Peace is the album I would most recommend - only 'Keep Your Heart Right' makes it onto this compilation. However, there are lots of great songs here: Callier's version of 'Satin Doll', as heart-warming as a real fireplace at Christmas, 'What Color is Love' and 'I Don't Want Nobody Else' and other soulful ballads. 'Can't Catch The Trane', 'No More Blues' and '4Miles' would have made it onto my own compilation, if you're looking further afield.

I was surprised how few of my music-loving friends knew Terry Callier, but I think his soul / folk / jazz style, with a definite dash of Christianity thrown in, was very attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful collection of his music., 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Collected (Audio CD)
A beautiful collection of his music from one of the finest vocalists.

If you're new to Terry, try this album first, it includes some of his best songs. If you enjoyed it look into The New Folk Sound Of Terry Callier which is a different side of Terry from his early career including covers of popular folk songs. I was taken aback by how beautiful his voice sounds on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected (Audio CD)
A really nice collection of his tracks, a mix of the more well known and the more folk-esque - perfect to while away a sunny day. What a talent, sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation., 25 Dec 2010
By 
AsianCharm "AC" (Frisco, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collected (Audio CD)
I must confess that I didn't discover Terry Callier until a few months ago when I stumbled onto his '60s album called "NEW FOLK SOUND". Since then, I find Terry Callier extremely interesting. Firstly, he is not a "black" traditional blues singer! Secondly, he writes songs in folksy style and accompanies himself on the acoustic guitar. Lastly, his performing career lasts over 5 decades long.

The present CD "COLLECTED" did a good job showcasing the more recent Terry Callier by including tracks from his recent albums, which doesn't sound anything like the dated "NEW FOLK SOUND". Having listened to this compilation CD, I am ready to explore his other individual albums, especially those remastered and re-released by Verve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good collection, 3 Jun 2009
By 
S. K. FLORA (Sutton Coldfield,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collected (Audio CD)
Not totally all to my taste but when your in the mood for some great laid back thoughful songs this cd is a great one to put on. Has a good variety of tracks on it and for the price is a great buy if like me your just a casual fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collected
The Collected by Terry Callier (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews