Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm a very neat monster."
Here we go again. Another CSI clone. Haven't we seen this all before? Well actually, not quite. There is nothing quite like Dexter.

Dexter Morgan (played by the outstanding Michael C. Hall) is a blood splatter analyst. Dexter is also a serial killer, or occasional killer, who kills the criminals who escape justic by administering some of his own...
Published on 4 Sep 2008 by Dr Stephen Marcus Ogley

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - but poor casting and script undermine it
I'm not going to follow the herd here and say how brilliant this is - because it's just not! I'm giving it 3 stars, or 6 out of 10, which is above average. In my terminology, 3-stars means 'It's OK. It's not bad." It's just that, in my judgement, it's not brilliant, that's all.

I gave it a chance but in the end I thought there was a good idea at its heart but...
Published on 23 April 2009 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 1 Aug 2010
Incredible series with plenty of intrigue, blood and twists and turns. Already purchased the next series in anticipation - Dexters Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping original series, 24 Nov 2013
Fantastic series centred around a serial killer who works in law enforcement! Lots of quirky twists and turns served up with a generous helping of dark humour! As each series progresses you can't help but fall for this insatiable killer and find yourself unexpectedly rooting for the bad guy. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot stop after you start, 15 April 2009
By 
M. M. D. Fonseka (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Over the last two weeks I have watched the 1st 2 seasons of Dexter (that is more than one episode a day!!) It is difficult to stop - you have to know what happens next.
I hope the 3rd season will be as good. I hear a 4th and 5th season will be made - well, a lot of bodies to stack up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dexter is joyous, 2 Mar 2009
By 
C. A. Norman (gb) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dexter is an enthrawling off the wall CSI/House type of dvd well worth the viewing time. it is humourous, gross, scarey, and holds the watchers attention and gains their sympathy. You find yourself agreeing with his justification of his mass murders and just want to cuddle him.
dexter is good teenage and above viewing a must to see series two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Mar 2009
Really good - the main character is very watchable, and the whoe concept is fresh and makes you think where you might stand in relation to what he's doing. Dexter does for serial killers what Trainspotting did for junkies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Dark Dexter, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched this show with my Dad when it was originally broadcast and knew it was something special. The acting talent are all great - especially Michael C Hall as the protagonist Dexter Morgan. The twists and turns can range from laugh out loud to truly horrific so be prepared for an emotional rollercoaster. Also love the fact that Dexter is a serial killer who kills other killers, which makes him a dark avenger. This ambiguity makes for interesting conversations with fellow watchers as you discuss whether by killing killers, does this make Dexter less of a danger or is he just as bad.
Having only 12 episodes instead of the usual 24 for an American drama means the show is short, sharp and never loses its edginess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Addictive, 10 Mar 2008
Initially my expectations were low. The premise seemed ludicrous and I assumed the show would be a pale imitation of past productions from HBO. I could not have been more wrong.

Dexter is funny, quirky and engaging. While it may be absurd at times, the show is always engaging. In spite of his murderous tendencies, Dexter is very sympathetic. As well, the other characters are equally compelling. We soon learn that Dexter isn't the only person keeping secrets. No one is exactly who they appear to be. The writing is first rate and the Florida setting is inspired. This production has a highly developed visual sense and will appeal to a broad range of viewers.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huh, 10 May 2008
By 
Is it ok to want a serial killer to "win"?

People who watched this on tv must have felt tortured. I watched all 2 seasons within about 5 days while on holiday, and I can't imagine having had the patience to have had it drip-fed just once a week. It is very, very, *very* compelling. It'll get compared to other things (CSI, Criminal Minds, Silence of the Lambs) and the comparisons are justified, because it has all those facets in it, but where this veers off the standard path is its strength.

There are myriad procedural cop shows; plenty of charismatic serial killers; lots and lots of shows which aren't afraid to show bloody gore... but none of them have a serial killer as protagonist - much less one you're rooting for. Michael C Hall is wholly likeable - he has one of those faces - and his performance is excellent, but it's more than that.

Apparently in the States there has been much controversy surrounding the notion that a serial killer would be portrayed as a sympathetic character. It makes sense: serial killers bad. Were this "real life", the fall out for police institutions would be monumental. But, it *isn't* real life. This is television, where the most extraordinary things occur, and for the hour you're watching Dexter, you'll need to suspend your disbelief a little.

He starts off as almost an automaton. Somewhere along the way, there's a shift, and you see that he does actually have feelings. I'm not sure whether that was done in order to make him slightly more palatable and sympathetic, or whether his emotions are gradually released as his story is told. And his story, his history, is a doozy.

The comedy comes from his voice-over narrative. Dry, sardonic, witty. Everyone in the world - barring one Detective Doakes - sees the mask Dexter has built, but we get to see beyond it. We are allowed into the mind of this man: Dexter the blood spatter analyst will laugh at a joke someone has told; Dexter the serial killer tells us in a monotone voice that he understands the idea of laughing, but doesn't get what it's actually for. Dexter, brother and friend, will respond with an enthusiatic "Yeah!"; Dexter the man who kills people, in his oddly hypnotic voice, says no.

Season 1 focuses on the hunt for "The Ice Truck Killer", and it's a twisty turny thing. The final revelation is outrageously preposterous, but by then, you're hooked and willing to believe anything. It's also wonderfully, wonderfully done. The music where you discover the identity of the killer is perhaps the most effective piece of music I've heard on a tv show. Emotive, haunting strings that make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end. Interestingly, this music is played alongside season 2's closing credits, so it must have proved popular. Not surprising, as it really is an exceptionally beautiful composition.

All the supporting cast are fantastic. It took until the middle of season 2 to not abjectly despise Dexter's sister Debra (Jennifer Carpenter) anymore, and have heard many people say the same, so if she irritates you, give her time: she may grow on you. All the others, though, are superb. Two, in particular, deserve special mention. David Zayas as Detective Angel Batista is an absolute joy. If Dexter were to have a friend, Angel would be the person. He's warm, funny, and has the kindness of a puppy. That someone like him would adore Dexter in some ways gives us permission to, also.

Equally, Julie Benz, as Dexter's girlfriend Rita, is especially wonderful. I've seen her dotted about, but in my head she was, and would always be, Darla. Not anymore. Her performance is understated and deep and if there's one person you're rooting for more than Dexter, it's her. Her two children are equally besotted with Dexter, and if kids like someone, you know they're good.

That seems to be the Hollywood rule: if kids - who see everything - like someone, you know that deep down, they're a good person. And perhaps Dexter is. He has a conscience, he doesn't kill innocent people, his pathology is gradually explained (if not justified) and he's been trained to do what he does. He really is, in many ways, a soldier. Indoctrinated from the age of 3 onwards. You'll catch yourself asking that sometimes: is he a good guy?

The season finale goes some way to answering that question, but maybe the answer is arbitrary. It's certainly the question I'm left with, and think about. That and when oh when oh when is season 3 starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, just wow!, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Tea Tango (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dexter: The First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is an amazing show!
The narrating, the direction of the show and characters are amazing.
I haven't been this entertained in years! This goes straight to the top of list! It's fresh and doesn't smell of "knock off of C.S.I".
It would highly recommend this, if you love Sopranos, and even though this doesn't deal with the mob at all its still one of the best shows to hit the screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter the serial killer!!, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Steven F. Groves (Cheshire England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dexter. Took a while to get into this; not really into serial killers! But, after a while began to find the series addictive. Not for the feint hearted I must say; lots of grisly bits and pieces. All in all a great series but don't watch if you suffer bad dreams! Plenty of strong characters both male and female and lots of twists and turns. Some good acting too. I must admit that some of Dexter's victims are thoroughly unsavoury. Do they deserve to die so horrifly? You decide. I've made my mind up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dexter: The First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
8.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews