Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars404
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2013
This stuff is about as good as it gets in the re-proofing market, but what Nikwax won't tell you is that you don't have to throw away the stuff after you've reproofed garments in it. Use the bucket method and you can keep the stuff in a container for next time.

Here's what I do:

1) Wash one or two garments in Nikwax Tech Wash as per their washing instructions.
2) Pour 300ml of TX Direct into a clean bucket and add a couple of litres of warm water.
3) Take the garments out of the washing machine into a laundry basket.
4) Immerse one garment in the bucket. Use gloves if you don't want to waterproof your hands. Add a bit more water if you need to. Mix around like you're gently hand-washing the garment. It will be difficult to get all the air pockets out of the garment, so it will tend to float a bit and not be fully immersed in the solution, so leave for five minutes, turn it over and over a few times and then leave for another five minutes or so.
5) Transfer the first garment back into the washing machine. Best to put the bucket in front of the machine if you don't want a shiny waterproof floor where it splashes.
6) Repeat steps 4-5 for the second garment if there is one.
7) Rinse and spin (gently) in the washing machine.
8) Drip dry or tumble dry if the care instructions allow.

And finally:

9) Keep the remaining solution from the bucket for next time. You might need to add a little more TX Direct and/or water, but the same solution will re-proof many more garments.

If you'd used the washing machine, all that lovely TX Direct would be going straight down your drain!
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
I can highly recommend this product for easily reproofing your waterproof clothing. It is very simple to use and unlike some other products does not require the garment to be tumble dried or ironed after treatment. It is definitely more effective if you use Nikwax Techwash to clean the clothes first.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
This stuff Nikwax TX Direct Wash-In does exactly what is says on the tin (well bottle). I am delighted with how it has restored waterproofing to my quilted coat (which was behaving like a veritable sponge in the rain), even though it says its for use on fabrics without wicking/absorbant liners it has worked beautifully. It is so easy to use, quite literally its all done in the washing machine, what could be easier?
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
Easy to use - and an effective way to re-waterproof garments like ski jackets that have lost some repellency as the result of past washing.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Does exactly what it says. Throw your pre-washed coats in the washing machine, add the liquid, put on a cool wash, and hey presto your coats are re-proofed. No need for a tumble drier, just hang outside.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2010
very good value in the 1 ltr size, allows you to proof 2 garments at once
and you get upto 10 wash in proofs per 1 ltr bottle
this does not wash the garment so you need to use another product to
wash the garment prior to proofing it
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Excellent product. I tried numerous wash in products to restore an old favorite fishing jacket that had beed hard used, lost it's waterproofing and I was getting skeptical that any would work. I put it through two washes as per the instructions and after being left to dry tried my jacket under a running tap. I was hugely impressed when the water beaded of like a dream. I'm delighted! It seems to have restored my jacket go an as new condition. Top marks and a new go to produt for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
Tried this after being recommended in an outdoor shop.
The product was tried in a Hotpoint Aquarius at 30 degrees on a short cycle with short spin. The garment was a ten year old Berghaus Aquafoil cagoule which was soaking up rain. No beading and running off, just soaking in.
Washed as per instructions then hung out to dry on a washing line.
Once dry the cagoule felt no different but when it rained the water mostly beaded and ran off with hardly any soaking in. Not as good as a new Berghaus but impressive nonetheless. I will use the product again on this cagoule and on others in the family.
Recommended.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Thanks to this product my husbands coat is once again water proof without having a sticky feel to it
Would use the company again very well packaged and quick delivery. Would recommend this product
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
this is a good product and has been very effective at rewaterproofing my nitro bike jacket. it did take two washes and can only be drip dried. not as effective on the waterproof trousers.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)