Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I must say, you guys have certainly come up with something..."
It was with a certain trepidation that I put this, my first blu-ray disk, into my new Panasonic blu-ray player. "2001: a space odyssey" has been my favourite film for as long as I can remember, and I've owned copies on a variety of VHS tapes and DVDs.

The theme is just about as epic as it's possible to imagine: the evolution of man from ape through human to a...
Published on 15 Aug 2008 by Kenneth F. Mcara

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I love 2001 A Space Odyssey. It's a lifetime faveourite. However as a Blue Ray film, the quality is scandalously bad. Note: this isn't a reflection on the seller in any way who plainly isn't responsible for what the studio released here! This is a criticism of the Blue Ray release. There is dirt and dust and scratches in evidence everywhere. This must have been mastered...
Published 22 months ago by Rocket Man


‹ Previous | 127 28 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious rubbish, 29 April 2007
By 
J. D. Walpole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definetly ground breaking, several scenes clearly must have influenced George Lucas with his "vision" for Star Wars, some of the "inventions" are not too far away from modern technology and is a clever view on the what was the future in 1968.

The film its self I found dreadfully boring, the dialog is minimal to say the least, with its prolonged silences and drawn out scenes, I was able to fastforward (thank god) through much of it.

The ending is not sureal, its just plain laughable, I'm sure the sandal wearing all bran folk will continue to gush over the film and they are welcome to it, but can I please have my 141 minutes back please ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 117 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Proving that inovation does not mean interesting, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Certainly this film was groundbreaking in many technical aspects, but thirty years on that should only be of interest to a minority. 2001 was of its time, a grand, modernist piece with stripped down narrative and characterization, but it only goes to show that if you strip down the story and characters you aren't left with much; two and a half hours that could be described in two and a half lines.
The film is beautiful, but it fails to engage, indeed the most emotionally literate character is a talking computer and even that you would avoid at parties, if ever it were invited to parties.
Ah, but it is a philosophical essay say the fans, but is it? The premise is fictional, so anything it has to say about the nature of intelligence is worthless. I'm not saying that fiction cannot deal with complex issues, anything but, but there has to be a starting point of 'truth'; 2001 is pure fantasy.
If you like technical speculation of the old Tomorrow's World variety, this is the film for you, but in every other way it is one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and Tasteless, 6 Feb 2004
By 
H. Bolton "hmab" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I know this film is considered a real classic but i found it to be the most boring film i have ever seen.
The narrative isn't clear with minimal dialogue and the film is almost silent with classical music.The editing isn't great with many slow paced and silent scenes in space enough to make you nod off and the movie is way to long.
This is definately a boys or a space freaks film. Unless you have a great interest in Space, i won't advise you see this. Being a girl, i absolutely hated it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtitles, 30 Jun 2008
Maybe someone one day will think abbout other peopplein the planet Earth, and will tall us if this (an all other films) have a SUBTITLES and in wich language?!!?!! Thanks a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2001:A Sapce Oddessy, 13 Feb 2004
Probably one of the most boring films of all time. Yes it looks good and the special effects are very very impressive. but i hardly think that Arthur C Clarke and Mr Kubrick slaved over a typewriter with script. A few mumbled words here and there. Each scene is at leat 5 - 10 minutes long. I got so bored half way through that i started watching it on 4x speed with subtitles on DVD and still got bored. Looks good, but what a waste of time. The only films that i've enjoyed less are AI, Unbreakable and Hollow Man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2001: A Space Idiot-cy, 28 Sep 2007
Notice how anyone who says a bad word about this film gets the "only 2 of 34 people found this review helpful" treatment.

Well it was CRAP!

Why do you people think it was good? The story wasn't there and we are left wondering what on Earth is happening. Lousy ending. I bet you people who liked this thought 2010 was awful, right? Ha Ha Ha. Oh My God! I would rather watch the first five minutes of 2010 than all of 2001. The opening words on the screen sequence of 2010 is more satisfying knowing what was going on than the way 2001 ended.

I bet the person who made 2010 did so because they were so frustrated at the way 2001 ended and wanted more story. I felt like writing it myself afterwards. As soon as 2010 came on - I could tell from those first five minutes that it would be a better movie. I am going to write a review about that one.

MY RATING: 2001 goes so slow it almost stops whereas 2010 blows your mind. Only buy this movie because 2010 exists so you can complete the story and feel satisfied. If 2010 didn't exist - avoide this at all costs!

They at least hired the correct actor for this load of tripe - Keir Dullea. Boy he couldn't be much Dull-a!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2001 a space odysset blu- ray 1968, 1 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. C. Everett "nightowl" (all over the world) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
read the book, seen it on tv, a film i much add too my collect this is a great film,much have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read my review with the theme tune in mind., 23 Jan 2004
By 
Justin "Justin" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Bah, Bah, Bah, Bah, BORING! Da, da, da, da, da.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 100 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars uninteresting, irrelevent and tiresome, 13 Dec 2004
By A Customer
yes that's right, 2001:a space oddysey is not the cinematic masterpiece you've heard about.
there's some monkeys at the start. they scream alot. and they scream some more. i watched with interest as the monkeys learn to stand and to smash bones. sadly this is the highlight of the film because it's about to slow down to a grinding halt.
long drawn out sequences of space to the background of opera music are the main course for this borefest!
i must'nt forget to talk about the most conservative and boring crew that has ever graced a spaceship aswell.
One fantastic scene in this film is when the computer decides to kill everyone on the ship by cutting off their air.
the computer has the right idea. sadly he is turned off (VERY slowly).then the remaining crew member apparently has a giant multicoloured hallucination which i might add is amoung some of the worst visual effects i have ever witnessed. the film tries to justify it's existance with a pathetic message about new life at the end.
yes this film is a turkey if ever i saw one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MY GOD HOW BORING, 24 Aug 2007
Oh my god. I can't believe how slooooooooooooooooow this film is. Must have the patience of a tortoise and the life expectancy. I'm sure its great once you have these qualities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 127 28 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2001: A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray] [1968] [US Import]
2001: A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray] [1968] [US Import] by Stanley Kubrick (Blu-ray - 2007)
6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews