Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars53
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 April 2010
Im thirteen and i bought this game a while ago. i am still trying to complete it , so i wouldnt say this game is easy but maybe thats just me. Theres alot of running about in it to complete the tasks which can get quite difficult and if you bought the game you would seen what i mean.

The main plot is to round up members of the DA and do tasks for them so they will help you in a battle against the ministry of magic. whilst in hogwarts you can do lots of mini wizard games that you read about in the books and discover magical things and interact with ghosts although Murtle can be very annoying always popping up and talking to you.

The graphics are good and its really fun to explore hogwarts and parts of the weaslys house like they do in the films. you get to see the clocktower , hospital wing , stone circle ect. The characters are good and its nice doing tasks for people youve seen in the films like Luna , Fred and George , Ginny and loads others.

the only bad points in this game is there is alot of running around hogwarts and how very annoying hermione can get when you dont do the tasks straight away. i once had to turn the sound off because she keeps repeating herself every few minutes, and like i have said above so is Murtle.

overall its a very good game and im glad i bought it, hope this helps. i would explain more about the fight in the ministry of magic with Bellatrix and Voldermort which, as i read on the case, is supposed to happen but unfortunatlly im still stuck at hogwarts finding gargoyles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2008
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a good game so far but it is hard to do some stuff. Hogwarts is very big. I have only done 9%. But it is really, really good. I wish that the people could say more. If you do not like waiting a long time and exploring, I do not think you will like this game.

- Rose (age 8)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2007
Harry Potter fever has hit the World again in July 2007 with a new book (Deathly Hallows), a new film and this new game, 'The Order of the Phoenix', which is based on the film that is based on the book by JK Rowling.

The game starts in Little Whinging, like in the book, where Harry and Dudley are walking through the park when they are suddenly attacked by two Dementors. After producing a Patronus, the next thing you know you're at Grimmauld Place talking to Sirius Black, completely missing out Harry's rescue from Privet Drive by The Order. As this was such a huge book (over 950 pages), the game has been cut to pieces, jumping chapters at a time by using newspaper articles to explain the story very simpily and quickly. Although this avoids many cut scenes filled with dialogue, for anyone who hasn't read the book I imagine that the plot of the story would be very hard to follow in this game.

With this small issue aside, The Order of the Phoenix for the Wii is a great game, featuring a brilliantly detailed Hogwarts that seems to have every corridor, classroom and stairway from the film looking perfect. With it being such a big castle there's so much to explore and do but if you only stick to the main tasks given, the game will be over fairly quickly. You really need to speak to the other pupils and play games like Exploding Snap and Wizard Chess with them and also repair various objects around the school to really make the most of this game. Some tasks involve finding a school friend on the other side of the castle which can mean that you'll be making Harry run up and down corridors for minutes at a time. This is where speaking to others can break up the main story quite well, avoiding boring and repetitive gameplay. Most of the characters are featured and all look very realistic to their film counterparts, although some of their voices are not too good (Hermoine, for example, sounds completely different).

The controls on the Wii version work really well and are very fun, using the Wii Remote as your wand to cast spells. The spells are pretty easy to pull off and gives the game a more interactive feel to it. The only problem big Harry Potter fans may find is that the spells are performed differently to in the books and films. For example - Winguardium Leviosa in the book and film is "swish and flick" but in the game it is a flick of both the Wii nunchuck and remote at the same time. A very, very minor niggle - sorry!

The Order of the Phoenix for the Wii is a game that fans of Harry Potter should love and is the easily the best Harry Potter game so far. The difficulty is quite easy though, so older gamers should perhaps play this on either the Normal or Hard setting or else it could be finished a little too quickly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 16 August 2007
This game is absoutley fantastic not only is the graphics so incredible that it recembles the hogwarts set in the film, it has great similarities to the plot. (Icluding the kiss between harry and cho!) The best bit is being able to cast spells using your wii control and the special feature videos located in the room of rewards, describing how the game was made and the voices of the actual characters! Dont listen to those who give it 1 or 2 stars you will not be disappointed! (Depending on your view! But this was incredible!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I deliberately chose this game with a view to completing all the Wii games up to the final instalment, so I wasn't expecting anything amazing but they did a really decent job, apart from a couple of flaws. Here's my main pros and cons:

- Skims through the non game-play in a brilliant style not unlike the film but not an exact replica either.
- The plot references the book with accurate detail
- Brilliant graphics for it's time, creating the avatar features to be very close likenesses to the actors
- Hidden Easter eggs and extra quests are engaging with plenty to do to keep you occupied

- The voices: some of the actors lent their voice to the game, some didn't and those that didn't become particularly jarring, almost as if they didn't bother finding anyone with a close likeness. Hermione is particularly annoying.
- Hermione and Ron: When you are stuck on a task, you just have to turn to your two best friends, press A and they'll tell you what to do. They follow you everywhere in case you have a question. They even suggest what you should be doing without you asking. They might even repeat that same advice 5 times whilst walking down 1 corridor on the way to completing this advice. They are so eager to give you advice so that as you roam around completing tasks they stand in your way, blocking exits etc. There are so many actions that require you to press the A button that, with Hermione and Ron always being in your face, your 'should be easy' task of levitating a pumpkin to smash it against a wall, is constantly interrupted by Hermione's whiny voice screeching about how you should really go and see Professor Flitwick and complete that Charms essay...
- Also some of the wand instructions are not clearly explained. Once you get to Snape's Occulmency lesson you'll understand what I mean..

Verdict: Overall enjoyable with moments of intense anger at the screen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 July 2010
...for me I find it quite tricky to cast the spells compared to the HBP and is more repetitive, although I am a casual gamer so have this problem with most games. The graphics are good for the year it was made but obviously as the gaming industry gets better so will each game that goes with the series.

I think I will complete this game eventually at some point but in no rush as playing HBP and preferring that which I have also created a review for.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
This game is based on the film and book but if you don't know the story you'll probably be a bit confused as it's not always obvious what's going on. Harry and his friends have to learn magic and carry out tasks in order to progress. If you like exploring then it's loads of fun to investigate Hogwarts, it's really huge and you'll never remember how to get around. To help you, you can use your map, select a location that you want to reach and footprints will appear on the floor directing you, just follow them and they will lead you to where you want to be. The spells you learn (different spells require you to move the remote/nunchuck in different ways) come thick and fast and I couldn't always remember how to cast them and sometimes became frustrated when trying to do a particular spell which wasn't quite working. However, it was fun and I played it to the end. I would have liked it to be a bit more attractive, the graphics were slightly colourless, a bit sepia looking, though that might have been a deliberate attempt to look like the film. Personally, I'm not sure if it's worth buying new, I bought mine second hand and was very happy with that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2007
The harry potter games are usually not half bad when EA decides to actually put some effort into the series. In this installment you follow the story that co-incides with the book of the same name. The visuals look really great for wii game and will certainly wont disspaoint by most standards.

The only thing that dissapoints me is that the gameplay is too much confined to the restraints of the book, which means EA are limited to what can be done in the game and its a right shame cause if EA are left to their own devices they can make some right gems of video games. In this case the gameplay is little bit restricted and hogwarts itself feels a tad empty and the missions are the same old nothing special things that previous games have done before.

If you like harry potter then get it, you cant really do much worse but if your above 12 years old then this probably wont intrest you for long.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
This game is ridden with faults; the camera seems to have a life of it's own, its near impossible to aim properly with the wii remote in some of the cramped environments as the cross hair leaps about from object to object without ever seeming to land on the item you're aiming at. On top of that the character AI is horrendous and the characters who tag along with Harry throughout the game seem to be drawn to him like a bee to a flower and as such it gets most infuriating when you try and move only to be trapped in a corner by Ron and Hermione trying to track your every movement. This is all rather a shame as some of the actual ideas and missions in the game have the potential to be enjoyable, however it is such a pain trying to overcome the game's flaws in order to get them done that they are ruined.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
As a great fan of the films, I really enjoyed exploring Hogwarts on this game. Whenever I watch the films now I feel like I know where they're going because of this game - so its actually added to the enjoyment.

The only problem is I played it for ages trying to get a 100% score. Finally found the last thing I had to do and there seems to be a fault as the spell gets stuck. I've tried time and time again and it just wont work on the object. Such a shame as now I'm at 99% with nothing else to do and would have loved to have finished the game properly!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 (Wii)
LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 (Wii) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Nintendo Wii)

Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince (Wii)
Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince (Wii) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.