Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT an Awful Game, Sorry!
I had to do a follow up to the 'awful review' because i dont think its deserved. Okay, its not the greatest game ever made and its no Resident Evil, but if you dont want to go around hanging up paintings, fixing things, etc. you dont have to! These are just sub missions to the game which increases its life span. Otherwise the game probably would be over quite quickly...
Published on 20 July 2007 by Ash150

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting better
Having played all the previous games (and hating the third person approach similar to EA's Return of the King in the Goblt of Fire) I'd have to say they've probably spent the most money on this one, and you can tell. The sets ARE from the movie, the voices ('cept one or two) ARE from the movie and even some of the music is FINALLY from the movie (only took them this...
Published on 1 Aug. 2008 by Benjamin Wiles


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good but quite difficult., 16 April 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
Im thirteen and i bought this game a while ago. i am still trying to complete it , so i wouldnt say this game is easy but maybe thats just me. Theres alot of running about in it to complete the tasks which can get quite difficult and if you bought the game you would seen what i mean.

The main plot is to round up members of the DA and do tasks for them so they will help you in a battle against the ministry of magic. whilst in hogwarts you can do lots of mini wizard games that you read about in the books and discover magical things and interact with ghosts although Murtle can be very annoying always popping up and talking to you.

The graphics are good and its really fun to explore hogwarts and parts of the weaslys house like they do in the films. you get to see the clocktower , hospital wing , stone circle ect. The characters are good and its nice doing tasks for people youve seen in the films like Luna , Fred and George , Ginny and loads others.

the only bad points in this game is there is alot of running around hogwarts and how very annoying hermione can get when you dont do the tasks straight away. i once had to turn the sound off because she keeps repeating herself every few minutes, and like i have said above so is Murtle.

overall its a very good game and im glad i bought it, hope this helps. i would explain more about the fight in the ministry of magic with Bellatrix and Voldermort which, as i read on the case, is supposed to happen but unfortunatlly im still stuck at hogwarts finding gargoyles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace!, 18 Jan. 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a good game so far but it is hard to do some stuff. Hogwarts is very big. I have only done 9%. But it is really, really good. I wish that the people could say more. If you do not like waiting a long time and exploring, I do not think you will like this game.

- Rose (age 8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 6 July 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
Harry Potter fever has hit the World again in July 2007 with a new book (Deathly Hallows), a new film and this new game, 'The Order of the Phoenix', which is based on the film that is based on the book by JK Rowling.

The game starts in Little Whinging, like in the book, where Harry and Dudley are walking through the park when they are suddenly attacked by two Dementors. After producing a Patronus, the next thing you know you're at Grimmauld Place talking to Sirius Black, completely missing out Harry's rescue from Privet Drive by The Order. As this was such a huge book (over 950 pages), the game has been cut to pieces, jumping chapters at a time by using newspaper articles to explain the story very simpily and quickly. Although this avoids many cut scenes filled with dialogue, for anyone who hasn't read the book I imagine that the plot of the story would be very hard to follow in this game.

With this small issue aside, The Order of the Phoenix for the Wii is a great game, featuring a brilliantly detailed Hogwarts that seems to have every corridor, classroom and stairway from the film looking perfect. With it being such a big castle there's so much to explore and do but if you only stick to the main tasks given, the game will be over fairly quickly. You really need to speak to the other pupils and play games like Exploding Snap and Wizard Chess with them and also repair various objects around the school to really make the most of this game. Some tasks involve finding a school friend on the other side of the castle which can mean that you'll be making Harry run up and down corridors for minutes at a time. This is where speaking to others can break up the main story quite well, avoiding boring and repetitive gameplay. Most of the characters are featured and all look very realistic to their film counterparts, although some of their voices are not too good (Hermoine, for example, sounds completely different).

The controls on the Wii version work really well and are very fun, using the Wii Remote as your wand to cast spells. The spells are pretty easy to pull off and gives the game a more interactive feel to it. The only problem big Harry Potter fans may find is that the spells are performed differently to in the books and films. For example - Winguardium Leviosa in the book and film is "swish and flick" but in the game it is a flick of both the Wii nunchuck and remote at the same time. A very, very minor niggle - sorry!

The Order of the Phoenix for the Wii is a game that fans of Harry Potter should love and is the easily the best Harry Potter game so far. The difficulty is quite easy though, so older gamers should perhaps play this on either the Normal or Hard setting or else it could be finished a little too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Harry Potter invented!!!!, 16 Aug. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is absoutley fantastic not only is the graphics so incredible that it recembles the hogwarts set in the film, it has great similarities to the plot. (Icluding the kiss between harry and cho!) The best bit is being able to cast spells using your wii control and the special feature videos located in the room of rewards, describing how the game was made and the voices of the actual characters! Dont listen to those who give it 1 or 2 stars you will not be disappointed! (Depending on your view! But this was incredible!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent endevour into the World of hogwarts, yet still like previous efforts subdued in execution., 6 Sept. 2007
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
The harry potter games are usually not half bad when EA decides to actually put some effort into the series. In this installment you follow the story that co-incides with the book of the same name. The visuals look really great for wii game and will certainly wont disspaoint by most standards.

The only thing that dissapoints me is that the gameplay is too much confined to the restraints of the book, which means EA are limited to what can be done in the game and its a right shame cause if EA are left to their own devices they can make some right gems of video games. In this case the gameplay is little bit restricted and hogwarts itself feels a tad empty and the missions are the same old nothing special things that previous games have done before.

If you like harry potter then get it, you cant really do much worse but if your above 12 years old then this probably wont intrest you for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a good game but..., 16 July 2010
By 
Me, Myself & I (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
...for me I find it quite tricky to cast the spells compared to the HBP and is more repetitive, although I am a casual gamer so have this problem with most games. The graphics are good for the year it was made but obviously as the gaming industry gets better so will each game that goes with the series.

I think I will complete this game eventually at some point but in no rush as playing HBP and preferring that which I have also created a review for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good God, J.K. Rowling must be turning in her enormous pile of money., 20 July 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is ridden with faults; the camera seems to have a life of it's own, its near impossible to aim properly with the wii remote in some of the cramped environments as the cross hair leaps about from object to object without ever seeming to land on the item you're aiming at. On top of that the character AI is horrendous and the characters who tag along with Harry throughout the game seem to be drawn to him like a bee to a flower and as such it gets most infuriating when you try and move only to be trapped in a corner by Ron and Hermione trying to track your every movement. This is all rather a shame as some of the actual ideas and missions in the game have the potential to be enjoyable, however it is such a pain trying to overcome the game's flaws in order to get them done that they are ruined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game abit slow thoughh :), 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Z. Daniel "Zoee" (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
Its a good game but i dont think its as bad as some say! The quality of the graphics& sound is surprisingly accurate, they allow you explore the depths of hogwarts much more than other harry potter games ive played. However my main disappointment with this game is that the challenges are too easy, the game does move on quite fast! They could have made the game much more exciting, you do tend to send alot of the time just running around the castle :| but its still a game worth playing if your a harry potter fan :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but a bit tricky!, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
This is an excellent Harry Potter game.... The best yet! There are loads of tasks to do and the way it is set out is easy to understand and most of the time time you can choose what order you want to do the tasks in....

However.... it is a little bit difficult to perform certain spells using the Wii controller and num chuck. Sometimes nothing happens when you make the movement indicated and some spells (particularly wingardium leviosa) is almost impossible to perform...

However other than that, a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could of been much MUCH better!, 24 April 2009
By 
J. Woodley "Jay dawg" (Chisamba, central province, Zambia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) (Video Game)
This game was great lots and lots of fun. Lots of things to do n lots to see! However, the camera angles were really bad and it is exactly the same as the play station 2 game except for the fact that in the wii game u use the remotes as ur wand and the playstation game you just use the analoge control. So I recommend either getting the playstation game or the wii game not both as I was stupid enough of doing. But above all else get the wii game because it is fun to use the remotes as your wand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Wii) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: £4.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews