Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pro evo
there are many reasons why people say not to buy fifa games. the first is the graphics. They aren't the best but then again, you can tell they are people, it looks like football does when you watch it on TV so what is the problem. Pro evo buyers seem to make a lot of heckle about fifa, well this is my retort, on fifa you can play premiership teams (with their names :)...
Published on 24 Oct 2007 by H. K. P. Mahoney

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only good for PS3 .........
After playing this round a friends house on his PS3 i couldnt wait to buy it for my PS2.
However, i knew the graphics wouldnt be as good and that the gameplay wouldnt be as good, and that there wouldnt be as many tricks available etc. But the gameplay is so different i was amazed. It is so similar to Fifa 07, which is awful, that it is unbelievable!
The graphics...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by Jimmy Stone


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pro evo, 24 Oct 2007
By 
H. K. P. Mahoney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
there are many reasons why people say not to buy fifa games. the first is the graphics. They aren't the best but then again, you can tell they are people, it looks like football does when you watch it on TV so what is the problem. Pro evo buyers seem to make a lot of heckle about fifa, well this is my retort, on fifa you can play premiership teams (with their names :) ) champiosnhip teams, league 1 and league 2. plus the french, spanish, italian, german, korean and american leagues. and there are probably some i am leaving out. One thing that has always bugged me, (and this the reason me and most of my friends dont play pro evo) is the names. With out a map book how am i to know that merseyside red and liverpool, and merseyside blue are everton. Plus i dont support a championship team, so there is no point in buying pro evo anyway. Until pro evo does all the things fifa does alreasy (and better i might add) it is a pilfling excuse for a candidate for comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIFA 07 + lots more features = an amazing game, 3 Oct 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
FIFA 07 was an absolutely oustanding game and everyone should know that. It's so good to see EA use the "if it's not broken, don't fix it" strategy, and it means that FIFA 08 is also an oustanding game. they have kept all of the wonderful parts of 07 such as the Manager Mode, customization features, challenge mode and all of the unlocks. They have even kept the same menu screen style becasue it's pretty and they work.

So what did EA do all this time??

Well, they have added loads more teams including the Irish and Australian leagues, boosting some already impressive stats on the number of teams and players. They have updated all the transfers, so Liverpool fans have Torres and Man Utd can enjoy having Tevez etc.

But for the me it's the "Be a pro mode" that is truly brilliant. I read a review on another site about this being a "Mickey Mouse" addition to the game, but they couldn't be more wrong. We're all so used to controlling everything in the gameplay, every player, every move etc. But now you are on your own. Create you as a player and control only him. Just as in real life the rest of the team play their game and you play yours. Call for the ball, make your own runs and so on. This is so cool and so much fun it's hard to stop playing. I love this new game mode.

The gameplay also feels much harder now. Even on the easy difficulty levels it is so much harder to get a goal and the keepers are very intelligent. The 'trick stick' technique brought in from SSX is also a great new add to FIFA 08. Use the right-stick to do all the skill moves etc. With Ronaldo, there's no stopping your step-overs!!

It definitely feels as though EA have tried to copy or at least compete more with pro evo. As another reviewer corrdctly states, the button controls have changed to similar controls as pro evo, and the gameplay is very similar, just less arcadey and more realistic in FIFA, which i definitely prefer.

FIFA 07 was awesome and FIFA 08 is even better. There's so much to do, it's so much more fun and more difficult. I love FIFA 08 and I think you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only good for PS3 ........., 28 Oct 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
After playing this round a friends house on his PS3 i couldnt wait to buy it for my PS2.
However, i knew the graphics wouldnt be as good and that the gameplay wouldnt be as good, and that there wouldnt be as many tricks available etc. But the gameplay is so different i was amazed. It is so similar to Fifa 07, which is awful, that it is unbelievable!
The graphics arent even very good on the PS2 version, not to mention the appalling edit mode. The lack of real boots in edit mode is shocking. Especially seeing as they COULD get the licences to use them. They just didnt bother.
The only good point about this game is the 'Be a Pro' mode. And this is also sometimes very unrealistic, you can call for the ball from just about anywhere and they will try to pick you out, even if the pass is impossible to make and then you just end up losing the ball.

Im certainly not getting Fifa 09, unless its for the PS3 which i plan to get sometime next year.

So overall, dont buy this unless youre getting it on PS3, because on that, this game is simply amazing.
Massive let down for PS2 .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Evo Fans, 1 Oct 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
Myself I am not a fan of Pro Evo so I am probably not the best person to judge which game is better. All I wish is that people who obviously prefer one or the other would not write reviews unless they had something to say other than 'FIFA SUCKS BUY PRO EVO'. With that out the way I can begin my review.

Fifa 08 has given a more realistic touch to football games. I don't know why this is but here are some of the things that I feel must have helped. These are the 35 point system (players actually being aware where they are and what they're supposed to do), the crowd noise (when you are at home and winning the crowd really gets behind you) and the improved shooting system, giving you a feeling of achievement when you score a goal.

Overall Fifa 08 has really improved on its previous editions not only in obvious sections such as graphics and animations but also in game modes. Be a Pro mode is a very fun part of the game. It allows you to take a player (who you can create) through an entire season. This can be done on your own or with some friends who you can compete with. Another improvement is on the manager mode, giving you more to do than just select a team each week and manage the finances.

In short Fifa 08 is a very fun game that has come on leaps and bounds from past versions. It is has turned a video game into a game of football, which can only get better in future years. If you are considering whether to get this game or Pro Evo I would suggest to ignore most of the reviews that are written and to make the decision on your own comparing features of both games. The only true way to decide which game is better is to play both of them and not to just guess because of its name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but BIG improvements please, 9 Nov 2007
By 
louie (Salisbury Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
I was chuffed when this game came out. i bought and i played on it i still do. but it does need improvement. first off positives i like the way the game play has adapted from 07 and the insider detail is good. the negatives the ref is still not in the actul game play it dosnt sound important but these little things do matter. the linesmen and ref should get some calls wrong. e.g. the linesman giving offside when its not. also players only get banned for 1 game when they get a red card but the biggest thing is that if you play as a team that finshed in a european spot in real live you dont start off in the competion. i support arsenal and i cant play them in the first season if i start manager mode. and there should also be a dive button in game play. i do like the fact you can control your keeper but apart from that there needs to have more work done on the game because im starting to lose confidence it fifa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 31 July 2008
By 
Mr. S. P. Kippax (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
I have to say that when I brought this game it was mainly because I was curious to see how it had succeeded Fifa 07. It doesn't. There are a few changes and a few add-ons but nothing to what I expected. It almost feels like the game has taken a step backwards. Fifa 07 I think is the best game for originality I have ever played and unfortunatly the fun factor has totally been stripped from Fifa 08. It is actually boring to play a game which lasts about 15 mintues, regardless of what game settings you have it on. I really am not surprised there are so many used copies available, (75 used today). Utter disappointment and the creators should be ashamed. Tut tut disgraceful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated, 29 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
OK , having played most of the fifa games of the past on PC and PS2 , I was amazed on the physics of ball and game play having not played fifa 07.
However some major gripes . One why why did they put the skills on the stick , BAD MOVE EA SPORTS , its simply too difficult most of the time to try and and think of the stick angles and time it right to beat the player , ITS THE WORST MOVE EVER , they belong on the shoulder. Also the AI can come back when ever it wansts , having fought for a 2-0 lead the AI simply comes back , and you cant prevent it , its played like s*** all games then wallla 2 goals in the last couple of minutes with the usual 90min goal which it seems to get 98 % of the time , one time I was winning 3-0 and it scored 3 goals to win in 90min over time , I was powerless to stop it , thats infuriating - The unstoppable AI comeback which seems to happen most games.
Also the manual aiming , why why , its just too hard to see which way the player is facing when amiing , you either have to hit it straight at the keeper which saves it every time or try for a wide shot and miss everytime
keep auto aiming and let you decide which side of the goal to to shoot ,or at the very least allow auto aiming to be be turned on or off , I am limited to 1 goal average per game as its soooooooooooooo hard to score more infuriating when the AI can seemingly score at will.
Oh yeah the AI fills the box up with its players . Mine are evenly spread at all times at the back to allow AI perfect freedom to run around , grrrrrrrrrrrr. You simply cant get through.
Crossing never works .

EA things to work on
1. Maunual or auto aiming for shooting selection
2. Ability to select pressing for defence
3. Better crossing and players to move into crosses better - the computer intercepts everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 07 is better!, 10 Jan 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
I have just got hold of a copy of 08 - waited until the sales came! Glad I did - I had 07 and to be honest 08 is not any better. Actually in trying to make it better EA have made it more complicated and really not gained much ground over 07. Who thought of that rediculous stick flick that you have to use to get control of the defence? Dreadful idea - and slow - by the time you get the player indicated and the game responds to the control, its often too late.

The training schedule is a good idea - but just adds too much to think about and fit in. Especially if you start with a small club - I had Brighton - and you have no where near enough players to complete games with and no hope of signing any new ones.

My advise - if you are happy with 07, then stick with it. it is just as good, simpler, and therefore more enjoyable. 08 is trying to be more realistic and in so doing has become too complicated.

I will stick with it as I paid out for it - maybe it is too early - but my first impressions are that 08 is not the leap forward from 07 that it claims to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, 14 Aug 2008
By 
A. A. Ososami - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
i have been a fifa fan for all these years. i had got all the games even when my friends said i should stop buying them and get pro evo. my friends were right. i had really enjoyed the earlier ones like fifa 2003/4/5 beacause the game flow wasnt so stiff. when you changed direction it was smooth, same as all the gameplay. but since fifa 06, onwards the shot mechanics are poor, same unrealistic shot every time. when they run their arms look very stupid and you cant aim freekicks or corners with an arrow anymore. the goalpost vibration dosen't help. unlike the pro evo series where the shooting varies between what player you are. (ronaldinho will shoot like ronaldinho) and the dribbling is very smooth. i will still get the fifa games because i dont like to wait for the next football action. but i woulod reccomend the pro series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 1 Jan 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 08 (PS2) (Video Game)
I enjoyed this game while it lasted, (the disk got scratched) and I would recommend it to aspiring footballers, and gamers alike.
A good gift, but make sure they would like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA 08 (PS2)
FIFA 08 (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews