Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solid & good price, 26 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
Got these installed on my ASUS DELUX M'board running an AMD Black X2 6400 (dual). Happened to buy when upgrading as they were a few days new. So....a year or two?
How do they run.....ACE never had a prob in my heatsoaked machine running video conversion. So thought balance from first review was needed. Now i have finally upgraded to XP pro 64bit the speed increase of the 'paired' memory is scary good! A flicker...??...oh that was my upload done/ programme booted...wow! Seriously really thought i'd not need a memory upgrade for a long while. But curiosity got the better of me (typically) & am now looking to get another pair of spot on the same - 'Corsair Memory DDR2 XMS2-6400 4GB kit of 2x240 pin DIMMs, Unbuffered' - just because.

NB. If you are running a 32bit Operating System i.e. windows 95 to XP , you will only get 3GB to use (a universal max). But if your system can (with view to upgrade) or does run a 64 bit OS...on PC i.e. XP Pro 64, 2003, Vista or windows 7 ...this memory is spot on. Works noticably well at 3GB, but nowhere as good as at 4GB with 64bit.

Hope this helps.....now, where was I?....Ah!

*** PLEASE NOTE for 32bit systems CHECK COMPATABILITY!! THIS IS DDR2 Memory :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine, new DRAM (DIMM) DDR2 kit from Amazon UK; ideal to refresh old motherboards, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
Please note: this is a review of the Corsair XMS2 6400 _kit_ of 4-GB (2+2) DDR2 DIMM modules with product code TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX bought directly from AMAZON UK, not from any marketplace reseller (there are lots of fake/defective/used RAM banks out there, so you should always be careful what you buy and who you buy from, IMHO...)

I bought these to breathe some more life into my old Asus Rampage Formula motherboard, which I stil use under XP and Vista. If you intend to buy this kit, as I did, please always check compatibility with your specific motherboard on the very detailed Corsair RAM configurator web pages, and make sure that your specific motherboard is listed as compatible.

By the way, you should also always check that the original Corsair product code actually appears in the description of the product you are buying, since there are very similar products which might not be compatible. (You should always check for number of pins and number of chips on the RAM, by the way, and for the original specs of your specific motherboard, in order to be sure that it actually supports the installation of 2+2 GB RAM banks, as opposed to 1+2 GB configurations, for instance).

This is a matched kit of indentical DIMMs, made to ensure proper dual channel configurations, on motherboards which support this feature, and I used it to replace my corresponding kit of 1-1 GB XMS2 DIMMs, which I bought 5 years ago.

The banks I received were brand new, genuine and in perfect conditions (they arrived in a large protective Corsair blister, inside Amazon's usual packaging); they were accepted and recognized immediately in my Asus Rampage Formula (which can be very temperamental, as regards RAM banks...), and I had no problem in using 4 GB under XP or 32-bit Vista, even if only slightly more than 3 GB (3.3 in my case) are actually available (you cannot use all 4 GB of RAM under a 32-bit OS, in case you did not know, due to the 32-bit memory addressing limitation).

The rest of the RAM should not be actually used, since it overlaps the memory addresses reserved by the memory banks used by the various devices installed on the motherboard, such as graphic card, audio card, etc.

The DIMMs work perfectly, with no glitches or blue screens, so far; nevertheless, with 4 GB of RAM instead of 2 under 32-bit XP or Vista, honestly I did not notice any speed improvement in OS startup or in average daily operations such as Web browsing, text editing, etc., but I got some noticeable improvement only when using memory-hungry applications, such as those for photo editing, voice recognition, etc.

So, you should not expect a more reactive or faster _OS_, unless you are upgrading from 1 GB or less, but some faster or more performing applications, depending on how much memory they can actually use... If you want to improve the OS speed, you might want to upgrade the HDD, instead...

By the way, by using 4 GB of RAM under a 32-bit OS, there is always the remote chance that some badly written audio or video device driver might unexpectedly crash the system under some particular circumstances, since the memory addresses used by memory banks in these devices (especially the video and audio cards) might conflict with the overlapping RAM addresses that exceed the 3-GB intrinsic limitation of 32-bit OS.

Finally, in case you did not know these specific DIMMs, please note that they are very _high_ (more than 5 cm in height, including the contacts), due to the very large, typical "custom" heat spreaders on top of them, which is maybe their most recognizable feature, which helps in dissipating their heat. So, before buying and/or installing them, you should ensure that no power or data cables will get in the way or jam betweeen the metal fins on top of the banks.

All in all, even if these might not be the fastest or cheapest DIMMs of this kind around, I can strongly recommend them for their high reliability (I never had a single problem with them in 5 years) and very good price/performance ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid RAM, 17 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
I think that last reviewer either had a faulty set, or was trying to push too hard by overclocking. My set works fine in my ASUS-P5ND, very stable, very cool... no issues with it at all really. Also Corsair is one of the better RAM manufacturers from my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good memory, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
J. Prior "Jim" (Grantham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
Needed to increase the memory to 4Gb in my Vista 32-bit machine as everything was starting to go slow. In particular I wanted these chips with the DHX (Dual-path Heat eXchange) style vaned heatsink, as I overclock my machine. Of course with the 32-bit version of Vista it will only use about 3.2Gb of the memory (this is just a limit of 32-bit systems, nothing to do with Windows settings as lots of people mistakenly think), but the difference from the 2Gb I had originally makes things run much better when several apps are open simultaneously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's ram, it works, 19 July 2012
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
Not much more to say, but reviews must be 20 words or more. When used it made the world a better place, people sang animals danced and birds played keyboards. It remained working ram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars upgrade from 4gb to 8gb, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
M. L. Cooke (britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
I bought these to upgrade and to cure a problem with windows
unfortunately the problem still excists but I am sure that these are not at fault
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
Excellent, as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 Mhz CL5 Performance Desktop Memory Kit (Personal Computers)
great memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews