Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Funny
The only reason I have given this 5 stars is because I wrote some of the sketches. I have no shame.
Published 15 months ago by Garfield

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, at best
Describing this show as 'hit and miss' would be a bit generous. It's mostly 'miss' but with a handful of hits that just about make it worth watching.

It's a low-budget Channel 5/Paramount Comedy sketch show that attempted to mimic the success of shows like "The Fast Show"- with characters that recur in different episodes, a few catchphrases, an ensemble cast,...
Published on 14 Feb. 2009 by Mr. Stuart Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, at best, 14 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Describing this show as 'hit and miss' would be a bit generous. It's mostly 'miss' but with a handful of hits that just about make it worth watching.

It's a low-budget Channel 5/Paramount Comedy sketch show that attempted to mimic the success of shows like "The Fast Show"- with characters that recur in different episodes, a few catchphrases, an ensemble cast, and all that.

Most of the time, the real let-down is the writing. Sketches are badly thought out, a bit obvious, and you can see most of the punchlines coming from several miles away.

The writing is a total letdown to the performing talent, most of whom have proven in other shows that they're good comedy actors. Apologies to Jeremy Fowlds for singling him out but of the cast of six, his performances are the ones that belong in Chuckle Brothers rather than alternative comedy.

However there are some brief moments of genius. You can somehow see it in Simon Pegg's and Fiona Allen's eyes, when they know they're doing a sketch that is genuinely funny and they're putting their all into it, and there are a handful of these on the DVD. Most of the time though it's very poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Funny, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The only reason I have given this 5 stars is because I wrote some of the sketches. I have no shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How could such good people be so bad?, 5 April 2009
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
What really flummoxes me is that Pegg was doing Spaced at this time, so it can't even be written off as a youthful error of his(it was not 1997 as it says here, it was made in 1999 and shown in 2000). Bhaskar had already estabished himself well with Goodness Gracious me. The women have clearly been chosen primarily for their decorative function - though Allen did do OK in Smack The Pony.
This 'best of' is awful. There are no decent characters in it, about 2 laugh out louds in the whole 6 episodes. The writers should be shot at dawn, the actors struggled with some really hackneyed 'jokes'. Now I know why I had never heard of it before it came up on Amazon recommendations.
Just pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We Know Where You Live Remix, 18 Jun. 2008
By 
D. Bromley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This dvd is a seven episode highlights compilation of the thirteen part series. I have to say I remember watching the original run on Paramount Comedy Channel and remembered it fondly. That is until I watched this DVD, 11 years later. If this is the highlights, how terrible was the stuff they cut out?
There are some good ideas in some of the writing but the poor filming and some bad actors as well as a canned laughter track take away any humour. It comes away feeling like an episode of Basil Brush. If you are a die-hard Pegg, Bhaskar or Allen fan then pick this up cheap to complete your collection but don't expect to get any laughs or enjoyment out of it, only satisfaction that they went on to better things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Interesting to see the early days of Simon Pegg and others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Simon pegg in another ball of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 5 Nov. 2009
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Not funny. Low budget. Wasted talent. At least a few DVD extras would have made up for the sometimes dire content of this DVD - but not even that. Out of all 7 highlight shows on this DVD there are several of the running characters that i will remember, such as the office staff around the photocopier, Angst the somewhat dim Scandinavian VDJ and Information Man. This sketch show is mostly hit-and-miss but mostly memorable for its cast who all went on to bigger and better things. There is only one sketch, of a French couple outside the cafe, which really creased me up; the rest is intermittently amusing at best. A historical curiosity.

Oh, and if you hate canned laughter, then this DVD will really wind you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Pegg at his best!, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
Gareth Mcconville (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest tv programmes ever! Some of it is admittedly poor but it has lots of gems and showed the mentioned stars early in their careers. Fiona Allen is fab as well, watch it and give it a go you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abismal, 27 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Know Where You Live: Remix - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A huge disappointment. How can any show with such a range of comic genius in its cast fail to deliver on this scale? We watched half an hour of We Know Where You Live without it raising so much as a single laugh. It is badly written, poorly filmed and dreadfully delivered rubbish. Pegg et al should be ashamed of themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We Know Where You Live: Remix  - The Complete Series [DVD] [2000]
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews