Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pan's Labyrinth - No 10 - All Time List 2008
Guillermo del Toro has all of a sudden become on of my favourite film makers, I'd never heard of him until I saw this film. Now I've seen most film he has had an association with. The best however, is undoubtedly Pan's Labyrinth - which is the best fairytale you will ever see.

A fairytale about a girl who wants to be a Princess - Sounds like something out of a...
Published on 8 April 2008 by Morris Day

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heart wrencher
I enjoyed this as it takes place during the spanish civil war which isn't featured much in movies.Interesting in parts,well acted and nice scenery.In the end it's a tough film to watch because you're drawn into it by the young girl's fantasy and then bang!,you're reminded of the brutality of civil war and if the ending dosen't bring a lump to your throat,seek help.
Published on 19 Feb. 2009 by A. Mc Carthy


‹ Previous | 136 37 3843 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Pan's Labyrinth is absolutely stunning - the script is great, the film is brilliantly shot, the actor's are very good and the after effects are fantastic.
Overall, a masterpiece...what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too horrific to be magical, 12 Jun. 2007
By 
S. Woods "gem seeker" (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really loved the story, and the idea of combining harsh reality with the mystical. The acting is superb and the sets and special effects fab, but I found parts of the film too brutal and sadistic for it to be really enjoyable or magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hm..not what i was expecting, 24 Mar. 2007
I'm sorry to say that to my eyes this movie is not as great as it is portrayed by other reviews on this page or by the trailer. I was looking forward to receive the dvd expecting a highly entertaining movie but the effect has been rather modest. The description that comes to mind is 'without salt and pepper', a bit bland - all that effort to create the creatures didn't really amount to much, and there is almost no thrill. I would have expected that the weight of the 'fantastic' would be grater than the human world story. Nothing seems to be particularly strong in the movie. A pity...otherwise the picture is quite beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lyric adult fantasy, 28 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
"Pan's Labyrinth" is a fantay for adults featuring the character of Greek mythology -- Pan -- that appears under its other name, Faunus, and its relationship with a young girl to whom it promises eternity if she fulfills certain fantiastic and difficult requirements. The film was made in Spain and is in Spanish with English subtitles.

Set in fascist Spain during late World War II, a girl goes with her pregnant mother to live with her new stepfather, a ruthless and vile Army captain. She meets a fairy -- a Peter Pan butterfly type fluttering around on wings of gossamer -- that takes her to the labyrinth where she meets Pan, whom the film calls faun. Pan explains to the girl the terms of her involvement and, should she fulfill these duties, she will become a princess for life. Or something like that.

She takes steps to fulfill her duty, only to regularly run into problems with hobgoblins, bizarre creatures without eyes, lots more fairies floating around, and other distractions. Fortunately, Pan provides her with magic chalk with which she can create her own door whenever she needs to escape one of these moments.

In the denouement she must take her new baby brother to the labyrinth and do something really bad with him. When she refues, the story peaks. In the meantime, bad guy stepdad and his army buddies have pretty much worn her down, offed her mom, and sent everyone she knows packing. It wasn't clear at the end of the film whether or not she had fulfilled her duty and achieved her salvation.

"Pan's Labyrinth" is, in my opinion, a high class chick flick. It is full of magic, fantastic scenes and creatures, events that transcend reality, and its heroes are all women and the young girl that stars. The men are almost all bad guys and stepdad is the second coming of Darth Vadar.

This movie will interest a lot of people because of its fantastic and lyrical storyline and its marvelous effects. Parents of minor children should be warned there is a lot of violence in the film, much that is graphic in nature, making this far more an adult fairy tale than one for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 26 Nov. 2010
By 
K. Hudson "lea_zola" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is fantastic, we lost ours so purchased a replacement copy as my partner loves fantasy films. This film is very pictureseque, great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Stunning!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pans Labyrinth-(blu ray;special edition), 9 Aug. 2013
By 
Wazza Jude (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could've come with its dvd counterpart as its companion & then it would've been more 'special' so as it is I give this 4 stars instead of the 5 as the rest of this release is worthy.
I don't own the standard edition so can't compare but will list this ones crudentials which should suffice:
region b/119 mins/aspect ratio 1.78;1/5.1 dts hd master audio/language:Spanish/(c)2011.
english subtitles are optional.,I recommend to do so initially and then watch the film without,properly.
The transfer really is lovely so treat yourself by getting a rich family member to buy you a nice big 50" plasma to watch it on.
..good luck;0}
Wazza.
ps;don't know what makes people think this is a 7.1 audio movie as it ain't.,no heavy dialogue with a dialogue priority source is 7.1 out...(unless your name happens to be an American distributer),not in good heavens name!!!!!
..to be perfectly honest its sound field doesn't even fill a 5.1 surround track so all you 'I want the U.S 7.1 hd encode' just chill-out.,we're lucky it wasn't just mastered in 2.0 which some new releases still come as:0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!, 31 May 2007
This film is fantastic and a must see for anyone who loves fairytales or myths. It was hard at first to get used to the subtitles over the spanish language but after a while it was like second nature.

The creatures are both terrifying and cute at the same time and the plot is awesome.

It is a must see and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film... woeful hd dvd, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Pan's Labyrinth is a superb film. As most reviews on this site tell you. HOWEVER I must make note that the american import HDDVD has clearly had no quality control at all. The movie works and looks beautiful in hi-def. It's just a shame that none of the special features work in my HD DVD player. The reason? You cannot navigate the special features menu. Literally, pushing up, down, left or right simply does nothing. Pressing enter does nothing. You have to press MENU or TITLE to get back to the main menu to do anything! This may work in a HDDVD drive in a computer, where you can navigate spacially with the mouse, but not here. Truly woeful authoring. And as a DVD author and QC of many years I cannot believe this has gone out in this condition and not been recalled. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Still.... great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and mystical, 17 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Life is brutal, the real monsters are...

Well done grim fairy tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 136 37 3843 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006]
Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] by Guillermo del Toro (DVD - 2007)
£3.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews