Customer Reviews


369 Reviews
5 star:
 (263)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the labyrinth
If anyone wants to know where the dark, creepy fairy tales of old went, here's a hint: Guillermo del Toro is doing a pretty good job with the fairy tales for adults.

"Pan's Labyrinth" ("El Laberinto del Fauno") is a sequel of sorts to "The Devil's Backbone," a magical realism film about the Spanish Civil War. But this movie takes us deeper into a world that is...
Published on 25 Feb 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heart wrencher
I enjoyed this as it takes place during the spanish civil war which isn't featured much in movies.Interesting in parts,well acted and nice scenery.In the end it's a tough film to watch because you're drawn into it by the young girl's fantasy and then bang!,you're reminded of the brutality of civil war and if the ending dosen't bring a lump to your throat,seek help.
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by A. Mc Carthy


‹ Previous | 136 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hey, its in spanish, 21 Jun 2007
I reckon that I would of enjoyed it a lot more if I understood spanish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misinformation, 3 Jan 2011
misinformation,not steelbook as requested.Ive took the film back and i had to pay the return item and still waiting for reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars over hyped rubbish, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Miss Davies "LENA 777" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I really do like films that embrace culture and aren't pop corn fodder.. i expected ALOT more from this motion picture, i was drawn into buying this due to the imagery of the fantasy world the child enters,this was the major part they would show in the trailors/reviews/adverts and this was deceptive!!!!!!!!!
I was so disapointed that the fantasy world was such a small part of the film and thought this alternate world could have been greatly extended..
i actually felt that in the foreign film 'Life is beautiful' without even creating an alternate world visually,the father figure in the film did a far greater job of creating an alternate world for his child, to cope with the autrocity of war,making the war a game they were in,also engaging the audience a great deal, than this film Pan's could ever do, and Pan's has visual imagery of an alternate world to help draw us in too! ummm not good for pans lab eyh..
i didnt feel any compassion towards any of the characters in Pan's and as a sensitive emotional person i found that particulaly odd.. i felt bored and annoyed at the end of it..
the spanish civil war part is important of course but that really could have taken 2nd place to the fantasy that really wasnt extensive enough, i cant stress that enough..!!! i love the creation of unusual other worlds too as an artist myself..
this gets a 1 star as the other world did look great but apart from that the film was a total let down and i re-sold it asap.. I have a postgraduate in Art and i am a photographer so really do know alot about the visual arts and film,the director should re-make this film, i rarely give films a 1 star but their are so many better films to spend ya money on i swear!! ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Violent and Endless, 26 Jan 2009
Possibly the worst Saturday Night in I've spent in a long time. This left me both board and horrified that anyone would call this entertainment. I want my Saturday back!
The violence is graphic and disturbing especially more so when targeted at a child. The special effects seem simply to be a filler designed to lengthen the agony of this film.
The cover is misleading. Don't be fooled this isn't a childs film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too impressed, 8 July 2007
By 
R. Beardsley (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not happy with the fact that it is in Spanish with English subtitles.
More Fantasy then Horror. I watched it with my 8yr old God Daughter.
She wasn't impressed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars In Spanish, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It was in Spanish, which I had not realised. That's why it was so cheap I suppose. Unfortunately on my TV thhalf the subtitles were invisible at the bottom of the screen so it was no good to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MOst OverHyped WaR film, 30 Oct 2008
Mix a war story (civial war) with a fantasy world then put some essence
of tragic drama and some Bollywood emotions, you will get this movie
right. The film would not have been very different even if you have
omitted the fantasy part. They seems to be disconnected somehow.

The same old story of stepfather being unfriendly to a child and the
child finds shelter in her fantasy.

Can you imagine? that after being shot at back, a man can take off his
glasses, wipe his nose and then fall down. No joke - the doctor did.

Nobody knows why Mercedes left the Captain alive. If she can open his
mouth wider, she could have cut his neck more easily. This is stupid,
considering a war film.

The the faun suddenly forgave her without any real reason (just like he
was so harsh on the child who has completed the second task) and ask
her to do the third task. It appears, the film is better to continue
that way.

How come the labyrinth, which opened up for the girl, also opened up
for her step-father (when she was chased) ? Was it not that the fantasy
world was only for the child? If her father can also enter her fantasy
then everything would have been very different.

The child died when she came out of the underworld, and that is why
she has to take a rebirth to get back to her real father who was
waiting for centuries. But at the end, the child has to die again to be
reunited with her world. Is it not funny?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars soundtrack error, 17 Jan 2008
This review is from: Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I was disallusioned with this dvd as the only soundtrack was the director's voiceover, it was that or mute. No other option was available and even with subtitles it was impossible to watch so I had to return it unseen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What The........................................., 29 Jun 2007
By 
T. Jarvis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film has so much hype but the film failed for me i didnt think much of this just a film that should come and go very over rated and a tad boring.

It has all the great CGI and special effects but i just didnt like this movie.Though it not being a probleam for me this doesnt have an english dub why isit that MGM dvds get about 5 laungages on them but on foreign films there is hardly ever an english soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 136 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006]
Pan's Labyrinth [DVD] [2006] by Guillermo del Toro (DVD - 2007)
5.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews