Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS MOVIE IS BRILLIANT!!!!!!
Dont listen to any of the bad reviews this movie gets. It is utterly fantastic. Yeah its straight to DVD but theres nothing wrong with that, its the only way a lot of these low budget independant films can get a release.
This family, although average on the surface, are complete psychopaths. Like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre in suburbia. The older brother who thinks...
Published on 6 Feb 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't dismiss this totally out of hand - rent, don't buy
This film was a winner at two International Film Festivals, Santa Barbara & Malibu, and the Official Selection at ScreamFest and AfterDark. Variety says it is a film which "refuses to play by most of the genre rules". This is certainly true. Quite what to rate it as a good film to watch I am not sure. It isn't your typical horror film and I'm not sure I would even...
Published on 25 Oct 2008 by R. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS MOVIE IS BRILLIANT!!!!!!, 6 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
Dont listen to any of the bad reviews this movie gets. It is utterly fantastic. Yeah its straight to DVD but theres nothing wrong with that, its the only way a lot of these low budget independant films can get a release.
This family, although average on the surface, are complete psychopaths. Like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre in suburbia. The older brother who thinks hes in control but has his own problems, the twins who couldnt care less who they kill, the younger brother who is convinced he is different from the rest of his family and Lenny, the thing they keep locked up in the basement. So the movie goes, until you get to the end of the movie when you find out that these people are much more than your average psychopaths. Then you finally get to see Lenny, the thing in the basement. This is great, talented, original movie making. As a horror fan you have to sift through a lot of rubbish, but unexpected gems like this make it worth while. God bless Lions Gate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't dismiss this totally out of hand - rent, don't buy, 25 Oct 2008
By 
R. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
This film was a winner at two International Film Festivals, Santa Barbara & Malibu, and the Official Selection at ScreamFest and AfterDark. Variety says it is a film which "refuses to play by most of the genre rules". This is certainly true. Quite what to rate it as a good film to watch I am not sure. It isn't your typical horror film and I'm not sure I would even call it a horror, despite it showing unpleasant things happening to people. I can see why it won the awards and why a couple of people here said it was very good. It doesn't rely purely on violence to see it through (in fact there's relatively little given the cover of the DVD and the genre it falls into) and it's an unusual take on the vampiric genre. Other reviewers have commented on the abysmal acting but I found that the woodeness of David and Francis almost added to the oddness of the whole thing. Darlene I found immensely hammy and irritating and the two victims on whom this story hinges don't really matter. Once I'd established in my head that this wasn't a typical slasher type horror I just got on with it. It didn't scare me in any way, shape or form and I was able to write a couple of letters at the same time, which must tell you something. There was no necessity for wincing or fingers over the eyes etc and it wasn't even jumpy. I am, however, glad I watched it. It's good occasionally to get out of one's comfort zone and give something else a go. Rent this rather than buy it as I don't think it would stand up to repeat viewing and then you can make your own mind up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An insult to horror fans., 11 July 2007
By 
Mr. D. Bell "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
The makers of The Hamilton's must be good friends with a number of people in the written media. It's the only way I can explain some of the rave reviews about this film. One paper (admittedly it was The Sun!) gave it a 5 star rating. Also, Empire magazine, which is usually fairly reliable, gave it a good write up which I was surprised at.

I first saw this film a few months ago as part of the "after dark horror festival" which was a showcase of eight horror films made by independents rather than big studios. The films are of varying quality and are gradually being released over here straight to DVD. This film was by far the worst of the eight. The story is so utterly ridiculous I am still not sure if it is a joke or not. There is not one member of the cast who appears to have done any acting before. There is no atmosphere to the film. Some scenes which are meant to be shocking come so far out of the blue that you end up scratching your head wondering what's going on. I managed to keep watching to the end so I could see the final so called twist but it is so pathetic I wish I had never bothered.

To say this film is rubbish doesn't even begin to describe how bad it is. Some people obviously like it but my advice would be to steer clear. Even hardcore horror fans will find this film to be utter drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Every Family Has Its Secrets", 1 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
On the surface, the Hamilton's might appear unextraordinary: four moody young adults who must learn to cope following the death of their parents. Explored through the eyes of Francis Hamilton - the youngest - we quickly discover that there is a dark side to this family. Deeper and darker than their violent inclinations towards the strangers they bring into their home.

A good, bloody horror with depth. Whether you're into slashers or psychological thrillers, there's no reason why you shouldn't enjoy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok..might be spoilers in review, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
Another film i thought was just OK..Liked all the blood/gore, and the murders..Strange, odd family scenerio, bit like Babysitter Wanted, where they feed off blood..Two girls tied and gagged in the basement, one dies then later so does the other one, as the younger kid brother eats her face off lol..The youngest kid was in the box , was let out and then they moved house, greeted thier new neighbours with a new surname..so it could well carry on, but i hope not cos one film is enough, never mind another one lol..it passed an hour and half on a Saturday night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome story, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
this film is very good at being different . it starts with showing you the family next door ,they seem like everyone else then you see they have two girls locked in their basement. the younger boy fights the family way of life. also there is something locked in a crated box sounds like an animal but is it?
this is an excellent film you have to watch this film to get the answers. recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Confused? You won't be, after this episode of...Arggggg", 29 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
The Hamilton's isn't really a horror film, the opening scene sort of suggests that it might be (and a rubbish one and that) but once proceedings have kicked off we get to see The Butcher Brothers actual concept; a low budget indie film about a dysfunctional family. OK, so they're dysfunctional in the same way that Leatherfaces family are a little left of field, but essentially most of the scenes wouldn't actually look too far out of place in a Todd Solondz film. So I can sort of see why those expecting a straight horror film would be disappointed. However, if it's a highly original, cleverly scripted movie going experience you are after, then go for it. A crazy cross between the Brady Bunch, Lost Boys, Chainsaw Massacre and Drugstore cowboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This was bad, 18 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't have high expectations of this and it certainly didn't disappoint, this is a bad movie. Basic storyline, a family of complete nutters lock young women up in their basement, they kill them and feed them to sonmething called Lenny. That's it! And when you e-v-e-n-t-u-a-l-l-y find out what 'Lenny' is, it is so disappointing. Don't bother with this, its a bad movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If nothings on, 18 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
People I watched this film a while ago on DVD when I rented it from lovefilm. I thought at the time I dont believe how boring this supposed horror flick is, but I noticed it again on sky when I was scanning the channels. As there was nothing on I thought i would give it another go. It was ok but like I say when there is nothing else on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars no!!!, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Hamiltons [DVD] (DVD)
y i even bothered to buy this garbage i don't know. to be honest i'd been looking forward to watching it for ages because i adore horror, but no, this is not horror, its just rubbish!!!the storyline is idiotic and i urge everybody who is thinking of watching it to reconsider and see any other film out there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hamiltons [DVD]
The Hamiltons [DVD] by The Butcher Brothers (DVD - 2007)
£4.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews