Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blues classic, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
As my fellow reviewer makes clear, this is a bargain-priced overview of Muddy's development at Chess records. Given the huge amount of tracks (c 50) in this anthology, it's easy to track the development in style and technique across even lesser known numbers, and changing band compositions. This is strong, driving blues with an insistent and hypnotic rhythm; not for consumption all at the one time perhaps, but as a great blues resource to be dipped into at leisure, all at a ridiculously inexpensive price. An essential blues purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Famous Bluesman Of All, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Colin Cramp (Isle of Wight, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a 2 cd set of original best recordings by Muddy Waters, spanning 25 years from 1947 to 1972, and is an excellent example of why collections should be in chronological order of recording, which this set virtually is. You can hear how MW's recordings have developed over the years - for example most of his early recordings feature only guitar and bass, but as years go by harmonica, drums, piano, and sometimes even another guitar are added. Going by the recording dates shown in the track listing, only 2 tracks are not in order, and then only by months. (Track 4 on disc 2 should appear 2 tracks earlier, and track 5 on disc 2 should appear 3 tracks later.)
The track listing in the excellent 16 page booklet also names the musicians: this reads like a "Who's Who" and includes Willie Dixon, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Rogers, Otis Spann, and Little Walter!
Muddy Waters himself, under his real name McKinley Morganfield, wrote 31 of the 50 songs on this cd set.
These are of course all Chess recordings, and it was Muddy Waters who, in 1955, helped Chuck Berry join Chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST COMPILATION TO GET, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
THIS IS THE BEST COLLECTION TO GET IF YOU WANT A COMPLETE OVERVIEW OF MUDDY WATERS
MUSIC IT IS ALL IN CHRONILOGICAL ORDER WITH DATES AND FULL PERSONELL
ALL I CAN SAY IS BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Music, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Bought this as part of my "expanding my music collection backwards in time" project. Fantastic. From basic blues up through the 50's Rythm & Blues band music. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muddy's Greatest Hits., 13 Dec 2013
By 
M. Tylee (Calne, Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This CD has all of his greatest sons plus quite a few not so well known songs. If your a fan of American Blues then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains all the best songs, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Has all the best known songs by Muddy Waters. A very good collection although some of the tracks are very similar to each other. But I bought it for about 8 or 9 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Just love Muddy & his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
something really great from a top performer. This is a top album to listen to when you have time to relax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars muddy complete, 30 Aug 2013
By 
M. RAY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anthology (MP3 Download)
Muddy complete Waters, Mckinley Morganfield's contribution to the musical world. Contains several classics.Just cannot be bettered. from mean red spider to I'm Ready
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar, 11 Aug 2013
By 
A. McKenna "amck5700" (scotland, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Anthology (Audio CD)
A veritable who's who of postwar blues. When you look at the list of musicians (e.g. Walter Jacobs,Buddy Guy,Fred Below and Otis Spann) contributing to the tracks on these cds it should be no surprise that its good. 'Honey Bee', Mannish Boy', 'Rollin Stone',I'm Ready and my personal favourite harp track 'Standin Around Cryin' are just a few of the delights on offer. With Muddy pulling the strings -and occaissionally plucking them - the result is one the greatest collections in blues history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anthology
The Anthology by Muddy Waters (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews