Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful nostalgia
The previous reviewer has a valid point in that this volume covers a much broader spectrum of activities than just steam railways but there is a great deal of industrial transport,(heavy road haulage) and some wonderful footage of Southampton docks in the days of the great liners. The quality of the film making is absolutely first class and I would highly commend this...
Published on 26 Dec. 2007 by Ashley Jenkins

versus
31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hardly any films about railways
As a railway enthusiast I was disappointed with this volume (and volume 6 as well) as there is virtually no railway content at all. I know the BTF unit created films on the places you could go to by train (this type of film makes up the bulk of Vol 6), but I'm pretty sure the main interest of these collections is in looking at the bygone activities of the railways in the...
Published on 21 Dec. 2007 by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful nostalgia, 26 Dec. 2007
By 
Ashley Jenkins (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
The previous reviewer has a valid point in that this volume covers a much broader spectrum of activities than just steam railways but there is a great deal of industrial transport,(heavy road haulage) and some wonderful footage of Southampton docks in the days of the great liners. The quality of the film making is absolutely first class and I would highly commend this DVD to anyone who has a general interest in our industrial heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seen from both sides, 22 April 2008
By 
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the thoughts that this DVD had a wider transport base - and all the better for that!
Railways were always supposedly an integral part of a great transport system. In reality the whole system needed every part - Ship, crane, train, lorry, labourers, planners etc.
This DVD gives a great, wider view of the whole concept and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings the past to life, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
Takes you to a more innocent time, and reminds me of my childhood. Brilliantly restored films of great interest. It's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BT films vol 5 Off the beaten track DVD, 25 July 2012
By 
Mr. Geoffrey Brown (Boston, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
Another video in a series showing life as it was about forty to fifty years ago. One thing that stands out with all these videos is how much less traffic was on the roads in those days. For lovers of nostalgia this DVD will appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hardly any films about railways, 21 Dec. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
As a railway enthusiast I was disappointed with this volume (and volume 6 as well) as there is virtually no railway content at all. I know the BTF unit created films on the places you could go to by train (this type of film makes up the bulk of Vol 6), but I'm pretty sure the main interest of these collections is in looking at the bygone activities of the railways in the 1950s and 1960s (why else would they put an evocative steam loco on the cover of the DVD case?) For instance one film included in this collection is about the creatures that live on the seashore which would look pretty similar if it was filmed today. Previous volumes have been excellent but maybe they have run out of railway material and just filling up the new volumes with anything they can find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting viewing, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
These two DVDs contain a number of rarely seen BTF films, covering a variety of transport subjects, and all interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift for a major train enthusiast and he loves it. Excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
I am building a collection of these and find them all very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
Truly fascinating - excellent archive of railway film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My least favourite so far, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
G. H. Kennedy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD] (DVD)
The first four volumes were fantastic 5 stars each but this one lost the plot somewhat drifting off the railways and onto many other topics. The films are all very good and interesting but not quite what I was expecting - some films are definitely off the beaten track, not even with a token train in the distant background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Transport Films Collection - Vol. 5: Off The Beaten Track [DVD]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews