Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very handy and well thought out product for everyday life
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:26 Mins
The Philips GuideLight is an ingenious little device that instantly becomes a useful accessory to the home life for any family. The principal behind the light is simple. If you need to get up at night when your eyes have adjusted to the darkness, the last thing you want to do is switch on a main light, which will hurt your...
Published on 23 Oct. 2010 by Chris Hall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
The product is ok but it could be so much better. I would like to be able to switch off the light when it is not on the base. Also it goes out too quickly when it's on the base. All in all an okay but frustrating product!!
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Mum shopper


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very handy and well thought out product for everyday life, 23 Oct. 2010
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 1:26 Mins

The Philips GuideLight is an ingenious little device that instantly becomes a useful accessory to the home life for any family. The principal behind the light is simple. If you need to get up at night when your eyes have adjusted to the darkness, the last thing you want to do is switch on a main light, which will hurt your eyes or possibly waken others. Another situation is cheeking on (hopefully) sound asleep babies, without waking them from the harsh glare of a normal lamp or light. The solution is a palm-sized light that becomes illuminated upon sensing movement from within a few metres. Once illuminated, the GuideLight gives off a soft glow that allows for just enough vision to navigate oneself around. The GuideLight will then remain on for 15 seconds after detecting that the movement has ceased.

The light itself can be lifted from the base unit (which is where the motion sensor is located) and carried around with ease. Once placed back on the base unit, the GuideLight will automatically start to recharge itself.

To allow the GuideLight to remain on after removing it from the base unit, the light has a small push button on its back. This allows the user to keep the GuideLight illuminated for however long it is required (fully charged, the GuideLight holds enough power to remain on and away from its base unit for quite some time).

Due to its size and lightweight construction, the Guidelight is handy for travelling with. The base unit and light are both made with a relatively sturdy plastic casing, which could no doubt withstand a fair few knocks during packing and transportation.

Please note that upon plugging in the GuideLight for the very first time, it does require 24 hours to fully charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Multipurpose Light, 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Don't be fooled.. it is a tiny item that fits in your hand. It can be carried portable without the docking station which is used to recharge the light. It's almost like the Phillips natural waking up light except you can't adjust the brightness of the light. It is however bright enough without hurting your eyes (like an intense moonbeam) Once sensed proper movement it goes off until it can't detect any more movement (roughly 15-20 secs). It's very useful also for little nooks and cranny. Well I have used it for my walk in wardrobe (which is not light fitted) and great to not wake up my other half by turning the light on fully to see for clothes! Also the small storage room in the house and back of cupboard, underneath car seats in the dark (ok so you can use a torch but this is ok).. great handy thing! The best thing I liked about it is that waking up to go to the loo in the middle of the night is a far better experience with this light as in a) you don't hurtyour eyes or sudden jolt of wake up sensation when turning the bathroom light on (mine is halogen lights) b) not hitting the towel rack etc as you are fumbling in the dark to avoid (a). FAB!! So admittedly this is what I have finally leave this light to be used for :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant product., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
This is perfect as a nightlight for my children. They share a room and the older one was complaining that the nightlight for the younger one meant she couldn't get to sleep. However the younger still needs to get up in the night to use the potty - problem.
This solves it brilliantly - it stays off until he gets out of bed in the night, when he is detected by the motion sensor, and stays on long enough for him to go to the potty, then turns itself off when he is back in bed. Perfect.
It also had a 'carry with you' option which I could see being useful when he is a bit older and might want to walk down the corridor to the bathroom with it.
It is also not too bright that it would disturb a sleeper, but plenty light enough to see by when you are near it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 23 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
The product is ok but it could be so much better. I would like to be able to switch off the light when it is not on the base. Also it goes out too quickly when it's on the base. All in all an okay but frustrating product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Guide, 1 Nov. 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nightlights for children are a great idea. So good, in fact, that I've often wondered why they don't make them for adults.

Well, it seems they do. The Philips Guidelight is pretty much a motion sensing nightlight, and then some. On the base (which has to remain plugged in to the mains) it acts as a sensor and lights up when it detects motion. After about 20 seconds with no movement it will switch back off again.

The fun part comes when you take it off the base. Once held, continued movement will keep the light on. A small switch at the back will also keep the light on permanently, useful if you need to leave it hooked on to something while you go to the loo!

The unit is tiny, which makes it actually look quite cute. It also means that you don't need to have much desk or floor space for it. Despite the size it can put out just the right amount of light to guide the way without illuminating the whole room.

If you don't want the motion sensing part of the deal then you can turn off the base and just use it to hook the light on, but I think most people will prefer it kept on. There is the issue of using electricity all the time though. Still, it's a pretty neat system that works well and is perfect for taking on holiday too (for those times you find yourself in a strange house or room in the dark).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this product when my son was only a few weeks old so that when me or my partner were doing night feeds we didnt have to put a light on which would keep baby awake. its bright enough to see what you are doing through the night but doesnt wake baby up too much so that they are too alert to return to sleep again. now our son is 4 months old and sleeping through we leave this on the upstairs landing so that when we put him to bed it comes on automatically when you walk past it and again you dont have to use your main light and wake baby up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Breastfeeding side light, 31 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
Really nice item just wish it would stay on longer without having to press the switch at the back
Otherwise good product! The handle could be larger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disppointed and a bit cross., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
Very disapointed because the motion sensor only detects movement within 5 or 6 inches, so it was useless to provide a light to get out of bed with in the middle of the night. You'd have to have it so near to your feet that it would become a hazard to tripping over it. Discovered that it was a non-returnable item but Amazon got the supplier to agree to have it back provided it was fit for resale. But I found it very difficult indeed to repack it and tore the corner of the box. So I cannot now return it. Money down the drain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 16 Dec. 2012
By 
L. Morton (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this to encourage my daughter to get up to the toilet during the night.It gives a subtle glow and is not too child-like in design.It is cleverly thought out,the looped shaped back is genius and useful.The sensors are very effective and overall this was a great buy with regards to effectiveness and superb value.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product from Philips, 26 Oct. 2010
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips 6911231PH Battery Operated Portable Motion Sensor LED Night Light for Kids (Kitchen & Home)
This product was a lot smaller than I initially thought it was going to be however it actually ended up being the perfect size, it's also very light and comfortable to hold.

Setting the product up is extremely simple, all you have to do is plug the charging dock into a socket, then slot the light into the dock, SIMPLE.

I tried the product in a very dark room, where I couldn't even see my own hand and the motion sensor picked it up perfectly fine. (I would recommend placing it somewhere easily reachable; for example next to your bed).

I wasn't sure whether the light would hurt my eyes when it's adjusted to the dark, but to my surprise it really doesn't! It's bright enough to let you see where you're going and your surroundings, but not bright enough to burn your retinas out, the light is kinda like when the moon is shining.

Once the light is off the charging dock it's not motion sensored, so if it fades out you can press the small button on the back of the light to turn it on and press it again if you want to turn it off.

Overall it's a good quality product from Phillips at a very reasonable price, it will be most useful to any household, especially people who have a fear of the dark and cannot walk over to switch the main light on, or if you generally want to walk around without disturbing other people. Top stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews