Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final word?
There are probably those saying 'not another Yes DVD', but this one is, in my opinion, the best biographical account of the group to date.

True, it doesn't have the same amount of live material interspersed as on, say, 'YesYears' and the graphical design may not be cutting edge, but the interviews are, for the most part, where the action's at.

It's a...
Published on 30 July 2007 by Lucas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a pretty good talk-umentary
If you're style is watching 20-30 people talk about the history of a band, here you go. The Classic Artists's Yes edition gathers as many important people involved with Yes as possible and getting them to discuss in detail the bands history, from beginning until sometime in 2006 and it can get very boring for those who want lots of action. There's quite a bit of music put...
Published 24 months ago by Lord Anon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final word?, 30 July 2007
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
There are probably those saying 'not another Yes DVD', but this one is, in my opinion, the best biographical account of the group to date.

True, it doesn't have the same amount of live material interspersed as on, say, 'YesYears' and the graphical design may not be cutting edge, but the interviews are, for the most part, where the action's at.

It's a shame there's no Trevor Rabin interview (bar an old 2 minute segment) but Peter Banks is especially interesting and Steve Howe, as always, is eloquent, insightful and slightly arrogant (in a nice way!). I'm sure Chris Squire never wants to recount - again - about the first time he met Jon Anderson!! Interviews with the likes of Mike Tait, Eddie Offord and Roger Dean also add colour to the times recounted.

It's probably fair to say there's little or no archive material left in the Yes vaults as there's nothing new here on these disks in the way of concert footage - just the odd snippet of Yessongs or the '75 QPR gig that most fans will already be familiar with. I guess that elusive footage of a '76 US tour show may never be found.

Extras include elongated interviews with the main players - including a 'road trip' with Chris Squire around the streets of London at night, pointing out landmarks in the Yes story. A bit odd as you can't really see anything out of the car! Other gems include Jon Anderson's remarkable admission about Tales From Topographic Oceans and Peter Banks' account of the sour taste of 'onion'!

It's an essential purchase for any Yes fan.

Note: the free promo disk of the DVD given away with a recent edition of 'Classic Rock' magazine in the UK includes further interview footage not included on this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent update of "Yesyears", 28 Jun 2007
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another excellent DVD from Yes (maybe the best represented classic rock band on DVD with around ten releases). The first disc is a two hour and ten minute documentary on the band with most of the major players in the band (only Trevor Rabin (the biggest miss), Tony Kaye, Patrick Moraz, Billy Sherwood and Igor Khoroshev missing) and road crew/management interviewed for their stories on the rise, fall, rebirth and second coming of "Classic Yes". While this release doesn`t have quite as many rare performance/studio clips as "Yesyears", it is good to get the whole story up until the present day. Peter Banks comes across as being really bitter about the way Yes have treated him since he left in 1970 and Bill Bruford is occasionally critical of his former band mates although not as bitter. The second disc has another hour and a half of outtakes from the interviews, promos for "Wonderous stories", "Tempus Fugit" and "Owner of a lonely heart", a photo gallery and twenty five minutes of rehersal footage from 1996. This is an excellent package and one that will ideally be followed up by a double disc of live material, there must be a vault full of classic Yesshows. If you love Yes then this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a pretty good talk-umentary, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
If you're style is watching 20-30 people talk about the history of a band, here you go. The Classic Artists's Yes edition gathers as many important people involved with Yes as possible and getting them to discuss in detail the bands history, from beginning until sometime in 2006 and it can get very boring for those who want lots of action. There's quite a bit of music put in the background including ''Starship Trooper'' being played at the very end, but it's a long one to sit through. The whole first disc is over 200 minutes which is quite a long sitting time for a documentary.

It can't be a DVD without bonus features, but I'm not entirely fond of them. The rehearsal footage isn't too bad, but not that interesting to me. The gallery is a joke; the pictures are awesome, but the slideshow that they're presented in goes too fast with each picture fading immediately into the next one as soon as it appears. The music videos are of ''Tempus Fugit'', ''Wondrous ''Stories'' and ''Owner of a Lonely Heart'', so I leave it up to the fans to decide on this one.

Not bad, but not great either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good documentary, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
Very insightful and interesting for a Yes fan. A lot of useful information from the early years makes this a very interesting documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roundabout!, 24 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
An engrossiing watch, how many men does it take to change a prog band? Apparently one, but then 5 minutes later it needs changing again! Great music, great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential !, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
As an amateur music listner and amateur musician I highly recomend it ! I don't have theoretical or pratical knowlegde to write a deepest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FROM A HUGE YES FAN, 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
I HAVE BEEN A YES FAN SINCE THE EARLY SEVENTIES
AND HAVE ALL THEIR ALBUMS JON ANDERSON IS THE BEST LEAD SINGER OF ALL TIME
YES WON T BE THE SAME WITH OUT HIM
EVEN THOUGH YOU VE GOT CHRIS SQUIRE THE ORIGINAL BASSIST IT WOULD NT BE THE SAME
WITH OUT HIM EITHER

I HAVE MORE DVD S TO GET
FOR ALL YOU YES FANS OUT THERE

YES RULES OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes - Classic Artists, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes has been an important part of my life for around 35 years and I still know every word and note of their early albums, however I know very little about the band itself.

This two-DVD set is packed with informal interviews with all of the band members from all of the various lineups over the years and I was very interested in all of it and very pleased to find it.

The delivery is slow-moving and somewhat dry and I would imagine it would be difficult to sit through unless you were a committed Yes fan. There are quite a few video clips but by far it is mostly talking - I would have preferred to see more from their concerts to liven things up a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 22 July 2014
By 
A. K. Shaw "Heads Up" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD] (DVD)
The volume 3 version is not the 2 disc set .
beware !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes - Classic Artists Vol.3 [DVD]
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews