Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie
My children like this and it is quite funny in places, good animation and a very sweet story. Would recommend.
Published 1 month ago by SkinnyMumma

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FINDING NEMO RIP OFF!
This in a nut shell is a Finding Nemo rip off and bits of Shark Tale so don't thing you are going to get any thing different. If you have seen either of the above do not bother with this because my two little ones lost interest very quickly as where you put Finding Nemo on they don't move. You have been warned save your money!!!
Published on 23 Dec 2008 by Jason Thorne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FINDING NEMO RIP OFF!, 23 Dec 2008
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
This in a nut shell is a Finding Nemo rip off and bits of Shark Tale so don't thing you are going to get any thing different. If you have seen either of the above do not bother with this because my two little ones lost interest very quickly as where you put Finding Nemo on they don't move. You have been warned save your money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The RUBBISH Reef, 21 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
We got this film out of Love Film and I think people who rate this two stars or more are generous! It is about an incredibly annoying fish and is a poor mix of Shark Tale and Finding Nemo, except on five percent of the buget. Personally, I don't think this is worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that good., 22 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I went to see this with my son today and I didn't think too much of it in all honesty.

The trouble with this film was the timing which invites comparisons to two more famous fishy adventures that were released before this. If The Reef had been released first it could have at least boasted some originality where as it now borders on copyright theft as they use many of the same kind of references used in the other two fish films.

Taking originality to one side however you still have a film with animation that almost steps back in time, dodgy 'camera' angles and storylines that resemble everything from the Karate Kid to the other two similar films. It starts well but falters.

It uses colour in much the same way as Finding Nemo does (nice bright colours for the happier times and safety to mixtures of blue/green/grey for when our main characters are feeling troubled or going towards less safe places) but didn't include subtle animation that would have improved the visual effect of the film so much more.

There are a few comedy moments in this and if your kids like fish stories in general they may be entertained but I would take advantage of the current bargain price of just over 5 as to pay more for it would be a waste in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nemo wannabe, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. Stacey L. Wilshaw "s.wislhaw" (stoke england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
as previous reviews have stated,it has its moments but its just a cheap rip off of nemo,dodgy animation, scenery looks plain,if you can get it under a fiver and i mean way under a fiver then i would consider it. but i would stick to nemo,because this film does not cut it to what nemo's standard has set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Baad Imitation, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Ok. It's a bad imitation of "Find Nemo" and "Shark Tale".
What's more is the poor image. Lack of interesting detail and unbalanced colour.
Bad Jokes.
Shallow characters.
All the voices sound the same.
Total garbage!
Don't let your children watch it, lest they grow up with bad taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Undersea robbery, 23 Mar 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS)

1. Boy fish meets girl fish
2. Bigger boy fish has his lateral eyes on the same girl fish
3. Boy fishes compete to win girl fish's fin in marriage
4. You already know how this is going to end

You'll get a strong feeling of déjà vu when watching this movie. Not only are the underwater locations familiar, especially the reef, the ocean current and the shipwreck, but the characters also, like the shark, the turtle, the jellyfish, the shrimp, the pelican, the starfish and the "henchmen". There's even a bit of "The Karate Kid" in there when a wise old ninja turtle helps out the underdogfish.

You'll also find that the majority of the scenes have been done before in other movies, and better. Taken on its own it's an average kids' movie, but the "borrowing" is so blatant that it's impossible to classify it as an original movie.

You've seen most of this before in Finding Nemo, The Little Mermaid and Shark Tale, so no need to waste money on this one. Let the kids catch it on cable if they want to.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I have got the reef 2,as well as the reef,the family love them more for us please,thank you susan ann mary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish would be me being polite about this film!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this film thinking it would be excellent! ..... How wrong could i have been?!?
The animation is just terrible! It is honestly just a Finding Nemo wannabe movie. I really wouldn't waste your money on this film however cheap you can get it. Even if i was offered this for free, i would not take it. It has to be the most boring movie i have ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
My children like this and it is quite funny in places, good animation and a very sweet story. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE REEF, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] (DVD)
What can you say about this film this animation film was very good ideal for young children and adults will enjoy it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007]
The Reef [DVD] [2006] [2007] by Howard E. Baker (DVD - 2007)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews