Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid
As far as the film goes, it's great. The story is captivating, and the writing is excellent. And as much as it pains me to say, Leonardo di Caprio's acting is top notch! I'm not going to talk about the story, I'm going to review the HD experience you're getting:

Visual: Blood Diamond looks really, really good in HD. The landscape shots and action sequences...
Published on 29 Aug. 2007 by L. Otto

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film destroyed by the final scene
Blood Diamond, such is the vogue these days, is set against a backdrop of civil war and human atrocity. Djimon Hounsou plays a man struggling to protect his family and the whereabouts of a priceless diamond, Leonardo DiCaprio the opportunist diamond smuggler who wants to get out of africa with one last payload. DiCaprio's character is a proper antihero with an immoral...
Published on 7 Oct. 2007 by Johnentwistlespout


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, 29 Aug. 2007
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Diamond [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As far as the film goes, it's great. The story is captivating, and the writing is excellent. And as much as it pains me to say, Leonardo di Caprio's acting is top notch! I'm not going to talk about the story, I'm going to review the HD experience you're getting:

Visual: Blood Diamond looks really, really good in HD. The landscape shots and action sequences are so crystal clear it makes you think you're a part of the action. I didn't expect the film to look as good as it does, and I recommend it highly. There is no visible grain, pictures are clear, sharp and the colours are well saturated. Definitely better than expected!

Audio: The uncompressed 5.1 surround is truly breathtaking! Sound is clear, deep and well equalised to deliver a near-cinema experience. There's no distortion, and the sound is well levelled throughout (so no theatrical sound needing you to turn it up and down constantly!)

Overall, I'm very happy with the way this turned out. It's a beautiful film that's written very well and looks incredible on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 27 Sept. 2010
By 
John Oldale "lainey" (sheffield england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Diamond [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Its the first time I've warmed to leonardo. I couldn't understand what all the fuss about him was. He was just a baby faced actor who got lucky by being cast in Titanic. My opinion didn't change through a succession of films until this, I thought he was damn good.
This was a replacement copy of the film because mine went missing.It must be a testament to how good I thought this was because this was the first 'lost' film I've actually replaced and yes, I did enjoy it the second time around.
It's a good story about an awful time and tried hard to bring the message across that the 'blood' diamonds promote the wars and atrocities in Africa. I think it succeded in this.
The acting was fist rate, the locations beautiful, though at times uncomfortable to watch. As the old man said in the burnt out village 'Thank god they didn't find oil.'
We all know that the war would have still been going on, now another arena for the USA/BRIT ALLIANCE if they had.
All in all a thoroughly good film which gets you thinking.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 13 Jan. 2009
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a meaty and compelling film set in the heat and conflict of war-torn Sierra Leone at the turn of the last century. Africa's problems are graphically displayed here - where there's a commodity, be it gold, cobalt, copper or in this case, diamonds there is bloodshed. The diamond trail leads from the slave gangs of the brutal Revolutionary United Front to the vaults of respectable diamond dealers of London who stockpile the excess gems in order to maintain artificially high prices. These dealers are careful not to be seen buying "blood diamonds" or "conflict stones" from the Sierra Leone but do so from the neighbouring Liberia into which they are smuggled.

The story centres on Solomon Vandy (Djimon Hounsou) a fisherman whose village is raided by the RUF. Many are killed and families dispersed in the panic. Solomon's own son is given an AK47 as big as himself and brainwashed into becoming a boy soldier while his wife and other children fortunately make their way to a refugee camp. Forced to work in the diamond mines, he discovers a huge gem, which he manages to conceal during a shoot-out with government forces.

A rock of that size does not stay secret for long and he soon finds himself thrown together with "Rhodesian" mercenary cum diamond smuggler Danny Archer (DiCaprio) and American journalist Maddy Bowen (Jennifer Connolly), each with very different agendas (escape money, a story) and methods. They have to fight for their lives, his family and the diamond in an epic story that is both moving and brutal. The backdrop of Africa is spectacular but the soil is red, locals say from the rivers of blood that flow through the country.

DiCaprio and Hounsou give towering performances, Hounsou as the humble family man who only wants the best for his family, DiCaprio finally comes of age and delivers as the sleazy and violent Archer. The contrast and chemistry between the two is excellent and the opposites come together in an emotional finale.

Not for the squeamish, this film informs without preaching but tells a great story so well that makes it unmissable in my opinion. I'm just gutted I didn't see it on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 28 Mar. 2008
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blood Diamond [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
This great Hollywood blockbuster is one of a series of thought provoking movies along with the constant gardener and shooting dogs .Filmed in South Africa , London and Mozambique ,the result is excellent and the photography in this movie is a good as it gets .

It tells the story of two people who must find a very large diamond for very different reasons , one to save his son and the other to become rich . The action scenes are very realistic is terms of showing the brutal civil war in Sierra Leone as Saving private Ryan showed the landings in Normandy .

Leonardo DiCaprio deserves praise for his portrait of the South African mercenary he developed very convincing South African accent , he and Djimon Honsou work very well together and there is great scene when their characters clashed over racial issues .

Michael Sheen delivers another impeccable villain role as the unscrupulous diamond merchant who will buy anything from a war zone .

The only character that is not so good is Jennifer Connelly , also her relationship with Leonardo Dicaprio seems a bit far fetched and the romance is not very convincing.

4 and a half stars , only if it had a different female role ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST VIEW FILM!!!, 28 Feb. 2008
By 
P. G. Robinson "Robo" (Pompey UK!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Diamond [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well, I never write reviews, as you'll see from my non-technical approach. However...I feel compelled to write as this film is truely fantastic. Not just because Leo puts in a spotless performance of a flawed, heard hearted smuggler with a soft centre, or that his South African accent is really on the money - its just filmed fantastically with believable characters, fantactic sound and a story line that is complete. Check out the back drop too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'TOP DRAWER ENTERTAINMENT', 18 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
For me, 'Leonardo DiCaprio' gained in stature as a convincing actor playing this role.
The film depicts the horror and poverty which civil war situations have so frequently
imposed on many regions of the African continent.
The film depicts the use of young children armed, convinced that brutality is a way of life.
A large diamond is found by a man enslaved by the local 'war lord' and buried in the hope of being able to
reclaim it someday.
'Solomon' (Djimon Hounsou) escapes his captivity only to find more trouble, rumours grow of the possible find.
'Danny Archer' (Leonardo DiCaprio) steps in to help the 'finder' out of jail,and now the adventure really gets going,
'Danny' promises to help 'Solomon' find his family in return for a steak in the diamond.
They begin a long and hazardous journey.
A film of great drama, tension, and action sequences, well portrayed and convincing.
A must See, or indeed re-visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Diamond Blu-Ray, 25 Mar. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood Diamond [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
'Blood Diamond' is one of DiCaprios better films and one that leaves you thinking about the issues it explores long after the credits have rolled. All the actors play their roles well and the locations make for some stunning scenery. The storyline is pretty shocking at times and it feels like it is half action movie and half political commentary. The issues around blood diamonds are explained pretty well and it'll make you think twice about those innocuous sparkly stones that we see everywhere. As other reviewers have noted, the film is excellent, but the sanitised, saccharine Hollywood ending spoils what is a powerful film, with an important message. Overall though, I'd say this film is well worth watching, it will keep you engaged the whole way through and is well shot and acted. A directors cut without the last five minutes would be great!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, shocking and sure to get you thinking, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. Patrick A. Harrington "doublethink" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Diamond [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a moving and powerful film. It is set in the war-torn Sierra Leone of the 1990s. Here diamonds were a way of financing the purchase of arms by the rebels in a vicious civil war. From the start this brutality is not concealed or avoided. We see a tranquil seaside village suddenly invaded by RUF rebels (see note after review). They hack off the hands of many in order to frighten people from voting. Others are simply killed or press-ganged to work for them in the diamond mines or as child soldiers. Solomon Vandy (Djimon Hounsou) is separated from his family and taken to work in the diamond fields. His son Dia (Kagiso Kuypers) is taken as a child soldier.

The engine of the action is Solomon's attempts to free and reunite his family. He finds and hides a pink diamond of great value and hides it and this provides both a danger and an opportunity. The diamond could help him to rescue his wife and daughter from a life in refugee camps and his son from brutalisation and perhaps death. Or he could be killed in pursuit of it or by others wanting it for themselves.

Enter Danny Archer (Leonardo DiCaprio), a jaded, cynical Rhodesian and former South African mercenary. He wants the life that the diamond could give him. He helps Solomon reluctantly in return for being led closer to the diamond. Director Edward Zwick says: "To me this movie is about what is valuable. To one person it might be a stone; to someone else a story in a magazine; to another, it is a child. The juxtaposition of one man obsessed with finding a valuable diamond with another man risking his life to find his son is the beating heart of this film."

The character of Archer is not one-dimensional - as the film progresses we see that his attitude to Africa and Africans is complex. We also learn a little about his childhood and upbringing and perhaps understand more of why he is as he is.

Maddy Bowen (Jennifer Connelly) accompanies and helps the two-men on parts of their journey. She is in a privileged position as an American journalist. She wants to use Archer to expose the truth behind conflict diamonds.

The film works as a straight action story but it is more than that. There are some heavy political issues being raised. The World Diamond Council (backed by De Beers) is so worried that they are spending £7.5m to counter the inevitable negative public impression the film creates. De Beers also sponsored the head of Def Jam Records (and jewelry manufacturer), Russell Simmons, to tour well run sites in Africa. The industry is also offering to pay money to charity for every Star who will wear diamonds at the Oscar ceremony.

This reaction is curious. The film ends on a positive note (perhaps unrealistically) with the creation of the Kimberley Process. This actually exists and is meant to ensure that conflict diamonds are no longer offered for sale in affluent countries. It was signed by 40 diamond producing nations in 2003. Yet there is strong evidence to suggest that it is being actively circumvented. At the International Press Conference held in London the stars and makers of Blood Diamond took the view that consumers had a responsibility to check that purchases were not conflict diamonds. Leonardo DiCaprio said:- "You can ask for some authentication that it isn't a conflict diamond. Buyers should just use their judgement and ask the right questions."Of course they are right but even if every consumer asks questions there is no guarantee that they will not be misled. Still we reproduce below some questions you might like to ask.

Blood Diamond also raises questions about the exploitation of natural resources and the relationship between affluent and developing countries. The Director, Edward Zwick, pointed out that wherever natural resources have been discovered (oil, rubber, ivory etc.) local people have generally far from benefited. There is one scene in the film when an old man surrounded by dead bodies and burning homes says 'Thank God we don't have oil'.

Blood Diamond is a film that will entertain you, sometimes shock you and certainly get you thinking and talking about important issues. It's refreshing that a major studio (Warner Bros) backed this film and that Edward Zwick, Paula Weinstein and the others delivered. Go see it and tell your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch for all of us who have bought a diamond at one time or another., 28 Jan. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood Diamond [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A brilliantly acted , directed and cast film about the atrocious conditions endured during the collection of diamonds in Sierra Leone towards the end of the last century and the beginning of this one. Leonardo DiCaprio is perfectly cast as are all the other main players. The film is very violent but it's not gratuitous as the facts speak for themselves and should be a reminder to all of us who have bought a diamond. It's particularly scathing towards large "diamond cartels" who systematically condone the trade by turning a blind eye or laundering such stones and stockpiling them to keep the price artificially high. If you can stand watching how little certain humans regard other human life and you want to be shaken out of your complacency you must watch this excellent film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite A Good Film With Some Gore, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Diamond [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Quite a good film, but quite gory and upsetting in parts. I cried quite a few times. The film is a gritty portrayal of a terrible time in African history. If you can forgive Leonardo DiCaprio his dodgy accent and the odd addition of "eh?" on the end of every sentence, his acting is decent enough and the supporting characters are all believable enough for me. The scenery is stunning and I felt for the characters - it gave me a new appreciation for how serious the trade in conflict stones is/was. (The only slight downside was that I was under the impression that a dishy chap was in it, but the one in question hardly has any screen time at all.) However, it was a good film and I will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Diamond [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
Blood Diamond [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] by Edward Zwick (Blu-ray - 2007)
£6.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews