Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable..but..
This series starts really well, with a genuinely chilling incident of a young woman who suddenly disappears after buying some flowers from a van by the side of the road--leaving behind her children who also vanish. It's really gripping, nail-biting stuff, as we're led into the family of the woman--her husband, parents, friends and contacts. Then the little boy turns...
Published on 11 Sep 2008 by Sophie Masson

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
This is a well-made entertaining show. Starts out with much promise but kind of runs out of steam. The character development is excellent but it is at the expense of the plot, which all but evaporates after about the third episode. Great performances pity the storyline couldn't match up.
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Mizer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable..but.., 11 Sep 2008
By 
Sophie Masson (Armidale, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This series starts really well, with a genuinely chilling incident of a young woman who suddenly disappears after buying some flowers from a van by the side of the road--leaving behind her children who also vanish. It's really gripping, nail-biting stuff, as we're led into the family of the woman--her husband, parents, friends and contacts. Then the little boy turns up--and later there's another bombshell. You are really wound up by this time wondering what on earth lies behind it all--
but alas, the solution to the mystery falls rather flat--it did to me, anyway--and it feels rather too lame as well. But then, perhaps this was meant not so much to be a mystery(though the build up certainly suggests that) as the portrait of a family in utter crisis, in the midst of the worst situation you can imagine.
It was certainly enjoyable and well-acted and very well-produced--but I can't give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 27 Sep 2008
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well-made entertaining show. Starts out with much promise but kind of runs out of steam. The character development is excellent but it is at the expense of the plot, which all but evaporates after about the third episode. Great performances pity the storyline couldn't match up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Police Drama, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Hello;

Hugh Bonneville is a fine performance.
Extremely well thought out plot.
The characters where excellently developed.
The raw human emotion came through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth watching, 23 Feb 2008
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this - the casting is brilliant with Penelope Wilton, Sarah Smart, Rory Kinnear all great - though Janet McTeer steals the show as the wise-carcking 40 something sargeant who's seen it all before.

A few quibbles - the reason for the title is a bit misleading, as it actually takes place on 5 days over 12 weeks - also, the ending seems a bit contrived and very rushed - 4 x 50 minute episodes then rushed conclusion in last 5 mins of episode leaving you realing with no explanation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the buy, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
As always the BBC produces another quality product. Its a great story, with an interesting plot and has a beginning, middle and END which a lot of series seem to leave out these days. Worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to watch, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Very good series... The BBc are very good at these.. It was brilliantly acted and photographed Gripping not like Bourne identity, but in a more story-telling and character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
We love this, so much so that we watched it all in one evening. Great thriller that has you hooked from the start. You wont be disapointed with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Dianne E. Hooper "Di" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Great storyline, keeps one interested all the way. I would definitely recommend to all Be on the lookout for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Days-I watched both dvd's from start to finish, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. Gillian E. Marriott (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought these dvd's because I am a fan of Patrick Malahide. Wow..I am so happy that I did. Patrick was marvellous as John, as was the rest of the cast in their various roles. I Wonder why I missed the series when it was broadcast? A quality production which kept me watching from the begining to the end of both dvd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was all part of the ratcheting up of suspense and it was great. Until, 27 July 2014
By 
Ms JG "Ms JG" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
My son and I watched this together, both spell bound and wondering who could possibly have done it. We didn't mind that sometimes there wasn't much "action"; it was all part of the ratcheting up of suspense and it was great. Until...the last 15 minutes of the last episode! WTF? What a cop out of an ending! There was absolutely no rhyme or reason to who it was; no explanation as even WHY they had done it; no exploration of them as a character throughout the whole thing.

Honestly, it was so disappointing. It was almost as though the script writers just gave up, just thought "nah, can't be arsed writing anything more plausible; this'll do." I'm giving it three stars as the acting was superb. It wasn't the actors fault that they were let down by a rushed, inexplicable and implausible ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Days - Complete BBC Series (2 Disc Set) [2006] [DVD]
£7.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews