Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars They all know!!
Philip Shayne (Cary Grant) rich industrial owner, accidentally splashes Cathy Timberlake (Doris Day) out of work computer operator, as his car drives by. He sends his assistant Roger (Gig Young) to apologies. This becomes the beginning of a comedy of misunderstanding, misidentification, and a strange relationship between Philip and Cathy.

Although Doris Day and...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by bernie

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality horribly disappointing
I'm slightly ashamed of my fondness for this movie - but Audrey Meadows ia always a treat, John Astin is wonderfully slimy, and of course the triumvirate of Doris Day, Cary Grant, and Gig Young can do little wrong. Those who remember Richard Deacon from the Dick Van Dkye Show may also enjoy his brief appearances here.

However: I was hugely looking forward to...
Published on 14 July 2007 by Wendy M. Grossman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality horribly disappointing, 14 July 2007
By 
Wendy M. Grossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Touch Of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
I'm slightly ashamed of my fondness for this movie - but Audrey Meadows ia always a treat, John Astin is wonderfully slimy, and of course the triumvirate of Doris Day, Cary Grant, and Gig Young can do little wrong. Those who remember Richard Deacon from the Dick Van Dkye Show may also enjoy his brief appearances here.

However: I was hugely looking forward to seeing the picture in its original aspect ratio (2:35:1) and was enormously disappointed that this release is pan-and-scan after the titles. The video quality is, as another reviewer said, approximately that of a VHS tape. Given that there are other releases available, do NOT buy this one.

I am also disappointed that Amazon UK seems to make few of these technical details available - they (or at least the US site) used to. We should not have to rely on customer reviews to find out too late we made a mistake.

wg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD Release in wrong picture ratio, 8 May 2006
By 
K. Kirchner "kk" (Heidelberg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Touch Of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
The movie itself is great. But the DVD-Release...

Starts in the correct picture ratio 2.35:1 - although not anamorphic - and ends after the main titles in 1,33:1 Pan and Scan.

The picture looks grainy and dirty. Looks like an old VHS-Fullscreen Master. No extras - not even a trailer - Universal you can do much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - Not Widescreen, 3 Feb 2010
By 
CJM (Cumbria UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That Touch of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this 2007 release thinking that it would be presented in the original aspect ratio.

It's Not.

Parts are 'letterboxed' to preserve split screen effects, etc. but the majority has been cropped for 4x3 TV presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They all know!!, 26 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: That Touch Of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
Philip Shayne (Cary Grant) rich industrial owner, accidentally splashes Cathy Timberlake (Doris Day) out of work computer operator, as his car drives by. He sends his assistant Roger (Gig Young) to apologies. This becomes the beginning of a comedy of misunderstanding, misidentification, and a strange relationship between Philip and Cathy.

Although Doris Day and Carry Grant insure that this is a fun comedy, it is the bevy of other well-known actors that take this to new heights. Audrey Meadows plays the protective big sister type who hears about Mr. Shayne's exploits over the phone. Gig young is Mr. Shayne's go-for and finds out first hand what people and dogs think of him. Don Knotts is a shoe salesman as he is in another Doris day movie [Move Over Darling (1963)]. You defiantly do not want to miss the scene with Everett Beasley's (John Astin) date with Cathy.

My favorite scene is where she falls out the hotel window and is picked up. She says, " I Fell out of mister Shayne's apartment. See that I'm returned"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Want the wide screen version? READ THIS, 28 Mar 2014
The release of this movie by OLIVE FILMS released in 2013 on both DVD and Blu-Ray is the cleaner sharper looking print with the full wide, wide screen ratio. Look for that and not this one (or others) if you want to see the movie close to how it was originally released. It has a white cover with the stars heads enclosed by a wedding ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and cheeky Grant and Day pairing., 9 Feb 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: That Touch of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best of Cary Grant or Doris Day, but as a pairing piece it's most entertaining. Directed by Delbert Mann and coming partly from the pen of producer Stanley Shapiro (Pillow Talk & Lover Come Back), it's a brisk, dialogue driven humour laden piece that revels in a sort of smug awareness. Not that that is a bad thing at all, it works; just about. The problems arise within the film's structure if you have grown tired of this sort of formula, even the two main leads themselves appear to be a bit too far down the road to make it a totally excellent comedy (Grant was in his late 50s here), they just about make it an entertaining watch thanks to the cheeky script (Oscar Nominated) as does the efforts of Gig Young (Roger), John Astin (Beasley) and the delightful Audrey Meadows as Cathy's room mate Connie Emerson.

Approach with caution if you are a first time viewer, if you have seen a ream of romantic/sex/comedies then this will have nothing new for you. What it does guarantee is some memorable moments, some sly little jokes and most certainly a cast that owe nobody anything in return for your time. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In her time, Doris Day was an absolute knock out.....see Doris at her most beautiful, 21 May 2012
This review is from: That Touch of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
(THE FILM)
How much should a girl sacrifice to get the man of her dreams? That's the question facing an innocent country girl (Doris Day), who is swept into the whirlwind of the rich and famous when a Rolls Royce splashes her with mud. Profound apologies come courtesy of a romantic business tycoon (Cary Grant) who becomes enchanted with the girl's simple, direct manner and open, honest heart. But he's not interested in marriage...and she's never been interested in anything else. It's a delicious game of cat-and-mouse as working girl and wealthy bachelor pursue each other with hilarious results.

'That Touch Of Mink' is an enchanting romantic comedy featuring wonderful performances from Hollywood favorites Cary Grant and Doris Day. Bouncy dialogue and superb supporting performances from Gig Young and Audrey Meadows earned this dazzling comedy three Oscar nominations, including Best Screenplay
WHAT CAN I SAY?
Two of Hollywood's most beloved stars, Cary Grant and Doris Day, sparkle in a breezy, stylish comedy that's rich with romantic delights.
Cary Grant and Doris Day are at their comedic best in this howling tail that never gets dull.when Doris is on the screen. The film's story evolves when two lives are randomly thrown together - that of a hard-working waitress and a rich bachelor playboy. What ensues is delicious full-on Technicolor Romantic Comedy. As usual Ms. Day looks stunning and Cary Grant gives Rock Hudson a lesson in comedic timing.The script sparkles and the supporting players really add to the total package.
for an Adult Sophisticated Comedy!it is also so engaging as movie -
it is perfect for kicking back and relaxing with for a couple of hours.
why you ask ?
because this is as good as it gets for a Romantic Comedy
IT HAS CLASS,
IT HAS BEAUTY,
IT HAS STYLE
AND ABOVE ALL IT HAS VIRTUE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A middle-aged guy, a young girl: Hollywood's idea of romance, 15 Aug 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Touch Of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this movie a couple of times, but have to admit it's always been a yawn for me. Grant, in my opinion, was showing his age, and -- for a young woman intent on protecting her virginity -- so was Day.

The age disparity between the two actors isn't as obvious as it was with such pairings as Gable/Monroe, Gable/Day, Grant/Caron, Crosby/Kelly, etc., and the worst example, a haggard Cooper with a luminous Audrey Hepburn. But it's still there. And I didn't think there was much chemistry between the two. In Grant's best romantic stuff from the Fifties on, I think he was best paired with women who came across as smart, sophisticated...and who could play with Grant the sexual flirtation games with knowing amusement. I'm recalling Kelly, Bergman, Hepburn, Saint, even Brigitte Auber. That style was never Day's.

In my view, the movie isn't a bust, but it's not a winner, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Feb 2009
By 
J. Bradshaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Touch of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this film many times and it never fails to make me laugh, i just wish Cary Grant and Doris Day had done more films together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Touch Of Mink [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best Doris Day films made. This duo are perfect. Cary grant is brilliant. The co-stars compliment the stars perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That Touch of Mink [DVD]
That Touch of Mink [DVD] by Delbert Mann (DVD - 2007)
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews