Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Jimmy Magic
Apparently, when this boipic was being made, Glenn Miller's fans were incensed as they felt Mr Jimmy wasn't good looking enough to play the role. However, once it came out, for the most part they did an about face, as the resemblence was uncanny. That is due, primarily, to Stewarts ability to *become* his character. In It's a Wonderful Life, he really is George Bailey - a...
Published on 20 Oct. 2006 by Anna

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Endearing biopic without achieving greatness.
This is a very tidy film, it's got intelligence, integrity, and above all else...it doesn't merely rely on great tunes to pass as a Glen Miller story. Perhaps guilty of not fully fleshing out Miller's workaholic pursuit of the life changing sound, it manages to portray very well the grind of being on the road, and essentially it doesn't soft soap the defining moment of...
Published on 23 Mar. 2013 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Jimmy Magic, 20 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
Apparently, when this boipic was being made, Glenn Miller's fans were incensed as they felt Mr Jimmy wasn't good looking enough to play the role. However, once it came out, for the most part they did an about face, as the resemblence was uncanny. That is due, primarily, to Stewarts ability to *become* his character. In It's a Wonderful Life, he really is George Bailey - a man who feels he has nothing to live for; in Harvey, he really is talking to a 7ft white rabbit - to the point where you can almost see him, too. This film is no different. He *is* Glenn Miller, with all his lovely Jimmy charm.

There are a few scenes in here where you can tell Jimmy Stewart's laughter is spontaneous and genuine, and for those parts alone it's worth getting the film. The script *is* funny, and both Jimmy and June Allyson (who died only a few months ago) had genuine comedic talent. Once you hear Allyson's exasperated "Well, honestly" you'll positively *look* for reasons to say it, too.

It's a delightful film, from start to finish, notwithstanding the sad ending. In terms of the Stewart compendium, it's a hidden gem. In fact, apart from Anatomy of a Murder, it may be the gemmiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Musical Film Ever, 6 Aug. 2007
By 
ray dorrity "ray dorrity" (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
If I could I would give this movie 100 stars.
It is a classic example of where fiction overtakes fact and the fiction becomes fact.
Everything about the movie is flawed, including June Alyson's 1953 "A" line skirts, black and white soldiers marching together in 1943 (the US army was totally segregated then), a B29 parked in the background when the plane only came in service in 1944, the pre 1801 Union flag (without the red cross of St. Patrick) in the BBC studio and again hanging from the "castle" wall as the V1 was exploding as the Miller band carried on playing. However, only a sad b*stard like me would spot all this stuff!
It has all the sterotype Hollywood castings. The Jewish benefactor, the "best friend" (Harry Morgan from Dragnet and M*A*S*H)
I should hate it, but I LOVE IT, I LOVE IT, I LOVE IT!
Forgetting all the 1950's Hollywood crap, it's Glenn Miller's music that makes the film and James Stewart IS Glenn Miller.
I fell in love with Glen Miller's sound when my older sister took me to see the Herb Miller Band (Glenn's brother) in the middle 50's. It was made up of a lot of the original band and even at the age of 10 I became addicted.
Over the years, I have worn out Vinyl, 8 Track and Cassettes and I am currently playing a CD to death.
I've had the movie on Betamax, VHS and now DVD.
If you don't have this movie, then you may need some serious professional help.
Don't spend big bucks on a psychiatrist, buy the movie and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technicolor and Widescreen !, 4 Sept. 2010
By 
I. E. THOMAS (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
Despite Amazon listing this Old Favourite as being in Black & White, it is of course in Color. In fact it was one of the last films to be made using the Technicolor three strip camera + I.B. printing. This would have meant that the Original camera ratio would have been 1.33:1 (4:3) - but this DVD is in anamorphic 1.85:1 (16:9) ~ However at the time it was made there was a scramble by Exhibitors to instal new W I D E R Screens to keep up with CinemaScope and regular films were mercelessly cropped to fit. I must admit that nobody's head or feet appear to be chopped off so maybe the film was framed with plenty of headroom and legroom. If the film is ever restored and issued as a Blu-Ray Special Edition it should be in the original Format of 4:3 so that the viewer can tinker with the ratio himself.
Loved the film when it first came out and have been a lifelong Miller Fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Endearing biopic without achieving greatness., 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very tidy film, it's got intelligence, integrity, and above all else...it doesn't merely rely on great tunes to pass as a Glen Miller story. Perhaps guilty of not fully fleshing out Miller's workaholic pursuit of the life changing sound, it manages to portray very well the grind of being on the road, and essentially it doesn't soft soap the defining moment of Miller's career as the swing sound is literally stumbled upon by accident.

James Stewart plays it safe as houses as Miller, it's perfect casting when you think that Miller was such a big household name, something of an American treasure it would seem. Though it should be noted that historians say that the sweet Glen Miller portrayed by James Stewart is not quite in keeping with the real man's persona. Regardless of any character liberty taken, director Anthony Mann crafts a very watchable tale, Stewart and the ever watchable June Allyson as Helen Miller ensure it's a very professional piece, and I dare anyone to not start tapping their feet to those wonderful tunes, but I still think that we are waiting for the definitive Glen Miller picture, some 50 odd years later. As for the ending? Well if it's played out as fact then it's a wonderful finale, but if the makers shoehorned "Little Brown Jug" into the end purely for romanticism? Well that could be construed as dangerously sugar coating what should be a sombre ending to the story. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miller Magic, 17 July 2010
By 
Michael S. Stewart "michaelstewart" (Bushey Heath, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
The storyline is good although it is a rather 'sanitised' and somewhat sympathetic reading of the Glen Miller character who was not quite the kindly and amiable musician portrayed in this film.

Nevertheless the story moves on nicely with the major characters well portrayed by stalwarts June Allyson and James Stewart. The whole production nicely directed by Anthony Mann.

If the film seems a little dated and pedestrian, it should be remembered that the film is now over 50 years old and under these circumstance, I feel it still deserves its acadamy award.

But for me it is the Miller music that is the real star of the film, a collection of classic numbers beautifully played. Of particular merit is the Tuxedo Junction sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden and Good Oldie, 30 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
Excellent nostalgic film. It's plot is slightly creaky but James Stewart in his own special way saves the day. The music is robust and enjoyable and even has some of Miller's work as played before he created his "Sound". It also has amusing moments that show even a trombone playing band leader can be a star. This is a good sentimental tribute to a man who was taken too early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sugar coated story but music still great, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Mark (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
Alright, so this is Hollywood and - as you might expect - they've taken a few liberties with the story of the great Glenn Miller. However, the film is still superb entertainment in that glossy, sugary-sweet style so typical of the era in which this was made.
Jimmy Stewart as Miller and June Allyson as his wife turn in great performances and Stewart is uncannily believable in the title role, even though he's so well known for other things.
I guess if you're buying this film, you're also a fan of the music and its as good as ever. I bought the soundtrack to this film almost 30 years ago on vinyl, and, if I remember correctly, the studios got together many of Miller's band for the studio recordings, and its a top notch band on the film soundtrack. (I think it won an Oscar for the sound recording). Whilst the recording quality is not up to today's digital standards, a lot of progress had been made by the mid 50's when this was recorded, compared to the early recordings of the Miller band from the 30's and early 40's so actually the sound quality is pretty decent.
I think my favourite scene from the film is when miller is in a club and is 'invited' up onto the stage to join in with the resident band. A band that just happens to include some of the foremost musicians of the day, including Louis Armstrong and others. Its pure Hollywood schmaltz but its great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rosy-coloured but enjoyable romantic tale, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful movie, a real feel-good, romantic, rosy-coloured story, telling the story of Miller, the composer, arranger and band leader. Made in 1953, it has all the sentimentality one would expect of the period, though its gushing romanticism works very well 60 years later (it is 2013 as I write this).

James Stewart was perfect for the part of Miller, though his warm-hearted nature is at odds with the rather less sugary reality of Miller. He gives a genial performance beside the equally well cast June Allyson as his wife. The story skips through the man's life in just 107 minutes, and punctuates it with many of his best-known hits. Using Little Brown Jug as a surprise ending is a cheeky liberty with the facts. The tune was in fact an early Miller hit, not a posthumous release. I can see why the studio plonked the tune in at the end, making a tidy link to a romantic device planted early in the movie, but it reminds us that this is a Hollywood movie, not a documentary.

Although this is part of the James Stewart Collection of movies, there are no extras on the DVD. That's a pity because there must be a story to tell about how this great movie was made. Still, for tear-jerking romantic drama with the inevitable ending, it's hard to beat this 1950s marvel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL FEELGOOD MOVIE, 26 April 2006
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] (DVD)
Prabably not Stewarts best movie but definately one of his most likeable ones that you can watch again and again and appreciate the excellent music and story.

There needs no explanation, the story is a biopic of the life of famous band leader Glenn Miller and his search for that special sound. Stewart plays the part beautifuly and even looks like Miller which really helps us in reliving that era.

Definately a film worth watching time and again,you know exactly what is coming up but the quality of acting and story makes this one a jem.The only disappointment are the extra features or lack of them,this is such a famous film that i am sure there are hidden moments that could be added. Look at the DVD of Capras brilliant Stewart film "Its a wonderfull Life" the extras improve ones understanding of that amazing film.

Possibly its an opportunity missed but donot miss this film.

If for some reason you have never seen this Stewart classic its a film well worth buying for a history of Millers music and life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate entertainment, 18 Jun. 2005
By 
Miland Joshi (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
I first saw this film on TV 20 years ago and am very pleased that it has come out in a crisp DVD version. James Stewart gives a very watchable portrayal of the struggle and triumph of the famous American musician, while June Allyson gives a moving performance that shows that her star on the Walk of Fame is richly merited. The film contains some of Miller's most famous compositions like In the Mood - the climax of this in the film against the background of a German air raid is heartening as well as causing the audience within the film to cheer and applaud. A very enjoyable way to spend the afternoon (or later).
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Glenn Miller Story [DVD]
The Glenn Miller Story [DVD] by Anthony Mann (DVD - 2007)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews