Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a Monster....but there you go, 23 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
It's depressing reviewing the re-issue of this album. Slade's last album of all new material released in 1987 to total indifference. I remember buying this at the time and being completely bowled over with it, it is stuffed with great tunes, their best ever production (and the Jim Lea produced tracks stand the test of time the best, 20 years on). And the songs..."Still the Same" is wonderful, should have been a massive hit, with a fantastic vocal by Noddy, "We Won't Give In", "She's Heavy", "The Roaring Silence" - all great songs. Holder wrote in his autobiography that the album was finished in record time....very hard to believe given the lush production. The bonus tracks are excellent and again contribute to the notion that Slade were recovering some edge; "Wild Wild Party" and "Gotta Go Home" are excellent and the ZZ Topesque "Don't Talk to Me about Love" is superb. With more development this would surely have been a big hit. Most of the material here is so good we'll have to forgive the absolute tripe of "You Boyz Make Big Noize", a shameless Beastie Boyz rip off, here presented in no less than 4 mixes. Oddly as with the "Rogue's Gallery" reissue, the running order on the packaging and CD do not match. A curious quality control lapse by Union Square. If only this album had succeeded, if only "Still the Same" had got a few more radio plays, maybe if Chas Chandler had still been in the managment chair they may not have put drivel like the "You Boyz" single out (which didn't actually feature on the LP), if RCA had kept the faith.....If they has taken a break a few years earlier, maybe there would be still be this 4 man Slade today. It is sad that this really was the end of the line, save for a last Salvo in 1991 with the excellent singles "Radio Wall Of Sound" and "Universe". There must be more unreleased material out there; what about their version of Aretha Franklins "Respectable", recorded in the '91 sessions? "Another Win"....the Bernard Frost/Andy Miller song that Quo recorded as well? The elusive "Love Is......"? What we woudl all really like is the Reading Show COMPLETE and the BBC sessions they did for Richard Skinner in 1981.....Oh well we can but dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would put it in the top 3 slade lps., 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
This was the last studio album (that I know about) that Slade did and From this lp three singles were taken from it,"Thats what friends are for","Still the same" and "we wont give in",and this track on side one sums up Slade to a tee but after this lp they did!! but they followed this album with a couple of greatest hits albums. The album tracks on both sides are good I cannot say there is any bad tracks on it. Highlights include "Still the Same","Love is like a rock" and "Wont you rock with me". Just dont take my word for it just go and get it.. This album was the best since "Flame" in 1974.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but grows on you, 11 July 2007
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
Not everyone will like this: it's not as rocky as their early days, and it's their final, softer offering before they bowed-out for good. There are even keyboards!

But I give it 5 stars due to the superb songs: Jimmy Lea never fails to come up with great melodies. You think you have heard them before but you haven't: the sure sign of a master songwriter!

The whole feel is uplifting and the tunes are catchy. Slade ended on an optimistic, feel-good album. Just like how they started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered and available again...at last!, 18 Feb 2008
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
I can't state how happy I was to find out the Slade catalog is now remastered. Not just reissued, but remastered with extra tracks too. Slade is one of my all-time favorite bands, and this CD along with Kamikaze/Power Supply are my favorite CDs. I originally bought this album back in 86/87. With so little promotion here in the States, I kept this along with my other Slade CDs in safe storage for fear I'd never be able to replace them if they got damaged.

I just bought this through Amazon.co.uk and these new remasters are fantastic, and the bonus songs are incredible. I'm hearing Fools Go Crazy for the first time (here in the States the original release had You Boyz instead) and it is a real treat, like hearing brand new material for me.

One last request, in *foolish hope* that anyone connected with Slade reads these reviews... With the internet age upon us and music labels no longer the god of all decisions, I really hope Slade can get back together and push out some new music online, much like Jim Lea's Therapy album. It can't be completely out-of-the-question, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slade - You Boyz Make Big Noize: Remastered & Expanded, 11 Dec 2008
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
The Salvo reissue series of Slade's original albums logically concludes with You Boyz make Big Noize, their last album, released in 1987 to a largely indifferent record-buying public who were more into effete electronic bands that dominated the charts.

It's sad that the series concludes with this album for a few reasons; firstly, Slade should have carried on to make more albums, secondly, it shows that they were clawing their way back to their best studio sound for some years, and finally, I guess we want a lot more reissued music and video from Slade. More exists, but is unlikely to ever be made available legitimately.

This has been an exemplary reissue program in many respects - the fans have been involved and listened to by the record company all along and we have got just about what we want in all cases.

The booklet with this CD is illustrated by a series of fun photos of Slade with Betty, the cleaner at Wessex studios. She is the lady who originally coined the album's name (by way of a chance remark about what a big noise Slade made) and eventually the single of the same name. An informative narrative of the period in the group's career is once again written by Chris Ingham. Don Powell candidly shares his feelings about the record and the state of affairs in the group.

The music:

'Love is like a rock' was chosen to head off the album. Chosen by Jim Lea, it was not an original Slade song - it was an odd start to the album. Jim may have thought it sounded like Slade and it was definitely a good, bombastic start to the album, but.....

'That's what friends are for' was a single and on this remaster, sounds the best it ever has. The bass end is definitely restored to how it should sound. Catchy and melodic, this song should have been a contender.

'Still the same' is one of Noddy Holder's most wistful lyrics ever. If it is about his own life in any way, it is a brave and revealing piece of work. A beautifully arranged backing track and a tremendous vocal make this possibly the stand-out track on the whole album.

'Fools go crazy' is a lightweight piece of bouncy rock fluff, with a great Nod vocal and chugging guitars to the fore. Jim's keyboards drive this song - a reflection of the fact that Slade were now completely studio-bound, with Nod refusing to play any more live shows.

'She's heavy' features keyboard bass parts and probably some sequenced drums. Very 80's technology! Massed vocals on the verses make Nod's solo vocals stand out as a refief when they are used and the track sounds like the kitchen sink has been thrown at it. Good lyrics about a big fearsome woman!

The guitars on the excellently catchy 'We won't give in' are heavily reminiscent of Nik Kershaw's carefully sculpted single, 'Wouldn't it be good' and and the song is a joy to hear. Again, Slade resort to massed vocals on the choruses, to get an 'anthemic' feel.

'Won't you rock with me' is again dominated by computer drums and a synth bass. Nod's vocal is all that rescues this silly little song from the mire. Filler.

'Ooh la la in LA' was the obvious choice for a hit USA single release - but it was not to be. Catchy and brilliantly performed, with all the references to the LA scene that they could squeeze in.

'Me and the boys' immediately reminds the listener of 'We will rock you'. The lyrics refer to one of Nod's pet hates - bouncers, as well as the lads night out. Acoustic guitars, HUGE drums and a slightly Big Country-esque feel work well.

'Sing shout (knock yourself out)' is a few minutes of irresistible pop madness. This song bounces and careers off the walls while not saying much, and borrowing from 'Summertime blues' amongst others, to be honest, but what a great tune. Great arrangement. Great fun.

'The roaring silence' is apparently based on a Simple Minds keyboard riff and Nod writes a suitably manly lyric about being insatiable, etc. Massed vocals tend to remove any impact that Nod's vocals would have had. Filler.

'It's hard having fun nowadays' is a mid-paced Slade anthem that yet again features massed vocals.

The bonus tracks:

The wonderful 12" extended version of 'Still the same' makes the listeners spine tingle. It really is THAT good.

Every possible permutation of the title track, 'You boyz make big noize' is here, along with the truly excellent rockin' b-sides 'Gotta go home', 'Don't talk to me about love' and the 'Knights and Emeralds' track 'Wild wild party'. The album is topped off with the 1988 remix of 'Let's dance'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Boyz Make Big Noize, 14 July 2011
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
Slade are without a doubt one of the UK's most underrated rock bands. It comes with great sadness that this 1987 effort was their final studio album. It only made #98 in the UK, despite being one of their finest radio-friendly albums. With Slade's high-charting, glam rock days far behind, the band continued throughout the 1980s releasing some very underrated material.

The great thing about a Slade album is that each one is so obviously Slade, and yet each one has its own identity, and slightly different variation of the Slade sound. You Boyz Make Big Noize takes this up a notch - each song here stomps out a different variation of Slade. The band sound works nicely in a polished setting, and is naturally still as infectious and rowdy as ever. Noddy Holder's vocals are wonderfully raspy, and the band play their part effortlessly. The incorporation of keyboards adds warmth and texture to the band's sound - it recalls their 1970s hey-day, but with a 1980s production. All the more surprising the album failed to become a big hit.

A song like the cover of the Donnie Iris hit Love Is Like a Rock is bombastic and powerful, and the same can be said about tracks like the feel-good She's Heavy, the biting Won't You Rock with Me and Ooh La La in L.A., Me and the Boys and It's Hard Having Fun Nowadays. Then you have the mid-tempo numbers and ballads; the light, pop-rock of That's What Friends Are For, the lush, gorgeous and emotive Still the Same, The Roaring Silence, and the inspiring We Won't Give In. Fools Go Crazy and Sing Shout (Knock Yourself Out) are particularly memorable tracks, with great keyboard melodies, although all the songs are undeniably catchy. Each chorus ends up nagging the listener silly for weeks.

The Salvo remaster of 2008 not only freshens the sound of the album in a most excellent way, but features nine bonus tracks. The three B-Sides Gotta Go Home, Don't Talk to Me About Love, and Wild Wild Party, are all groovy, burning rock numbers, and the non-album title track single is a decent Beastie Boys-type rap-rock number, with a chorus that screams classic Slade. Finally the bouncy 1988 remix of Let's Dance (from the 1985 album Crackers) is wonderfully infectious and the keyboards add a great, vibrant energy over the party atmosphere.

What a shame the album failed to put Slade well and truly on the map once again, like it should have. A lack of promotion from RCA Records (for example, no music videos were filmed for the album), and the fact that Slade were unfairly ruled out across the general public meant such an album was quickly forgotten. The album doesn't try to be the classic Slade of the 1970s, and the band's ability to consistently evolve, and come up with new themes for their albums was always impressive. Very much a case of you don't know what you've got till its gone, this is one album of the 1980s that has stuck with me since I first heard it. The songs are simple in nature, but Slade's knack for a catchy melody, sing-a-long choruses and a big, anthemic sound, never fail to entertain. This core theme is what makes You Boyz Make Big Noize such the pleasure it is to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If" and "only" - why wasn't this a monster hit?, 16 July 2008
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
I agree with other reviewers this is a great album. I'd also stress the variety with real rockers being balanced by more mellow tracks. On which topic I really don't know how Still the Same failed to be a monster hit - it's brilliant, even my wife likes it! If you have any interest in Slade and don't have this album the "Buy It"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slade at their rocking best., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
What a shame this was their swansong as it was one of their best. There was always more to Slade than the "Merry Christmas" dirge. A good, solid rock band, sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sorry that you,ved stoped making big noize., 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
the albumb,s great, the songs are stronge and heavy, the ballards are soulfull and smooth, what is there not to like about slade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan for years, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Boyz Make Big Noize (Audio CD)
Loved Slade for 40 years so this album just adds to collection. Wish the original lineup was together again. Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Boyz Make Big Noize
You Boyz Make Big Noize by Slade (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews