Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!
Beyoncé - Live At Wembley is a must-have music DVD. As a lifelong Beyoncé fan, I'm bound to be biased, but there's no doubt that this woman knows how to dance, work the crowd, and belt out a tune while she's at it!
There are lots of tracks on here to keep Beyoncé fans occupied, including a few new ones - Fever and Summertime - and the old...
Published on 13 May 2004 by tomkatz4

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure
Well I bought this as I am a fan of Beyonce,but I must say I was a little dissapointed. Don't get me wrong,is a great product but these were her old songs and I preferred her new stuff.
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by David


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!, 13 May 2004
Beyoncé - Live At Wembley is a must-have music DVD. As a lifelong Beyoncé fan, I'm bound to be biased, but there's no doubt that this woman knows how to dance, work the crowd, and belt out a tune while she's at it!
There are lots of tracks on here to keep Beyoncé fans occupied, including a few new ones - Fever and Summertime - and the old favourites. There's a DC Medley, which has the likes of Bootylicious, Bug-A-Boo and Say My Name, and of course then there's Beyoncé's solo hits. The performance opens with 'Baby Boy' and finishes with her signature tune 'Crazy In Love', with other tracks from her multi-platinum 'Dangerously In Love' album in there as well. Personally, my fave on it has to be 'Naughty Girl', but you judge for yourselves!
The VIP Admittance area on the DVD has a few cool bonus features on it. They include an interview with Beyoncé, an update on what Destiny's Child are up to (new album Autumn 2004 all you DC fans!), talking with the fans, and a typical day in Beyoncé's life, which consists of an early start, followed by rehearsing, TV performances, movie premieres, and by the end of it, our fave diva looks exhausted!
On the bonus CD there are some new tracks, plus a remix of 'Crazy In Love', I think there are five or six songs on it in total. To be honest, these are nothing remarkable, but you might as well give them a listen!
Overall, Beyoncé - Live At Wembley is a cool little DVD to have, and with the skip button, you can see Ms. Knowles performing your fave track if you can't find your Beyoncé album! And one thing is clear - if she can perform like this, she sure as hell ain't going anywhere soon. Beyoncé is here to stay, and this awesome DVD proves one simple fact - that she rocks! : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved It, 3 July 2005
By A Customer
I really wish i had been at that show, the dvd is great and the concert seems electric with an amazing atmosphere, you can feel it just from watching. I'm not a huge R&B fan, but i am a huge DC and Beyonce fan because they actually were the first artists i got into. (Okay i admit, it was their looks i first noticed, but their talent and charisma that i love.) B shows with this DVD that's she's not just an amazing artist but also an amazing performer, as like i've said the concert is just phenomonel.
The bonus CD is also quite good, the remixes are quite unneccesary, and i think take a lot of the soul out of the music (if it ain't broke - don't fix it) That said, if you're having a party they might be good. What's It Going To Be and My First Time, are also pretty good, although i can see why they didn't make it into the album because they aren't extrodinary. However Wishing On A Star is amazing, i first heard B sing a little of this in the advert for her True Star perfume, but didn't know where to get it. It is a classic song, and i would argue B sings it much better than the original. (It has some of that Crazy In Love spark and soul)
In conclusion, if like me you are now kicking yourself that you have never seen her live in concert and you may have to wait years until your next oppurtunity, BUY THIS DVD. And if you don't, you should buy this DVD anyway, because it's really enjoyable and just good fun. The conversation with Beyonce is also really good. (she has a really warm smile which keeps you smiling too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 10 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't take life tooooo seriously like the reviewer below me you will enjoy this DVD, and even more so if you enjoy the songs. Beyonce IS an entertainer not a serious artist like Amy Winehouse but definately an all round artist who CAN sing, dance, get the crowd going it's all about letting your hair down, forgetting your worries and having fun nothing more and nothing less!!!!!

But of course if you are serious about your music then buy Amy Winehouse and not Christina Aguilera!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Solo Tour Quite Captivating!, 11 Oct 2012
This DVD + bonus CD not only includes the classic first solo tour of Beyoncé but it has a VIP section that explains the music, the rehearsals, dresses, overall backstage, tour details, and an in depth one on one with Beyoncé The Bonus Disc is not exactly the tracks I had in mind [disliked My First Time] but it was nonetheless, a decent effort. Overall, the extras and concert were smashing, grand, and to the comparisons of being a classic to watch for decades and decades like the old times with Frank Sinatra, Ginger Rogers, and others!

Everything was carefully produced to include fast up-tempo songs in the beginning like "Baby Boy" in which Beyoncé opens the show hanging upside down with a stunning Middle-Eastern outfit made by her mother with cloth from India that depict their culture along the music that has a bit of Arabic styles. It was an impact of a banging start. From there you get more up-tempos tracks like "Naughty Girl", and a quick costume change to a very elegant classic tuxedo cut with hat and shorts outfit of Beyoncé singing "Fever". She was completely on the mark in the singing, dancing, confidence, and choreography. That would be one of my favorite numbers for sure! Later there's the other typical songs many are familiar with like "Hip Hop Star", "Work It Out", and "Speechless". Standouts would be the "Yes" number as the girls are on a bar and the feeling is a Broadway type. Also quite intriguing was the number titled, "Gift From Virgo" as she is coming down from the sky. The Destiny's Child Medley done solo by Beyoncé in clips was a bit lacking. Without Michelle or Kelly and done pausing so much was a bit of a stop to the excitement.

"Me, Myself, And I" had a beautiful impacting message for the women or men to feel strong and secure with yourself, to love yourself, and to never feel that you can't handle any storms. She delivered powerful vocals and the performance was smashing and grand! A beautiful break was the ballet dancer duet in which a pair of dancers do nicely choreographed ballet movements and kiss in the end right before Beyoncé sings, "Dangerously In Love" in a beautiful dress definitely stunning! She ends with the catchy, infections, "Crazy In Love" bringing the crowds in awe for more and getting them wild. It was a grand first solo performance definitely to have for years and years to show to your other generations or friends.

The dresses and costumes were beautiful, the stage production was excellent, the music --a bit too slow for my taste, and the messages behind the music --pretty average. On the whole, it was entertainment and classic timeless masterpiece performances with elegance, distinction, and hard work! I found The Beyoncé Experience - Live! to be more to my satisfaction as I could relate to the music a lot more, the beats were much more up-tempo, and the appearance of Michelle and Kelly in the Medley added to the show. Also Beyoncé seemed more confident and happy on the second. Either way, this won't disappoint because it has a diverse style for those who enjoy slower soulful R&B with much changed musical styles, versatile choreography, Broadway appeal, and much fabulous eye candy!

The Bonus CD includes the following tracks: Wishing on a Star, What's It Gonna Be, My First Time, Krazy in Luv (Maurice's Nu Soul Remix), Baby Boy (Junior's World Mixshow), Naughty Girl (Calderone Quayle Club Mix)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure, 20 Jan 2012
Well I bought this as I am a fan of Beyonce,but I must say I was a little dissapointed. Don't get me wrong,is a great product but these were her old songs and I preferred her new stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fauls advertisment 2004 dvd, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyonce - Live at Wembley [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
we orderd what was advertised and what we thought was the 2008 dvd but if you really look close up on the dvd you will see it says 2004 this is fauls advertisement and her early dvd is not all that good so i will be looking out for this seller in future as my daughter is really into Beyonce and is disapointed in this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating!, 19 April 2006
Beyonce definitely needed more time to perform at Wembley, and, definitely a better team -- especially a better costume designer and choreographer... She's too excited and awkward most of the time and the costumes are a disaster, especially that yellow dress. And yes, she has a good voice and good songs but she hardly ever sings on stage; all she seems to do is shaking her butt and screaming "i love you!" at the audience. If you want to buy a *real* concert dvd for your collection, i'd say go for Christina Aguilera's "Stripped" and you'll know what i mean by *real*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW FANTASTIC!, 13 May 2004
this is beyoncés biggest fan (i promiss i wont be biased) first of all: have you read the other review.. what a load of bull!!! i was also at the beyoncé concert in november (2nd night - when this DVD was recorded) and it was the most fantasic concert!she did a stunning preformance of every track and her dancing/live singin was fantastic(AS THE DVD SHOWS!).. obviously the girl that wrote the other review had something in her ears and eyes or it was just the wrong time of the month for her.. BEYONCÉ ROCKS OK! BUY THE DVD EVEN IF YOUR NOT A TRUE FAN BECAUSE IT WAS SUCH A FANTASTIC PREFORMANCE FROM START UNTIL ABOUT A WEEK AFTER WATCHIN IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A superstar who needed more time to put a show together, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
This DVD has not yet been released in the UK (so obviously I haven't seenit yet), and perhaps with some good editing it will have glossed up thewhole show, but I was in the audience close to the stage for her secondWembley concert last November (which we were told was being filmed forthis DVD) and I wasn't that impressed. I had been really looking forwardto seeing Beyonce do her Tina Turner-esque thing on stage, particularlyafter watching her on TV bringing the house down at so many awards shows,but the whole concert seemed to have been put together too quickly andlacked the cohesion that you would expect from a major artist’s tour.
When Beyonce got her lungs and legs going on some of the songs you couldsee what the buzz was about, but many other parts of the show left uswondering what on earth was going on. The Destiny’s Child medley wasfrustrating – just as people got into a track it would abruptly stop –whilst some of the songs from Dangerously In Love just didn’t cut it live. Beyonce did her best to keep us going, but with large tracts of emptyseating at the back of Wembley Arena the atmosphere was lacking. The onlymoment when everybody really got into it was right at the end when sheperformed Crazy In Love, a truly great track that is at its best whenperformed live. However, the DVD may well feature the performance fromthe night before when Jay-Z joined Beyonce on stage – the night I wasthere she was without her man.
Having been blown away by Christina Aguilera performing at Wembley theweek before (which was also filmed for her own yet-to-be-released DVD) Icame away from the Beyonce concert feeling a little cheated, particularlyas the tickets cost twice as much. That said, I really hope she comesback to the UK once she has sorted out her solo live act (which presumablyshe has for her US tour) as I would love to see her do what we all knowshe is capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyonce - Live at Wembley [DVD] [2008]
£5.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews