Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality grower
This is a weird one. It's one of the albums which, when you listen to it for the first few times, doesn't exactly grab you, but somehow you know it's good, and further down the line you're gonna love it. I saw them do Teddy Picker and 505 on Later last night and found myself saying Blimey, these really are good songs." And so they are.

So, if this album doesn't...
Published on 5 May 2007 by R. Rutter

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MMMM, not sure
I think I might get slated for this but am I the only person who thinks the first album is a whole load better. Don't get me wrong musically it is tight, flawless infact. They have obviously come on leaps and bounds but something is missing. OLD YELLOW BRICKS, TEDDY PICKER and BALACLAVA are the exception to the rule. One thing I liked about the first album was the...
Published on 10 Dec 2007 by Paddy


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Best band around at the moment, 28 April 2007
Loved the first album and this one is even better. Saw them in Birmingham, they are one of the few bands who sound better live than on the CD's. The drummer is amazing. They are not overhyped they are just flippin' good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLANT, 21 April 2007
ill admit, i wasn't really into this cd when i first heard it but now after a few listens...its prolly my favorite release this year so far. this house is a circus, balaclava and do me a favour are my favorites but there really isn't a bad track on the cd. only ones who know is a pretty dece song but im not sure how well it fits on this cd.

arctic monkeys are easily the best band to come out in the past 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic Monkeys, Sheffield gods, 29 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There hasn't been a singer/songwriter whose warrented the title of yobbish, penultimate singer songwriter in the genre of hard knock britain since paul weller (moz werent yobbish enough), and paul weller didnt have the same sense of dry irony, wit, likability, or humour that pervades every delicously northern, gritty chav-cool lyrics as does this cheeky little sod from sheffield who looks more like he works at Tesco then front man, top guru, of the world's best band.

Mate, you're a god. Not only did they manage, with Brianstorm, to at least match themselves with 'whatever people say i am...,' which one could rightfully expect to be next to impossible, but they've managed to make so call 'hard knock' origin bands like Oasis look like posh schoolboys.

I love it when old fools like Keith Richards rant about how bands 'like arctic monkeys' are 's**t,' when quite simply, truth be told, bands like the Stones were nowhere near as good then, or now. I for one never bought a Stones record in my life, nor I have bought any Beatles. How many people can claim that.

Brianstorm, the track, is a hilarious concept, apparently inspired by some weirdo who crashed their dressing room at a venue - they had a brainstorm, or, brianstorm, to try to figure him out afterwards. Should have taken his photo and put the nutter's face on the cover of their single, but that's just bad art direction at play, scant to do with the monkeys i suspect.

Track 5, flourescent adolescent, begins with the most deliciously naughty line, now so trademark of alex and all that's inside his wicked little head 'you used to get it in your fish nets, now you only get it in your nightdress' - is just simply superb. only he can rattle off lines like that and manage to make every woman, and some men i reckon, with a pulse, swoon. we all love our bad boys, dont we.

every song by this band - the pacing, the lyrics, the melody, the guitar playing that makes you want jump out your second story window and fly, in lustful, catharic bliss - they know how to work it, and they dont falter at any point.

i said it before and i'll say it again, arctic monkeys will go down in history as one of the most memorable, and loved, bands on the planet.

i werent an old tart, i'd be mad for him. spots and all.

ps - when i write im not writing to be 'helpful' if that means spoon feeding babies with scant knowledge about music with some dire, dorky, track by track analysis, so you can refrain from clicking the dorky voting buttons, cos frankly, i don't give a s**t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album, 22 Jun 2007
By 
Richard Webber (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this album is an improvement on the last one which noone thought possible. i hope the arctic monkeys are around for decades to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second album from the pub band, 27 April 2007
By 
R. A. Smith "raysmith" (Sydney, AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The saying "don't believe the hype" is so true when talking about this band. Many people raved about the first album and it had one or two strong tracks, the rest were pub band sounds with attitude. This album follows the same trend, there are no remarkable improvements, but it will still be a success in terms of sales. How long this trend continues is a tough guess, but I can't see these guys lasting more than 4 albums. Yes the tracks are short and to the point filled with angst, but this was all done a long time before by other bands such as The Jam in their very early days. I'm sure this band have some talent, but not to the extent of being a major success story. I would gladly pay five quid to see them at my local, but nothing more than that. Lets hope the third album sees them actually step out of the pub band mentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sealed, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Favourite Worst Nightmare (Audio CD)
This CD was listed as new but when it arrived it wasn't sealed. Therefore, for all I know it could have been used. Quite disappointing as it was a present for someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype!, 15 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. B. Mcmillan "Bazalinhio" (West Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reviewing this album I feel rather like a jury member in the OJ Simpson trial - so much hype means that everyone has an opinion before they have even heard the evidence. The anticipation that preceded this release was almost akin to when the Stone Roses' "Second Coming" was finally given a release date. Almost, but not quite.

Putting all the hype to one side, the album blasts straight into action with all the force of the A-team in their prime - once BA's flight pills had worn off, of course. "Brianstorm" rips through the walls and blows the house down just like, as the band say themselves, the "unforecasted storm". It sounds like the Arctic Monkeys, but cranked up from 10 to 11. At this point you begin to actually believe that maybe, just maybe, a band could, for once, live up to the hype.

"Teddy Picker" continues the trend by giving a reminder of "Fake Tales of San Francisco" but again, cranked up a notch. The lyrics are, as is always the case with Alex Turner, interesting and open to interpretation. This song ends with the line "Who'd want to be men of the people when there's people like you?" The lyric is, in keeping with much of the rest of the album, mainly about sex. Does the reference to "Teddy" refer to underage sex? Perhaps we'll never know - and maybe it's best if we don't open that can of worms.

Thankfully, in amongst all of riffage and whirlwind drumming, there are still some moments of genuine charm, the like of which first attracted this writer to the band. "Fluorescent Adolescent" sounds like a younger brother of "Mardy Bum". The lyric is just as cheeky as the musical content of the song ("She likes a gentleman to be gentle. Was it a Mecca dabber or a betting pencil?") and it all comes together to produce the album's outstanding track.

"Only Ones Who Know" is that strangest of things - an Arctic Monkeys track without drums. It relies on ghostly guitar sounds and, in the midst of all else, doesn't really work. The song is rather like the Strokes' "Ask Me Anything", in that it sounds like it took a wrong turn and ended up in the Arctic Monkeys' catalogue by accident. This track actually marks the beginning of a low on the album from which it never really recovers.

The next track to stand out is "This House Is A Circus". The line "we're struggling with the notion that it's life, not film" could be meant to mean many different things but perhaps it best illustrates that Turner himself has been living in a bubble, created by the media. In many ways, he is living in a movie, or perhaps a movie diary, where his every move is documented and analysed. It could, therefore, be difficult for him to step out into the real world.

The album closes with a second quiet number, "505". This song is perhaps more fitting than "Only Ones Who Know" in that musically it sounds like it is signalling the end of something, perhaps the end of Turner's own movie. It is not, however, the way a truly classic album would end (listen to "I am The Resurrection" to find out how it ought to be done). It may, though, signal a change of direction for this band, perhaps they have taken things as far as they can in this genre. Will their "difficult" third album contain influence from Sinatra or the Sugababes? Time will tell.

Overall, the album has some excellent tracks but a few that fail to capture the attention of the listener. It will never be given "classic" status but is a good addition to their debut album. "Favourite Worst Nightmare" falls short of expectation and is not the album the world has been waiting for. Never believe the hype. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Joyless racket, 22 July 2007
I really tried to like this and listened to it twice, but that was too much. Musically it is much weaker than the first album, the guitarists concoct some of the dumbest riffs ever, which would be OK if it was paired with dumb lyrics, in a sort of Ramones style, but instead we get the relentless smart alec, smugness of the lead singer. Every song seems to have the same joyless message, 'you thought you were smart, but you're not' ('not like me, lead singer of the Arctics'). There's one catchy song, track 5 (?) but the lead singer is too tuneless to make anything of it. Again the band seemed to have switched to more of a heavy metal sound in parts, which at times makes the whole project reminiscent of Spinal Tap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic second album!, 2 July 2007
By 
Mark Shaw "CreweRed" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is excellent and well worth buying if you like the genre! Stand out tracks are Brainstorm and D is for Dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars token blue guy's review on favourite worst nightmare, 12 April 2007
i urge u not to review this album until u give it a proper listen. i got a copy of this album 3 days ago(i usually don't get illegal copies of albums but i was going to buy this anyway when its released and i didnt give a copy to anyone else) and was a bit disapointed, i was going to write a negative review then but decided to give it more of a listen. i honestly cant imagine how i did not love every single track on the first listen, maybey it was because i was expecting somthing different! at any rate this album is top and i urge you all to buy it even if you did not like the first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Favourite Worst Nightmare
Favourite Worst Nightmare by Arctic Monkeys (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews