Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strumpet City.
Strumpet City [1980]
I grew up in Dublin the forties/Fifties and I had no problem relating to the Dublin of the earlier period in this excellent presentation of the book of the same title.
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Mr. R. Power

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles for deaf = NO
The quality of the film is good, no problem with that, and I had seen the film years ago and had enjoyed it.
The 3 stars are due to this film not having subtitles for the deaf, so I could not follow the dialogue, so, if like me, you need the subtitles then do not waste your money on this item.
There is no indication on the item description that it lacks...
Published on 23 Nov 2012 by Lizlass


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strumpet City., 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. Power - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
Strumpet City [1980]
I grew up in Dublin the forties/Fifties and I had no problem relating to the Dublin of the earlier period in this excellent presentation of the book of the same title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strumpet City, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. T. Mcglinchey (Portadown, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this when it was on TV in the 80's, was reminded about it, so had to check it out again. If you want to know what it was like back in the day in Ireland, you will enjoy both the drama and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strumpet City DVD Reviewed, 11 Jan 2010
By 
P. O'connor "Libra" (Limerick, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD is based on James Plunkett's iconic novel of the disparity between rich and poor in the Dublin of the early 20th. century. The screenplay is wonderfully adpated by the late Hugh (Jack) Leonard which captures the essence of the book which covers the period 1907 through to 1913, culminating in the great labour struggle led by Big Jim Larkin. In that year the teeming masses of the Dublin working class took on the might and wealth of Dublin's employer class, duly backed by the Royal Irish Constabulary.

The story unfurls with the arival in Kingstown now re-named Dun Laoghaire of King Edward V11 and follows the lives of a dozen or so characters. These range from the well-to-do Bradshaws to their servants Miss Gillchrist(who experienced the Great Famine of the 1840's and courted a young Fenian)to her young apprentice Mary who loses her position through 'company keeping' for which she is cruelly dismissed! The story follows Mary and Fitz, her trade unioin activist husband as they settle in to a troubled life in the tenements of Dublin.

Written about Dublin just a few years after Joyce's Bloomsday, the city's streets and bridges are recaptured as they play host to the poverty, community spirit and working class struggles of the period. The conflicting roles of the Catholic Church are disclosed through the characters of the three priests in the inner city St. Bridget's parish. The parish boilerman, Rashers and his faithful canine companion, Rusty occupy the basement of Mary and Fitz's tenement, which has the grandiose title of Chandler Court.

Rashers earns the title of 'Bard of the Revolution' from the romantic Pat Bannister for his compositions in support of the Larkinites. The DVD is based on 7 RTE(Irish TV) series screened in the early eighties to commemorate the Dublin Lock-out of 1913. There are 5 star performances from Cyril Cusack (Parish Priest) and David Kelly (Rashers) while Peter O'Toole (Jim Larkin) and Peter Ustinov (King Edward V11) make highly impressive cameo appearances. The running time is 360 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must see this film, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb film based around foundry workers affected by the Dublin lock-out. I read the book some years ago and was surprised at the quality of the film version. The humanity and dignity of these hardworking people living in poverty throws into sharp relief the greed and lack of empathy of the factory owners. The role of the catholic church which successfully prevented the workers sending off their children to families in Liverpool who had offered to look after them during the lock-out is also exposed. Jim Larkin, played by Peter O'Toole, shows what a force a good union leader can be. Excellent performances, though if you blink you will missStrumpet City [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] Peter Ustinov who plays a cameo role as the king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality drama, 15 May 2014
By 
P. G. Foxe "Gan Ainm" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
This is the RTE series complete with 6 hours playing time. It is a faithful rendition of the excellent book of the same name. The production quality is high, and the character actors are well played and involving. It is played a bit theatrically which suits it well. If you've ever watched a Catherine Cookson adaptation on TV its that kind of quality and attention to detail. The late David Kelly is the scene stealer as 'Rashers' an almost destitute elderly man and the whole exercise is full of melodrama, passion and a very affectionate portrayal of the working class of Dublin City of the period(1913) The strange thing is the decision to play some of the characters with an English accent; not just the Protestant upper class(who would have had Irish accents) but some of the Catholics too! Even the young priest is played with an English accent which is almost laughable! One of the best series I have ever seen and am sorry to have finished it! Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Kelly's finest hour, 3 May 2012
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this when it was shown during the early days of Channel Four. Some stand out performances - Peter O'Toole (very briefly) from a boat; Cyril Cusack superb as the embittered, bullying priest. The star of the show was undoubtedly the late and very great David Kelly. May he rest in peace.
A very poignant series which superbly encapsulates the life and politics of Dublin in the years before the Rising. It's not often that a production based on a book is as good as this.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT THIS THAT OTHERS HAVENT SAID ALREADY EXCEPT THAT YOU WOULD WANT TO LOOK HARD TO FIND PETER USTINOV IN THIS MINI SERIES , I THINK HE GOES BY WAVING AT THE BEGINNING OF IT AND THATS IT. AND YET HE IS PUT UP AS ONE OF THE MAIN STARS. ADVERTISE THE WEALTH OF IRISH TALENT THAT WENT TO MAKE THIS A WONDERFUL AND TOUCHING EXPERIENCE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strumpet City, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this wonderful series many years ago and was thrilled to be able to get it on dvd. I really enjoyed watching it again and was pleased to share it with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring story, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very interesting and compelling account of the great hardships the people of Dublin, and Ireland underwent in the depression and the great character acting enables us to become absorbed in their lives and learn much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles for deaf = NO, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strumpet City [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of the film is good, no problem with that, and I had seen the film years ago and had enjoyed it.
The 3 stars are due to this film not having subtitles for the deaf, so I could not follow the dialogue, so, if like me, you need the subtitles then do not waste your money on this item.
There is no indication on the item description that it lacks subtitles...again!!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strumpet City [DVD]
Strumpet City [DVD] by Tony Barry (DVD - 2007)
£8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews