Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comes to HD
I have always had a weak spot for westerns and love the westerns of Clint Eastwood and as such this has always been a favourite of mine, the sub text of the supernatural setting (is he the ghost of the slain marshal or his brother) would be worked into his later work (Pale Rider)to better effect.
I am watching this while typing and I can honestly say I am very very...
Published 13 months ago by S. R. Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Darker Western For Eastwood
This is a darker Western for Eastwood to ride into, and was only the second of his directorial efforts after ‘Play Misty For Me’. The tough-talking hero is present, but more often than not he is played as the anti-hero; a man who is violent and guilty of rape, all in the first 20 minutes of the film opening. Eastwood plays a man whose’ actions are...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. C. Gelderd


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comes to HD, 16 Sep 2013
By 
S. R. Williams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always had a weak spot for westerns and love the westerns of Clint Eastwood and as such this has always been a favourite of mine, the sub text of the supernatural setting (is he the ghost of the slain marshal or his brother) would be worked into his later work (Pale Rider)to better effect.
I am watching this while typing and I can honestly say I am very very impressed, you can see this has been remastered and not just upscaled ala Two Mules or Joe Kidd (both of which are a vast improvement over their DVD counterparts) the picture is as sharp as you would expect, the colour vibrant, the scenes set at night stand out and are pin sharp (a problem with DVDs and some Blu Rays) the sound has been remastered into 5.1, which does sound clearer than before but doesn't make any real use of the back speakers so do not buy this expecting your cinema surround system to get a work out as it will not.
what you are buying this for is the vastly improved picture quality and this delivers on all counts.
For a product being labelled as a 40th anniversary edition you will be a little disappointed with the extras, or rather the lack there off. This edition has a solitary trailer. I would like more Clint Eastwood movies to come with some outstanding extras or even a retrospective documentary or two but to be honest they have always been a little lacking in that department but as I want my movies on the best ever format with the best possible picture and sound I am more than happy with this release. I am not going to review this movie what is the point High Plains Drifter has been out there for 40 years so you would have seen it in one format or the other.
The only real question being is this worth getting again and I have to give a resounding yes put your hand in your pocket replace your old DVD or VHS you will not be disappointed, enjoy I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground Breaking, must-see western, 25 July 2002
By 
This review is from: High Plains Drifter [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of the western genre then this 1973 masterpiece directed by and Starring Clint Eastwood breaks new ground.Clint re-works his character of "The man with new name" to give him a similar handle "The Stranger" but creates a new niche in this particular sphere by surrounding his star in mysticism yet creating an almost Gothic-Western with a chilling storyline.Straight from the outset the camera work is of exquisite quality following the slow horseback trail of "The Stranger" who almost floats into town to the glares and inquisitive looks of the small village of Lago.He finds himself the central character in a village with a dark secret who are in fear of attack from a gang responsible for the Horse-whipping to death of a previous marshall.After shooting dead some unsavory characters and raping a local woman the townsfolk take the unusual step of hiring the stranger to "protect their interests" in the local mine.From the off a midget (played by Billy Curtis) befriends the stranger and becomes his aide, firstly providing mundane tasks such as lighting his cigars before he is promoted to mayor later on.The Stranger uses his new position in the town to the limit and in preparation for the return of the violent gang seizes the opportunity to give the town a more chiling but appropriate new identity.The entire village is painted red, renamed "hell" before The stranger literally dissapears in a heat haze underlying the mythical and gothic elements in his character. Awaiting his imminant return the anxious villagers grow restless among themselves about their new recruit and they also begin to feel the pangs of guilt over the death of the marshall.The strangers response is clinical and justifiable on the behalf of the townsfolk and the gang who return to plunder it, but to the memory of the marshall it seems that his death albeit a savage one was not in vain.This film includes a strong cast,many of whom were to return to act alongside clint in his "Every Which Way....." series. The camera work is extremely effective and the result is a seriously watchable at times comical and overall a really classic film of its generation, including one of those famous Clint lines.....A rowdy mob confront him at the start in a saloon and tell him that "Drifters dont usually live long in lago.....they usually find life a little too quick for them"Clints response- "IM FASTER THAN YOU WILL EVER LIVE TO SEE" before shooting them one by one and walking out.Note In(your) Diary- Must see film before I Die!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stranger returns, 27 July 2009
By 
Daniel A (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Plains Drifter [DVD] (DVD)
Definitely a classic. Clint is in his element, once again as the Man with No Name, but this time there is a more mysterious and somewhat deeper persona. No longer the bounty hunter, this time his presence signifies justice and is centred around the town of Lago, where years earlier a young marshal was murdered in full view of the town's occupants who idly stood by. The Stranger ensures that everyone, those who were directly responsible and those who did nothing, will suffer for their respective sins.

Eerier and lacking the comfortable silliness of the Dollars' trilogy, this packs a moral punch, though not necessarily one that will accord with all tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great western by the hands of Eastwood himself, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Sebastian Haselbeck "SebH" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER might not be of the high quality a "Fistful of Dollars" may be, this is surely a film you should pick up. It marks Eastwood's second film as a director and he certainly proves that he had guts enough to make this a tough western movie in the tradition of his "Man with no name" predecessors.
Once again, Eastwood plays an unnamed stranger, riding into a town that bears trouble. Quickly sucked into the local tensions, he gets hired by the town's inhabitants to track down the source of evil. Of course, how else should it be, he ends up being the avenging angel bringing very DEADLY justice to the criminals.
HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER is a serious piece of western-movie entertaining to the last minute. Eastwood shows that it doesn't need the name Leone to deliver a solid western.
The DVD itself offers decent quality and a great cover for the collector enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Urghh, He Sure Had A Lot Of Blood Left In Him, Didn't He...?", 26 July 2008
By 
This review is from: High Plains Drifter [DVD] (DVD)
'High Plains Drifter' is my very favourite Eastwood movie (and that's saying something). I especially like the dark humour and ambiguity, but in truth, there's not much I don't like.

You just know something bad is gonna happen the minute you see him appear through the desert heat-haze in the eerie title sequence, and by the time the film ends, with the same shot in reverse (a la 'the Searchers') something bad has!

In between, we're treated to much violence, sexism, adultery, hypocrisy and general wretchedness from the Lago townsfolk, and they're the victims!
These people are dire, far worse than the actual villains, (who are gold-star nasty in a traditional sense.) they stood and watched as their sheriff, the only honest character in the film, was whipped to death in the street.

In essence, 'High Plains Drifter' is a cross between 'Witchfinder General', 'High Noon' and 'the Omen', only with lashings more unpleasantness. The main difference; there's people to cheer for in those films - there's no-one here. Even the 'hero' is a cruel, merciless killer, who is himself in no moral position to deliver salvation OR retribution to the cowering townsfolk.

And who is he? The murdered sheriff's avenging kin? His ghost? The devil? The plot leads us up all the various avenues and alleyways but in the end, it doesn't really matter. We're just glad that everyone who deserves retribution - gets it!
The doing-good-via-bad cliché is hammered home, but again we don't really care. We know right will out, however perversely (and hopefully brutally!) because Eastwood's with the programme.

Visually, the films superb. The town appears condensed, like a vacuum, especially when Eastwood demands it be painted red. It's not the traditional homely Western hamlet, which deserves to be defended by brave men for whom it's worthwhile giving their lives. It's a bleak, soul-less outpost, desperate and afraid of it's own shadowy secrets and the fact they're returning to haunt it when it thought they were buried with the sheriff.
Bruce Surtees camerawork effortlessly conveys this - and more.(let's not give Eastwood ALL the credit) We get a very real sense of the artless, cuboid structures and the creepy inhabitants deserving each other.

Performance-wise, Eastwood plays Eastwood with a twisted comic bravado (he knows he's distorting the western myth, by subverting the very iconography and legend that built it in the first place), he prowls the streets like Ann Coulter on the look-out for liberals; a cold glint as another low-life bites the dust.
Geoffrey Lewis is grotesquely brilliant as the drunken, heartless, leering chief-baddy, and the rare Verna Bloom is handsome and sassy as the rebellious wife of one of Lago's slimy conspirators.

There's blood by the bucket; roaring gun-fights; an inevitable,(but well-staged) all consuming fire; seriously nasty whippings and there's even a squalid, squeaky-voiced dwarf who, along with some 'pesky injun savages', are the only people to benefit from the 'drifter's' brief tenure.

'High Plains Drifter' is a delirious amalgam of all that's small and sleazy in our sugar-veneered world.
A cynical, yet not completely hopeless vision of mankind in general, which is as valid and relevant now as when Eastwood shot it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars is the man with no name also in this, 30 Mar 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
high plains drifter was directed and of course starred clint eastwood as a man without a name,clearly a reference to the role that eastwood played in the leone triple decker western series in the 60s,the character he plays isnt the exact same man by any means but there are nodding similarities.

Clint plays a man that is a law unto himself,drifts from time to town ,not hurting anyone but clearly not a man to be kissing babies and waving at crowds of people either.

When he visits a town that is in the hands of ruthless outlaws and as a result the town has lost its identity,the character of clint decides to stick around and help rid the town of its vermin but clint needs help so he reaches out to the townsfolk to help him destroy the threat.

The film works on many levels and when the infamous scene where the people of the town paint everything red and clint renames it hell then its clear that the blood will spill,the direction of film making style that clint settles on with this is one of beauty,drawn out shots,wide shots of the surrounding area and so forth are all implified,the film is faster paced than the style of leone for example and the outcome here is great,all round a special movie then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Clint - Long Live Cool!, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Marils (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Plains Drifter [DVD] (DVD)
Sara - "I knew you were cruel but I didn't know how far you could go."

The Stranger - "You still don't."

-------------------------------------------------------------

Sara - "You are the kind of man that makes people afraid, and that's dangerous."

The Stranger - "It's what people know about themselves inside that makes them afraid"

I only have limited space in which to store DVD's, so I choose the ones I do purchase carefully. Choosing High Plains Drifter was an easy decision, as it has all the attributes of a great western and a good flick. The barren landscape is as haunting as the opening music. A tale is told, a situation resolved, and yet a bit of mystery remains, causing you to question what you have just seen.

Classic Clint...

The cast does a very fine job in creating characters that fully support the premise of the movie and portray the towns dynamic. From beginning to end, however, it is Clint Eastwood as "The Stranger" who is the star and makes the movie memorable.

Eastwood is the quintessential strong/silent type, a soft-spoken man of few words who explodes into action to deliver justice, whether to a gunslinger or an insolent woman. The character, however, is more than squinting, delivering one-liners, and pulling the trigger. He's a thinker, a planner, he creates a psychological advantage against the bad guys... whether it be using dynamite or red paint. He can also turn on the charm, using those famous blue eyes to twinkle and speak without dialogue, as Vera Bloom (Sara Belding) discovers first hand.

The DVD...

The DVD comes with subtitles in 14 languages (Including English) and spoken languages in English, Deutsch, Italiano, French, and Castellano.

The menu allows you to search by scene, and includes production notes as well as a theatrical trailer and information about the cast.

I knew I wanted to own a copy of High Plains Drifter, but it was not until I saw it again that I realized that I had forgotten how good it really is.

I wish that I could give it 4 1/2 stars,

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adults Only Cinema- With one hell of a twist!, 7 April 2008
I've seen all the greatest western action movies ever made, from Josey Wales to The Wild Bunch. This is my favourite of the lot.

THE PLOT:
The Drifter (Eastwood) is hired by the residents of a small town in the middle of nowhere to protect them from a gang of ruthless, sadistic outlaws. However these towns folk hold a dark, mysterious secret of their own. This movie has one hell of a twist if your smart enough to figure it out!!

REVIEW:
The movie starts off slow, with little dialouge for the first half hour or so. However this simply helps build the tension, with short but sadistic outbursts of violence helping engage the viewer.
Many have critized the film for being too stylized, and in some parts too explicit for its own good, with prolonged scenes of rape, gun fights and slashings which may disturb some viewers. However it is no more violent then it should be.

Adults Only.
5 Stars.
A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERIOR AMERICAN WESTERN IN THE STYLE OF LEONE'S SPAGHETTI WESTERNS. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IF YOU CAN STOMACH THE VIOLENCE., 14 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE MOVIE

A drifter (Clint Eastwood) rides out of the desert into the lawless, sin-ridden town of Lago. He makes a name for himself after a gunfight at the barber's when three thugs try to take him out and fail miserably.
Lago, a town of cowards, has a dark past, involving a man who was brutally whipped to death by a group of three gunfighters, the Carlin Brothers. The townsfolk double-crossed the Carlin Brothers, landing them in prison.
The three gunmen are to be released from prison, however, with a bloodthrist for vengeance that will lead them straight back to Lago. The townsfolk hire the drifter to help them against the men, but the drifter has his own sinister plans for Lago...

HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER is one of the best American-made westerns and the second movie Clint Eastwood directed. Personally I never cared much for The "Duke's" westerns, but preferred Eastwood's rougher and grittier portrayals of the Wild West. John Wayne, however wrote Eastwood an agry letter after the opening of HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER, denouncing the movie for its violence and portrayal of the Old West. Eastwood's character is quite similar to the Man with no name he portrayed in Sergio Leone's Dollar Trilogy. Fortunately he remained true to the superior Italian Western style rather than the watered-down American westerns that were famous in the 50s and 60s.
The movie was a huge success nonetheless, being the sixth-highest grossing western of the 70s in the United States.
Eastwood delivers an impeccable performance in front and behind the camera. Perfectly paced and wonderfully shot on location of California and Nevada. Universal Pictures originally wanted Eastwood to shoot the film on the studio lot, but Eastwood decided against it.
The supporting cast does a great job as well, including Billy Curtis as Mordecai, Robert Donner, Marianna Hill and Stefan Gierasch.
Marshal Duncan is played by stuntman Buddy Van Horn, a long-time stunt coordinator for Clint Eastwood.
HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER was quite controversial in its day (and still is, remaining BPJM restricted in Germany as of 2014 and retaining its 18 Certificate in the UK), it is the first Eastwood film to feature a rape scene, and Eastwood's character IS the rapist. A man is sadistically whipped to death (the scene goes on for almost three minutes!), overall the finale is extremely dark and violent even by today's standards.
The movie has a very dark atmosphere and a great and eerie score to underline it.
If you have the stomach for it, go see it! It is definitely worth it, but HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER is definitely not for the faint of heart.
Of Eastwood's Westerns my favorite is still THE OUTLAW JOSEY WALES, but HIGH PLAINS DRIFTER comes in second.

RATING: 9 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2013 Universal 40th Anniversary Edition US Blu-ray
Feature running time: 105 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 / 16x9
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, French DTS 2.0 Mono
Subtitles: English HoH and Spanish
Extras: Theatrical Trailer
Region: A, B, C (region free)

Picture: A
Audio: B
Extras: F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Rfarrell (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite Clint Eastwood movies. Absolute class. No matter how old you are you wil enjoy this film. The blu ray upscaling is brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Plains Drifter [DVD]
High Plains Drifter [DVD] by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews