Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Stewart at his loveable best
James Stewart just can't take the feelgood aspect of cinema too far. He took us all there with "It's a Wonderful Life" and Harvey is yet another where you are left with that warm glow you thought only christmas infront of a warm fire could provide. This makes the ultimate Christmas gift, to be watched on boxing day it is a film that all the family can truly...
Published on 6 Oct 2000

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A chance gone begging
Ever since DVD came out I have been waiting for Harvey to become available. It is one of my all time favourite films, a real classic. However this issue is one MASSIVE disappointment. The film company have really missed the boat with this one. I have compared it back to back with my video copy and it does not appear to have been digitally remastered. The picture is no...
Published on 19 Aug 2003 by M. Nix


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Stewart at his loveable best, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvey [VHS] (VHS Tape)
James Stewart just can't take the feelgood aspect of cinema too far. He took us all there with "It's a Wonderful Life" and Harvey is yet another where you are left with that warm glow you thought only christmas infront of a warm fire could provide. This makes the ultimate Christmas gift, to be watched on boxing day it is a film that all the family can truly enjoy. Introduced as the slightly barmy character Elwood, James Stewart brings you gently to the conclusion that you shouldn't be wary of all those whose best friend and companion is a six foot rabbit- if anything they are probably saner than you or I. I've seen it a million times and it still worthy of becoming my first DVD purchase. Ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stewart at his best, 11 Sep 2003
This review is from: Harvey [DVD] (DVD)
What a truely great film, stewart plays the part to perfection. I only first saw the film on chrstmas eve last year it was on late on itv, but i loved it straight away and wanted to get the dvd after 8 months i finally got it. What a great film can't wait to watch it again. It has such a great line in it where elwood tells of how he first met Harvey. definetly worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd like to introduce Harvey, 23 Jun 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harvey [DVD] (DVD)
"Well, I've wrestled with reality for 35 years, doctor, and I'm happy to state I finally won out over it." That cheerful comment sets the tone for "Harvey," a movie about a lovable guy whose way of dealing with the harshness of reality is simple: Make his own.

Veta Louise Simmons (Josephine Hull) hopes to arrange a wonderful marriage for daughter Myrtle May (Victoria Horne) in the upper echelons of society. There's one problem: her wealthy brother Elwood P. Dowd (James Stewart) has an imaginary pal, a six-foot-three rabbit called Harvey. After Elwood accidently wrecks a party by introducing Harvey to everyone, Veta decides to have him committed.

Unfortunately, when Veta takes Elwood to the sanatorium, the staff come to think that the fluttery socialite is crazy, and is trying to get her sunny brother out of the way. So they lock her up, and let him go. After that mistake is straightened out, the psychiatric staff and Elwood's long-suffering family try to find him.... and Harvey.

If we ever saw Elwood P. Dowd ("Here, let me give you one of my cards") in a car, the bumper sticker would probably say, "Reality is highly overrated." The big theme of the movie is that reality can be harsh, and that it's not necessarily a bad thing to lapse out of it into the fantasies of our own minds. If Elwood isn't dangerous and is otherwise normal, who cares if he has an imaginary friend?

Is Harvey real? The film leaves that up to our imaginations. And in the end, it doesn't matter if Harvey is a figment of Elwood's imagination, or a friendly spirit. It's the effect he has on Elwood that is important. His presence makes Elwood happy and relaxed, and Elwood makes others happy and relaxed -- even the hard-boiled head of the psychiatric ward, who lies down on his own couch and tells his secrets to Elwood.

This actually isn't too screwballish a comedy -- sure, there's the running joke where Elwood politely introduces Harvey to people he meets. And the scene where Veta is committed is hilarious. But it's more of a heartwarmer than a comedy, from Elwood softening the lead shrink to Myrtle May finding love with a lovable blue-collar worker from the sanatorium.

James Stewart gives a wonderfully dreamy performance, slightly smelling of booze and flowers -- his Elwood P. Dowd is mild-mannered, sweet, gallant, courteous, and oh-so-pleasant. And he's learned the value of just enjoying the little things in life, like a flower, a beer or a talk with a friend. And Josephine Hull brings up a brilliant performance as his frazzled sister, with several other good actors rounding off the supporting cast.

Who is crazier -- the happy man with the imaginary rabbit, or the people who want him to be 100% sane and less happy? You make the call. With a sweet, surreal story and a flawless cast "Harvey" is one of those rare movies that does an unspecifiable number on your heartstrings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Classic, 2 July 2003
This review is from: Harvey [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is without a doubt one of the all time classic comedies.
James Stewart is wonderful,giving his best performance as the blissfully happy,and completely mad Elwood P. Dowd.
The story revolves around his friendship with a 6 foot 3 and one quarter inch invisible white rabbit named Harvey...a pookah.
Elwood's sister and neice live with Elwood and decide that the situation must be addressed.
Josephine Hull as his sister Veda, and Cecil Kallaway as the top psychiatrist give such great support.
It's a film which makes you laugh and smile throughout,with only a tinge of sadness.
A delightful escape from reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, amusing, and naive., 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Harvey [DVD] (DVD)
There isn't much you can say that is bad about Harvey. Jimmy Stewart plays an upper-class man with one slight abnormality. He has the ability to see and talk to an 'imaginary' rabbit named Harvey. He describes him as a Pooka, an old myth of shapechangers and halfmen half animals. This particular pooka named Harvey is a 6ft tall rabbit.
Now it has come out on DVD, it'll be all the more worth it buying this title, for its one that anyone can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A multi-layered treat, 11 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvey [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this movie when I was about seven years old. I thought it a marvellous and convincing story of an adult with a gift for seeing a fantasy figure invisible to all the more ordinary people. I was sure Harvey was real, and was entranced as I waited for a glimpse of him on screen. Seeing the movie again, it seems now to me to be about something else entirely - how do people come to the point where they think they must send the one they love to an asylum for their own good? Can the cure be worse than the disease? Weighty subjects, but handled with delicate humour and grace. James Stewart is the ideal actor for the part. His portrayal of the alcoholic and supremely courteous Dowd is engaging and flawless. And in the end, you will want to live in his world too, where extraordinary and magical things can happen every day, and a little kindness and consideration go a long way in getting through life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harvey - finest friend a man could ask for ..., 13 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvey [DVD] (DVD)
Whimsical - certainly ; funny - absolutely ; touching - definitely; perceptive - without a doubt.
The dialogue is at times stunning. There is not a better film around. I recommend it to you. However many times you watch it ...and I think you will watch it many times there is always something new to spot and delight in. I can't quite remember whether I actually saw Harvey or not ...I guess it depends how much you believe ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That damn 6ft 3" rabbit is as charming as ever., 6 Sep 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harvey [DVD] (DVD)
Elwood P. Dowd is a charming harmless fella, he takes a drink or two for sure, but he's a delightful human being regardless. So why then does his sister want to have him committed to a home for the insane? Ah well you see, Elwood has an invisible friend who happens to be a six-foot-three rabbit!

Faithfully adapted by Mary Chase from her hit Broadway play, Harvey remains to this day a wonderful fantasy comedy that delights all members of the family. It's the kind of film that leaves a warm glow once the credits role, it's basic premise is one of fantastical whimsy as Elwood drives all around him to distraction with his discourse with the invisible Harvey. It's here that the film has a rather naughty streak because Elwood actually appears to be the only sane person on show, all around him is chaos, but he remains calm and completely at peace with his lot.

Starring as Elwood is James Stewart (Academy Award nominated), and it's a very special memorable performance as he carries off with ease the eccentric nature of the character. Stealing the show as Elwood's sister Veta, is Josephine Hull (Aademy Award winner best supporting actress}, completely flustered and effervescent with comic timing precision. Solid support comes from Peggy Dow (why didn't she do more movies?), Charles Drake and the always watchable Cecil Kellaway. The direction from Henry Koster I personally find uneven, at times too hectic when the magic moment has passed, it's as if he was caught between making a screwball comedy or just a basic fantastical one. I often wonder what Frank Capra could have done with this particular adaptation? Still, the film remains much beloved by many, and I'm certainly counting myself amongst that number.

Bless the pooka indeed. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multiple Watches and Still Laugh Out Loud Funny, 3 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Harvey [DVD] (DVD)
A superb film whose main quality is the super sharp lightly handled wit of the script with excellent performance all round especially from Stewart and Josephine Hull- his sister in the film. I came to this from Its a Wonderful life which would be a five star film too but for me this is even better; though they're quite different films other than having excellent scripts and James Stewart.

The film is focused around James Stewart's character who comes across as a gentle pleasant well mannered young man whose following his own way in life and has an invisible friend who is a 6ft plus rabbit called Harvey, yes you read that right.

Much of the humour of course comes from this rabbit and some from the repetition. Stewart always opens the door for Harvey and tries to introduce Harvey to those he meets but is not always successfully leading to some exellent scenes were people take him seriously and of course there's the lengths his family go to not have him meet some people and the misunderstandings that occur. The contrast of sister anxious but sound health to her brothers clam but questionable health is funny in itself but leads to some very funny scene's also. There's an element of farce to some of the events but it not that extreme and the character and situation are the basis of the humour.

Its not just a comedy and there's an element that build during the film, like One Flew Over the Cookoo's Nest, of is he really "nuts" which is a testament to Stewart's performance and the script. His character is also very fond of a drink which adds to the muddyness of the question superbly and we do find out what's going on.

As a side note if you come to this from Donnie Darko they have very different tones. The rabbit and a question are the similarities. Personally I didn't like Donnie Darko.

One of my other favourite comedies is Without a Clue which, whilst being a Sherlock Holmes spoof, also has a sharp intelligent script, though the plot fade a little in the end. The only film I can think to compare it of the time is "Some Like it Hot" which I think is a perfectly fine film to watch but Harvey, or me, is far better with the funnier and for me more mature script (yes there is a bit of irony in that statement with the 6ft invisible rabbit but its true!).

I understand Harvey is based on a play and the script is superbly sharp and witty. I only picked up on some of the many jokes on the third or fourth viewing. If you ever assume old scripts have no life in them or a somewhat of muchness in style then watch this film. In fact just watch it I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HEARTWARMING AND AMUSING VINTAGE CLASSIC, 15 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvey [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I just have to start by saying that I love Jimmy Stewart and I love movies like this. Adapted from a Pullitzer prize winning play, James Stewart stars in this classic black and white 1950 movie as the good natured gentleman Elwood P. Dowd, friend to everybody and in particular his constant companion "Harvey", a 6' 7" rabbit that nobody else can see. Unfortunately for Elwood's sister Veta Louise (in an Oscar winning performance) life becomes more complicated when her mission to find her daughter a husband are repeatedly scuppered time and again by Elwood and his obsession with his best friend. This inevitably leads to Veta Louise deciding to have her good natured brother committed to a mental hospital leading to all sorts of mix-ups, including being his sister being committed instead, leaving Elwood to sort everything out with his kindly and unwaveringly pleasant approach to life.
This is a beautifully written and perfectly acted movie that should appeal to anyone with a heart and an ounce of sentiment. They really don't make movies like this anymore and so this is a perfect addition to a movie lovers library, particularly at this budget price. Other favourites that appeal to my sentimental side and I'd recommend include Arsenic and Old Lace, It's A Wonderful Life (and virtually every other Frank Capra movie) and I'd also add Field Of Dreams to the list of all-time greatest heart-warming movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvey [DVD]
Harvey [DVD] by Henry Koster (DVD - 2007)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews