Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2009
Both Monkey Business and Duck Soup are excellent transfers. Horse Feathers is a little rough but passable. These are the three top M.B. films (all Paramount features). Do not expect Animal Crackers as this is the wrong picture of the box.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Wonderful value DVD and a worthwhile purchase.
Contained here are three of the earlier Marx Brothers films.
The humour of Groucho Marx is timeless and still makes you laugh today.
Some of the songs can grate, but that is really all down to personal taste.
Obviously given their age you cannot expect high quality visuals on these films.
That being said all were watchable, with "Horse Feathers" not quite as good as the other two.
Think it's about time Universal did a major restore Blu-Ray on the Marx's.

IF ANY FORM OF PLEASURE IS EXHIBITED REPORT TO ME IT WILL BE PROHIBITED
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
Excellent humour from a gang of absolute nutters. Even today after all these years we all still laugh, and will for many more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I saw the later, more polished, films in the cinema and these earlier ones are a delight as you watch their anarchic antics under poor direction. they are funnier than the later ones for that reason, since they have more freedom to push the boundaries back than later.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Sometime when you look back You get disappointed. I used to like the Marx brothers perhaps there legend has been destroyed by the constant reference to them such. Such as Grocho's "any club that would have me for a member"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
I had never seen a Marx Brothers film before buying this, but I had seen a couple of clips and am a huge Laurel and Hardy and Charlie Chaplin fan, so am always keen to see more from this era.

I was not disappointed. The Brothers wackiness is a really different flavour to the others, but that's a good thing. Groucho is full of witty one liners, Chico has his own style of one liner as well as a difficulty with English and Harpo is a full on slapstick character.
Zeppo seems surplus to requirements, but serves as a straight man.

The films are pure silliness, but for entertainment value are great. Especially at this price!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Discs arrived the following day despite my having only paid for second class postage. The films are transfers from good quality prints but obviously not full digital restorations. This isn't a problem because the original material is perfectly acceptable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Is it me or are we missing something folks ? These boys' are the finest Musicians ever to don a screen, yet there are no references on any of the reviews. Don't miss this you will never see the like again, such a talented family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
This box set has to be one of the best bits of value around for classic cinema comedy, and it's nicely restored, with decent subtitles. However, it's still worth asking whether the Marx Brothers will survive as anything more than a historical curiosity. The high-power verbals between Chico and Groucho, the surreal flights of Groucho deflecting the stings and arrows of outrageous fortune, the anarchism of Harpo are all now over 70 years old, and though I love them (aged 60) I can't be certain anyone else will.

My partner is 30, and Turkish (pretty good English but lost on cultural references): his verdict, which I think will stand the test of time, is Good in Parts. What he picks up on the destructive quality - especially against authority as in the immigration scene in "Monkey Business" - he knows the value of danger to good comedy. What he despises is the cheap slapstick of falling over chairs, and the interminable links between the good bits.

He loves "Duck Soup", with its push into the kind of territory "Waiting for Godot" makes its own. But that one had a real director, Leo McCarey, which they never had anywhere else.

It's a curious fact about the Marx Brothers that they strictly alternated good and bad movies, for no obvious reason. Animal Crackers - bad; Monkey Business - good; Horse Feathers bad; Duck Soup - Good; A Day at the Races - bad; A Night at the Opera - good.

Me? I love the Marx Brothers and I hate them too. I hate them for being so lazy, careless and unprofessional. I hate them for valuing their talent so low. I hate them for coasting on their Yiddish schtick and never bothering to ask if they could do better. They didn't survive in Hollywood, and they didn't deserve to, though it's a bit of a mystery why they even lasted 10 years. (I exclude a Night in Casablanca, which is a bit of an afterthought, and better than it ought to be.)

These four movies, even the weaker ones, catch them at the top of their game, and if you ignore Zeppo and the musical sequences you can have a lot of fun and vicarious pleasure kicking hell out of all kinds of authority.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
I found this comedy very refreshing as it shows the zany side of comedy came before the Goon Show, and goes back probably to the ancient Court Jesters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)