Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent humour from a gang of absolute nutters. Even today after all these years we all still laugh, and will for many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic product wrong picture, 18 May 2009
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Both Monkey Business and Duck Soup are excellent transfers. Horse Feathers is a little rough but passable. These are the three top M.B. films (all Paramount features). Do not expect Animal Crackers as this is the wrong picture of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and Timeless, 18 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
I had never seen a Marx Brothers film before buying this, but I had seen a couple of clips and am a huge Laurel and Hardy and Charlie Chaplin fan, so am always keen to see more from this era.

I was not disappointed. The Brothers wackiness is a really different flavour to the others, but that's a good thing. Groucho is full of witty one liners, Chico has his own style of one liner as well as a difficulty with English and Harpo is a full on slapstick character.
Zeppo seems surplus to requirements, but serves as a straight man.

The films are pure silliness, but for entertainment value are great. Especially at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy days, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. C. Berg (suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the later, more polished, films in the cinema and these earlier ones are a delight as you watch their anarchic antics under poor direction. they are funnier than the later ones for that reason, since they have more freedom to push the boundaries back than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful value DVD and a worthwhile purchase.
Contained here are three of the earlier Marx Brothers films.
The humour of Groucho Marx is timeless and still makes you laugh today.
Some of the songs can grate, but that is really all down to personal taste.
Obviously given their age you cannot expect high quality visuals on these films.
That being said all were watchable, with "Horse Feathers" not quite as good as the other two.
Think it's about time Universal did a major restore Blu-Ray on the Marx's.

IF ANY FORM OF PLEASURE IS EXHIBITED REPORT TO ME IT WILL BE PROHIBITED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Duck Soup, 8 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
I found this comedy very refreshing as it shows the zany side of comedy came before the Goon Show, and goes back probably to the ancient Court Jesters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great excitement, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
My 10 year old grandson asked me for these as he has been introduced to the Marx Brothers films by his teacher. He lived them all and had great enjoyment watching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Marx, of course, 14 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD] (DVD)
This box set has to be one of the best bits of value around for classic cinema comedy, and it's nicely restored, with decent subtitles. However, it's still worth asking whether the Marx Brothers will survive as anything more than a historical curiosity. The high-power verbals between Chico and Groucho, the surreal flights of Groucho deflecting the stings and arrows of outrageous fortune, the anarchism of Harpo are all now over 70 years old, and though I love them (aged 60) I can't be certain anyone else will.

My partner is 30, and Turkish (pretty good English but lost on cultural references): his verdict, which I think will stand the test of time, is Good in Parts. What he picks up on the destructive quality - especially against authority as in the immigration scene in "Monkey Business" - he knows the value of danger to good comedy. What he despises is the cheap slapstick of falling over chairs, and the interminable links between the good bits.

He loves "Duck Soup", with its push into the kind of territory "Waiting for Godot" makes its own. But that one had a real director, Leo McCarey, which they never had anywhere else.

It's a curious fact about the Marx Brothers that they strictly alternated good and bad movies, for no obvious reason. Animal Crackers - bad; Monkey Business - good; Horse Feathers bad; Duck Soup - Good; A Day at the Races - bad; A Night at the Opera - good.

Me? I love the Marx Brothers and I hate them too. I hate them for being so lazy, careless and unprofessional. I hate them for valuing their talent so low. I hate them for coasting on their Yiddish schtick and never bothering to ask if they could do better. They didn't survive in Hollywood, and they didn't deserve to, though it's a bit of a mystery why they even lasted 10 years. (I exclude a Night in Casablanca, which is a bit of an afterthought, and better than it ought to be.)

These four movies, even the weaker ones, catch them at the top of their game, and if you ignore Zeppo and the musical sequences you can have a lot of fun and vicarious pleasure kicking hell out of all kinds of authority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Collection - Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews