Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACE
I ordered the GlobleSat BU-353 and it arrived the next day.It was well packed.
Had a quick read, told to put drivers in first, so i put the disk in and clicked on install drivers, 30 seconds later drivers were in. I then checked the comport settings in device manager and put them as per instructions. Fired up my mapping prog and spent a long time getting the program...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by M. Riva

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for serious use
Very tricky to get a reliable receiving signal - even after attempting several different antenna locations.
Published 5 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACE, 9 Feb 2011
By 
M. Riva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I ordered the GlobleSat BU-353 and it arrived the next day.It was well packed.
Had a quick read, told to put drivers in first, so i put the disk in and clicked on install drivers, 30 seconds later drivers were in. I then checked the comport settings in device manager and put them as per instructions. Fired up my mapping prog and spent a long time getting the program to work with it.( I did not have the position sentence set to RMC IN THE PROG)
Finally got it working. THE RECEIVER IS BRILLIANT IT WORKS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE GROUND FLOOR FLAT WITH TWO STOREYS ABOVE. After installing it on my laptop I installed it on my net book, it took a total of 4 minutes to install and get the mapping prog to work. The unit is quite light on power as it runs on the low power side of my USB ports. I am very pleased with it and would recommend it to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 10 Oct 2010
By 
B. J. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
A simple device to use. Just install the driver, plug it in, find the COM port it was allocated, assign that and it works. Immediately connected to my chart software with no problems (Software on Board). Looks like it will be an excellent backup to my fixed GPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what is says on the tin!, 16 May 2011
By 
Orrery (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Plugged it in, downloaded drivers for Windows 7 from the website and away it went! No problem.

My laptop loses the connection if it goes into sleep mode, but I guess that it a simple limitation on the USB connection.

Otherwise this is remarkably sensitive - it can be used within the cabin of a sailing boat and will track perfectly week without having to be placed outside. It works well with OpenCPN navigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I purchased this GPS receiver to attach to my laptop which has marine software loaded onto it and then to use the laptop as a chart plotter for marine navigation purposes. It provides a very accurate position (more accurate than the two Garmin units I have on my boat - checked by taking bearings whilst sat on mooring) and thus gives lots of confidence when navigating narrow channels. It's a great buy and I would recommend it to anyone. I steered clear of the later model because of the US software and my intended use is UK/ European waters. I would have given this product 5 stars if they had included some instructions with it, the software CD took some time to get to grips with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little GPS, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Just perfect. Despite the instructions and on-line guidance I still struggled to install at first, so this is how to do it. Install drivers from CD - just click on "drivers", Win 7 will do the rest. Then find the Comm port on your computer and change the baud rate to 4800. The supplied GPS test utility on the CD didn't want to work for me but the one downloaded from the manufacturer's website "support" section worked fine, and there is extra guidance for Win 7 there too. The GPS receiver instantly locked on to satellites and gave the right location, although my desk seemed to be traveling at up to one knot at times.
Very easy to connect to a navigation package too - just Comm port and baud rate to set to match the GPS and it was away, showing my location instantly.
But the strong magnet is worrying - must keep my credit card and ship's compass well away from it.
Otherwise, just perfect. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLOBALSAT BU 353, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (East Yorkshire ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Picks up a signal and holds it quicker than my Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx.With "GpsGate" software seems to work on Navigation Chart Software with no problems. Used this software and hadn't the need to load the driver that's supplied with the GPS. Brilliant for marine use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GlobalSat BU-353 USB GPS Receiver, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Excellent device. Worked first time out of the box (simulates a COM Port after the driver software is installed). Very fast Satellite detection. Fully sealed/waterproofed with a reasonably long USB cable. One side is magnetised to allow easy attachement although it also comes with a small platic sucker device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Globesat BU-353 USB, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Globesat BU-353 works brilliantly in my laptop with Anquet OS 1:50k whole GB digital map software. It's great to know exactly where you are on such detailed maps when driving, shown by a small orange circle.And the map automatically moves as you travel. But you either have to stop or have a co-driver to be safe, as there are no voice instructions as in Tom tom etc. It was easy to set up and worked first time after a scan identified the correct COMM port. A netbook would be more convenient than a laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought one back in April '13 and cannot rate highly enough. Incredibly fast activation and lock on, even if not used for weeks and then taken somewhere else before switching on, which usually throws most GPS receivers for a few seconds.
Very simple to link to my Memory Map software.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works out of the box, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GlobalSat BU-353 WaterProof USB GPS Receiver (SiRF Star III) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Unpack it load the software (comes with Vista and XP drivers and can download drivers for Win7 from the manufacturers web site)

Plug it in set the com port and Baud rate in your Navigation software and away you go!

Quick aquisition and good lock.

A little stunner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews