Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AGELESS DAME SHIRLEY
There comes a time when a Dame has the right to rest and forget the world! Not only because she has earned a rest, but mostly because she has nothing to offer!!! With Dame Shirley Bassey, The Party Has Just Started could be the name of this FABULOUS! album... Perfect new mixes and recordings of her greatest hits, with an edge of timeless modernity. Thank You, Dame...
Published on 11 July 2007 by Jose Carvalho

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Naturally, a must if you love Dame Shirley Bassey
This is not the young Dame Shirley, but it's still an interesting album with a few brilliant tracks. A few tracks are weak (I, for one, believe that Lionel Richie's "Hello" just doesn't suit Dame Shirley's voice), but on the whole it's a nice CD and, of course, a must for Dame Shirley's fans!
Published on 5 Nov. 2012 by danny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
Brilliant the new tracks are excellent and BIG SPENDER is amazing should be re-released on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As suspected I LOVED IT, so Dame Bassey, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
As suspected I LOVED IT, so Dame Bassey, shes incredible and I would love to see her live!!! I know that she would not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe tried too hard, 30 Jun. 2007
By 
Amanda "Say something about yourself!" (KIDDERMINSTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
I love Shirley Bassey's work of the past and I adore 'The Living Tree' and other newer tracks but this album seems to have gone for the wow factor and almost gone too far.

You can tell some of the tracks are not new recordings, but old vocal tracks put over new mixes and at times, it sounds wrong.

BUT, I am glad I bought the album and would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of DSM.

Some tracks - such as 'I who have nothing' and 'I will survive' seem to have a rather bizarre reggae feel at times that in I who... then changes into a sort of Spanish based 'bit' before the reggae sound comes back.

All rather strange.

I put it on in the car on the way home from buying it and played it very loud and enjoyed it.

Just not what I expected really.

I would recommend listening to the sample tracks on her website to get a feel.

All in all, a good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shirley bassey get the party started, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
Fabulous CD, its great to turn up in the car and let rip. Great pick you up. If you like Shirley then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, just what you need to impress your ..., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd ,just what you need to impress your party with style and amazing voice of Shirley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FLAWLESS! DELIGHTED WITH MY PURCHASE - GR8 VALUE - PROMPT DELIVERY - 5 STAR!!, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
FLAWLESS! DELIGHTED WITH MY PURCHASE - GR8 VALUE - PROMPT DELIVERY - 5 STAR!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
Not afraid to mix it up, is DSB. STAR...that's S=T=A=R!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT, 27 July 2007
By 
J. Barlow "Shirley's biggest fan" (Wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
As a Shirley Bassey's fan of over 40 years, and having seen her perform live over a twenty times - I was really looking forward to this new CD. However, I was most disappointed. Whilst her voice is still superb, there are only a couple of tracks that are worth listening to. Most of them have had dreadful remixes and on several tracks the backing bears no relation at all to the vocals. Are the CD producers hoping to appeal to younger folks with the pop, disco-type tracks? If so, if doesn't work - they can't improve on perfection.

I saw the record reviews in the Daily Mail and it got only 2 out of 5 stars, I thought it couldn't be that bad, but believe me, it is. I shall continue to listen and enjoy my original Shirley Collection, but this new one I fear will soon be consigned to the back of my cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
Very good condition. very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good album but not the first new album in 10 years as stated, 30 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Get The Party Started (Audio CD)
This is a fine album, Dame Shirley sounds great........however the description is misleading. This is NOT her first new album in nearly 10 years, her Sony album 'Thank You For The Years' was released in 2003 and had 7 brand new recordings on it as opposed to this album, good as it is, with only 2 new songs and the rest are re-mixes.

I suppose the new record label didn't do proper research..which is a shame and a bit unfair to those who worked hard on her last album.

That aside, it's a well produced album and well worth adding to your Bassey colection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get The Party Started
Get The Party Started by Shirley Bassey (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews