Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made but heavy
The compass is well made with a sapphire bearing and liquid damping. The all metal construction makes it robust but heavy. The instruction book is poor. It is badly printed, describes an earlier model which is quite different and decribes some of the tasks which need an optional attachment which is not cleared specified nor shown.
Published on 3 Mar 2009 by Dr. Geoffrey Brundrett

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A compass with no less than 10 steel parts in its construction
A good basic design somewhat spoilt by a lack of attention to detail. The core compass capsule is very good with a nicely engraved 1 degree scale on the bevelled edge of the compass card. Unfortunately, someone involved in the manufacture of this compass needs to be told that steel is ferromagnetic! The four screws holding the base onto the compass are steel as are the...
Published on 21 April 2012 by C. Mill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made but heavy, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Dr. Geoffrey Brundrett (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The compass is well made with a sapphire bearing and liquid damping. The all metal construction makes it robust but heavy. The instruction book is poor. It is badly printed, describes an earlier model which is quite different and decribes some of the tasks which need an optional attachment which is not cleared specified nor shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very robust, metal bodied, lenticular compass, 12 May 2010
By 
Paul Nicholson (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scale marked in one degree intervals, can be read reliably to half degree,
but the advertised 'integral index line' is not present in the lens system.
Very good bearing and liquid damping. Uses a compass card rather than a
needle and has a fairly deep well so that bearings are not too upset if the
body is not quite horizontal. The compass is not transparent so you cannot
transfer sightings protractor-wise to map in the same way as with a Silva.

Ideal for building work, dish alignment, casual surveying, etc. Very effective
in this role when fitted to a standard camera tripod.

Adequate for navigation but not ideal - heavy and not transparent, but won't
break when you sit on your rucksack. Lens system still works in the dark
when using a head torch. Has a rotatable direction-of-travel scale for
setting a bearing to walk on.

Instructions are extremely small print - you'll need a magnifying glass.
The booklet primarily covers the prismatic version which may cause some
brief confusion.

A good, robust, general purpose compass - tremendous value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-received gift, 1 Jan 2011
By 
E. Tye (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 89461 Compass (Black) (Sports)
I bought this as part of a Christmas present for a 15 year old boy who's a frequent and proficient sailor - in the family boat with his Dad, and with the Sea Cadets. He was genuinely pleased with my choice (made after much uninformed deliberation on my part), and declared that it's ideal for his needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A compass with no less than 10 steel parts in its construction, 21 April 2012
By 
C. Mill (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89461 Compass (Black) (Sports)
A good basic design somewhat spoilt by a lack of attention to detail. The core compass capsule is very good with a nicely engraved 1 degree scale on the bevelled edge of the compass card. Unfortunately, someone involved in the manufacture of this compass needs to be told that steel is ferromagnetic! The four screws holding the base onto the compass are steel as are the four that retain the sighting glass in the lid. However the main problem is that the hinge between the base and the lid involves two steel spring-pins. Once all these steel parts had been replaced with non-ferrous alternatives the compass agreed well with the map plus magnetic information from the Ordnance Survey.

As mentioned in other reviews, the instructions are for a different compass. I would also concur with others comments regarding the shortcomings of the lens system which again can be resolved with a little work.

If you are prepared to spend time grinding spring pins out and machining up non-magnetic alternatives and generally fettling then this is a good compass. Otherwise buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Sam "msaa500" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
wow, this is really an amazing compass. the build quality is very solid, it has everything you need to navigate your way. It looks and feels very professional and sturdy. Cannot say much about its functionality, after all it is a compass, and it does what is required of it. But the build quality, the price, and the design alone are worth getting it for. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont get lost with this !, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Draper 89461 Compass (Black) (Sports)
Total rubbish. Or at least the one I got was. Thankfully I only got it to set a tripod and mount for a telescope. The needle does not ever point to North, it just moves to any position it feels like. I would not like to try and use it to navigate with. And the booklet does not refer to the item I received. And I have to give it one star or this will not be seen. Minus one star would be more like it !.
dougiel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Draper Compass, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Terry Trout "flyfisher" (Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality item which I have used on a number of occasions without any issues. Typical of Draper, you can rely on a good product. The only reason it did not receive 5 stars relates to the instructions, which although detailed the print quality is not ideal, especially if you wear glasses. However, it should not detract from the functional element & this is a nice compass that will last for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some handy hints when first using the compass., 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89461 Compass (Black) (Sports)
Like others have stated, the instructions for using the compass are very poor, but once this is overcome, the compass is excellent.

The first problem I encountered was trying to read the disc, (or disk), when looking through the lens, which seemed out of focus, and the lens seemed firmly fixed without any chance of adjustment using the missing knurled knob, as described in the instructions. The lens will pull out, (although it is very stiff at first), and I found that I needed to pull the lens out about 5mm to get the correct focus, but then the lens became very loose, so be careful of not losing it after taking a reading. I applied a single thin layer of sellotape around the lens barrel after removing it to hold the lens more firmly in place whilst extended.

I also found that with a couple of minutes of practice, it becomes very easy to judge the level when hand holding, and looking through the lens, just by watching the spinning disc float in the liquid, and tilting the compass up or down at the front until you see the disc start to float more freely, you should now see a gap appear under the disc, and then you can use that gap between the floating disc and the fixed base to judge the level,(on mine, the gap was approximately the thickness of the scale). A good indication of when the level of the compass is nearly correct is that you should only see the front edge of the rotating disc whilst looking through the lens, and not the top surface. If you can see the top surface of the disc, (which is usual when first using the compass), the front of the compass needs to be raised until only the front edge of the disc is showing.

As someone else mentioned, there is no line on the lens for reference with the sighting line, and the optical illusion mentioned in the instructions never appeared for me, but the magnification does makes it a lot easier to to get an accurate reading with this compass, far more accurate than with other compasses in the same price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Draper compass, 7 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89461 Compass (Black) (Sports)
Excellent product. Not the actual prismatic version but bearing site function is accurate and easy to use. Solid build and excellent value. Not light-weight and perhaps not for beginners...using a Silva might be first step but they'd want to use your Draper very soon.

Recommended.

JK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice sturdy handheld compass., 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89461 Compass (Black) (Sports)
I use it for setting up a satellite dish when out and about with the motorhome. The damping can be a bit heavy but maybe that's a good thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Draper 89461 Compass (Black)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews