Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folding Shovel
I bought this to put in the car following recent snow problems. Used in once to get me out of a problem whilst all around looked on in envy. Great tool for the locker. This is one I will not lend out to friends or family.
Published on 10 Feb 2010 by Mr. RD Everist

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not exactly what I expected
I wanted to buy the Draper Folding Boot Shovel for my brother since he is a new driver and the winter weather is almost upon us. I bought one last year and found it great in the winter weather of 2010/11.
When I received this item it was quite similar to the item highlighted but not identical. It was a folding shovel but was not of the Draper brand.
There was no...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by EZ


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folding Shovel, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. RD Everist (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
I bought this to put in the car following recent snow problems. Used in once to get me out of a problem whilst all around looked on in envy. Great tool for the locker. This is one I will not lend out to friends or family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ian, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. I. Schofield (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
I got this shovel during a really bad spell of winter weather as I wanted to carry it in the back of my car. As the boot of my car is relatively small ( a Mini ) it is ideal. I have not used it yet to clear a lot of snow but I have used it on a small area. The design is very good as the folding mechanism is straightforward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 30 Dec 2009
By 
B. Cullinan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
Bought this shovel for my husband to have as an emergency shovel when away camping. It has been used once and did the job perfectly so will be staying in our camper for future use. A great little piece of essential camping kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compact and useful, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Ms. F. C. Ross "fionaofnz" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
bought one to keep in the car, especially in winter. Used it several times last winter, but mostly at home, as, after the first heavy snowfall, I had to dig out the garden shed to get the big shovel!
It was also useful to remove snow from bushes and trees, where the big shovel was very unwieldy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Folding Shovel, 4 Jun 2010
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
Its well built so its not going to break the first time you use it, in fact it will last for years, quick-ish to fold, and very compact, but quite heavy being made completly of steel and could also do with being a bit longer, but works well. overall a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not exactly what I expected, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
I wanted to buy the Draper Folding Boot Shovel for my brother since he is a new driver and the winter weather is almost upon us. I bought one last year and found it great in the winter weather of 2010/11.
When I received this item it was quite similar to the item highlighted but not identical. It was a folding shovel but was not of the Draper brand.
There was no mention on any of the documentation that it was a substitute product - I didn't really mind; but it should have been acknowledged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for snow emergencies, 20 Feb 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
Have to be honest, I have had this for about a year, but only had to use it on 3 occasions and they were all to dig snow away from car tyres last year. On one of those occasions the snow had frozen to ice and I had to hammer away at it. The shovel took a bit of a pounding on that occasion, but seemed to be fine afterward. Whilst it was good when the car got stuck in a snow rut at work, it isn't something you are going to be able to dig your car out with as it is very short and I am talking about getting on your hands and knees to dig!

It folds up nicely and takes up minimal space in the boot. the locking collar does the job of holding the shovel ridged, but if you are overzealous with tightening it may be a bit of a difficulty undoing it when your hands are freezing.

Only thing I would have liked to have seen on this is perhaps some insulated padding on the handles - something like neoprene. Other than that it is a pretty handy tool to have tucked away in the car for emergencies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spade-u-like on the move., 26 April 2011
By 
M. Montgomery (EK, Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
Arrived quickly. Nice neat size when folded. Folds and becomes rigid easily. Seems to be really sturdy so far too. Used it a couple of times. Cut through our heavy, soggy soil with ease. Just wanted to test it out before using it when we go camping. Not really a replacement for the normal spade you keep in the garage or hut, the smaller blade would be frustrating for anything large scale, but great for mobile shovelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Summer and Winter, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
With the summer season fast approaching, I do find this shovel ideal for use on sandy beaches. It occupies minimal space, and comes in a travel pouch.

Yet the uses are not limited to summer use only. It is a great tool to have in the car, as many other reviewers have noted. Great for clearing snow.

I have also used it for metal detecting, yet unless the soil is soft there is a risk of damaging the shovel.

The powder coating has done it's job and no signs of corrosion yet. However I do rinse the shovel after using it on the beach.

A truly all year rounder, and not only for emergencies....

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel (Automotive)
Great item in case of emergency, easy fold and takes up very little space, I've used it for stones, sand and snow. Every car should have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Draper 89768 Folding Steel Boot Shovel
£7.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews