Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's hard to tell the difference when they take their hats off...
At last, quality reissues of all the Bonzos' albums - it's hard to believe that the only one previously issued separately on CD was Gorilla. The Cornology box valiantly collected (nearly) all the previously available material into one place but these reissues are the real deal - superbly remastered and packaged, augmented with bonus tracks that are worth listening to...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by freewheeling frankie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time and LP
Once I heard it I realised it was one of the bands CDs I did not like that much altho' it was an LP when I first heard it.
Published 1 month ago by Adele Hathaway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's hard to tell the difference when they take their hats off..., 14 Mar 2008
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
At last, quality reissues of all the Bonzos' albums - it's hard to believe that the only one previously issued separately on CD was Gorilla. The Cornology box valiantly collected (nearly) all the previously available material into one place but these reissues are the real deal - superbly remastered and packaged, augmented with bonus tracks that are worth listening to more than twice, and featuring extremely droll sleeve notes by surviving joint chief Bonzo Neil Innes.

Doughnut was the second Bonzos album, and the first on which they sank their razor sharp parodic teeth into rock music in a big way - while it is extremely diverse stylistically, the music hall and novelty dance band covers and trad jazz parodies to be found on the preceding Gorilla and subsequent Tadpoles are largely absent here - it's their first album to feature entirely original material, all written by Innes and/or Vivian Stanshall apart from Roger Ruskin Spear's berserk Trouser Press.

Nearly every track here is a winner and even the slighter songs are very good. We Are Normal is a superb parody of the then prevalent psychedelic bands, especially Syd Barrett-era Pink Floyd. Postcard spikes mid-20th century seaside resort clichés at a leisurely pace. Beautiful Zelda is an innocent early 60s pop meets sci-fi B-movie fantasy with a fab tune. Can Blue Men Sing The Whites mercilessly punctures the self-important purism of the late 60s white blues boom. Trouser Press is a piss-take of 60s soul rave-ups with completely ridiculous lyrics and a trouser press solo. My Pink Half Of The Drainpipe is a hilarious tirade against suburban bores and banality with a French-sounding accordion backing. And the greatest gem of the whole album is the extraordinary Rhinocratic Oaths, in which Neil Innes's absurd but rather splendid circular music serves as a backdrop for Vivian Stanshall's hilarious and surreal series of spoken vignettes. I particularly love the concept of a hedge being trimmed into the shape of a human leg.

The bonus tracks here are not the best selection on these reissues; they include silly but not spectacularly funny versions of Blue Suede Shoes and Cher's melodramatic Bang Bang and a different mix of their early 45 Alley Oop, all previously unissued, plus the single version of Canyons Of Your Mind (very similar to the album version - was the single really stereo?) and the German version of Mr Apollo, by far the best of the bonus tracks with Stanshall's spoken outro ("once I was a 4-stone apology, now I am 2 separate gorillas") translated into German to rib-tickling effect. My only real complaint about the whole reissue is that this last track, evidently sourced from vinyl, still suffers from the jump that marred it on Cornology - surely, given that the backing track is exactly the same and there are no vocals at that point, a quick bit of jiggery pokery with Protools could have taken the missing piece from the English version and inserted it here. While we're indulging in trainspottery, however, it's also worth pointing out that the brief piano interlude that followed the final track (11 Mustachioed Daughters) on the original album, but was omitted from Cornology, has been restored here. So that's alright then.

This is one of the Bonzos' greatest albums, perhaps THE greatest. No other musical comedy act bears repeated listens like the Bonzos - their genius was to be great at both music and comedy and combine the two seamlessly. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of a strange but talented bunch, 4 Sep 2007
By 
M Hisbent "silkiemh" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
This album saw the Bonzos at their peak, and this version is enhanced with some extra tracks which unlike most 'undiscovered treasures' do fit particularly well onto the original roll call. It wasn't a concept album typified by tracks following a single theme but it is a dazzling array of musical and lyrical styles which hang together perfectly and benefits from sitting down and listening to the whole album from start to finish. There are no highlights in this album simply because there are no weak tracks, showing just how far the Bonzos had come since their early days doing music hall pastiche. The immense influence which Neil innes exerted in the band shows through clearly in this album and that's not to belittle the contribution of anyone. "Beautiful Zelda" was at least as commercial as 'Urban Spaceman' and listening to 'Postcard' alongside 'My Pink Half of the drainpipe' invokes so many memories our working class life in the late 60's it is scary. (Adults did used to hang over the garden fence blethering on a Sunday afternoon whilst rice puddings were burning in the oven. If Neil Innes had written the Small Faces hit 'Lazy Sunday' what a fantastic trio of songs that would have made.) Stanshall was talented and a great figurehead, but Innes always had the potential to take the band to undiscovered heights which perhaps he got to in the Rutles eventually.
I've waited a lot of years for the cd re-issue of this classic '60's album - more literate, funny and downright 1960's weird than any of their contemporaries could achieve through a thousand overdubs or mangled chords. "We are normal and we dig bert Weedon' they claim on the opening track, and suddenly digging Bert Weedon doesn't seem so strange anymore. This is a great legacy for an idiosyncratic bunch of talented musicians and performers.
....... and thanks to the entertaining booklet I now know what 'The Doughnut in Granny's Greenhouse' was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a mad CD, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
revisited some of my youth with this bizarre CD. Hadn't heard it since I stopped playing Vinyl! Another trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bizzare, 22 Dec 2011
By 
Brian Charles Prince (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
my pink half of the drainpipe is the most bizzare way of explaining the Joneses that live next door. My pink half of the drainpipe belongs to me. Or is it terracotta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time and LP, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
Once I heard it I realised it was one of the bands CDs I did not like that much altho' it was an LP when I first heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonzo, 20 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
What a great album. Sitting down to listen to the lyrics is a joy and always puts a smile on my face.
Great service as usual. Reccommended fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected, 19 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
I heard "Hello Mabel" on Desert Island Discs" and loved it. Thought the album would be of a similar genre - so I bought it - big mistake !! The vast majority of the numbers sound like a free for all in the recording studio - mostly garbage except for the one gem I mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very dissappointing, 12 Dec 2010
By 
John Maddock "Terry Maddock" (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse (Audio CD)
After reading the above reviews, I downloaded this album with great expectations. I can only rate 4 out of the 17 tracks as worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse
The Doughnut In Granny's Greenhouse by Bonzo Dog Band (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews