Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, that you didn't expect.
A good film some may find hard to follow, due to different timelines. It has a habit of jumping back and forth from future to present, but this nearly always starts with Sandra Bullock waking up so it's not that difficult to keep track with. However it makes for a pretty good thriller and although it didn't end as expected, it probably made the film better for being...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by DVD Fan

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It annoyed me
I enjoyed this film on the whole, as others have said Sandra Bullock is a great actress. I did however think it had the potential to be a lot better than it was and the inconsistency of the daughter's scarring really really REALLY annoyed me, to the extent that it ruined the film for me. And I just knew the outcome would be as it was (not wishing to reveal too...
Published on 4 Aug 2007 by Ms. L. J. Oliver


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, that you didn't expect., 11 Oct 2007
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
A good film some may find hard to follow, due to different timelines. It has a habit of jumping back and forth from future to present, but this nearly always starts with Sandra Bullock waking up so it's not that difficult to keep track with. However it makes for a pretty good thriller and although it didn't end as expected, it probably made the film better for being different.
A woman wakes up and goes about her daily business only to find out her husband has died in an accident.....the following day she wakes up to find him alive and well.....but will he be tomorrow? There are no scares as such in this, it's not that type of thriller. It's more about what can you do with information you have about something that is going to happen and can you change destiny. If you like Memento, another timeline film that moves about a lot you should like this.
I thought Sandra Bullock was great in this and having watched Miss Congeniality 2 a few days before, it just goes to show she can do comedy, action or drama equally well! I think she is a much underrated actress. Overall 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie! despite all the poor reviews!, 1 April 2008
By 
T. Care "John 3:16" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film tonight, came on amazon and saw all the poor reviews!
WHY?? The movie is very good!, the whole time i was watching it i was constantly trying to work out what was happening or going on, wondering what will happen, I'd recomend this film to anyone, i really enjoyed it, great Acting all round, I Still dont understand the poor reviews, maybe theres alot of people out there without imaginations or wants to watch a film with all the answers in front of them, if so they shouldnt be watching films like this, should stick to Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It annoyed me, 4 Aug 2007
By 
Ms. L. J. Oliver "lisa_joli" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film on the whole, as others have said Sandra Bullock is a great actress. I did however think it had the potential to be a lot better than it was and the inconsistency of the daughter's scarring really really REALLY annoyed me, to the extent that it ruined the film for me. And I just knew the outcome would be as it was (not wishing to reveal too much!)

Also, just a friendly warning - a review further down gives the plot away totally so watch out if you haven't seen this yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good potential but ultimately flawed.., 2 April 2010
By 
ant (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of quirky, time twisting, alternate reality mystery-cum-science fiction thrillers (a niche interest, granted, but including the excellent Frequency and Butterfly Effect), I was looking forward (or is it backward?) to this film starring the mostly dependable but slightly overrated Sandra Bullock. On the whole, the production was slick and well put together and started off with conviction and invention.

However, the first thing that seemed completely out of place was the psychiatrist - he was hopelessly miscast, looking and acting like some hoodlum from a gangster movie. The next thing that irked me was that for a considerable part of the film, Sandra Bullock doesn't so much speak her lines as whisper or croak them - inaudibly - especially the scene with the priest in the church. Despite rewinding several times I just couldn't catch some words at all. And in a scene near the end with her husband, she squeaked out some words in a most bizarrely pitched voice. I'll have to warch the whole film again with subtitles to fathom what she said, but I really don't have time for that!

Finally the ending became rather predictable from quite a long way off, but I still had to see it to the end just in case it delivered something original.

Sadly it did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough entertainment for a Saturday evening in, 13 Aug 2007
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
This is a run of the mill thriller, with plenty of suspense, mystery and general thrills to hold the audience's attention until the end. Admittedly, more than a few of them will be fairly annoyed by the end due to the basic implausability of the plot, but Sandra Bullock manages to make it all worthwhile by a convincing performance as a mother and wife at the end of her tether.

Some very strange things happen in this film, and the plot is challenging enough to keep the audience guessing as to what will happen next. The characterisation is fine, with Julian McMahon playing the part of the husband with enough detachment to make you wonder whether he is behind all the strange goings on.

The time-warp has a pretty good pedigree in films and books and it would be unfair to labour too hard on the stretching of reality which is the basis of this film. After all, plenty of other screen-writers have played around with this theme, and many of them have not achieved the level of twisting and turning which film manages to squeeze in. There are plenty of cliff-hangers and surprises to make this a perfectly good enough film for a Saturday evening in with a bottle of wine, and the end result will be satisfying enough for most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline but something is just lacking...., 8 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is about a woman who falls into a timeslip and therefore for some bizarre reason starts to experience some events before they happen. She finds out one day that her husband has died in a horrific car accident and finds her mother living with her and her two daughters for support. The next morning when she wakes up her husband is alive and well and life is going on just as normal. She is worried and tells her husband about it but he brushes it off as a bad dream. The next morning when she wakes up, her husband is dead again and the day continues from where she left off the last time. This time they hold the funeral and she sees a strange woman she doesn't recognise at the funeral. She finds an empty medication bottle with the name of a doctor. The next day when she wakes up and her husband is alive once again but she knows that there is something very wrong because certain things she saw in the future days start to happen. She goes to see the psychiatrist who had prescribed medication for her in her future but is unable to find out any useful information. Instead he thinks she might be losing it and prescribes her the medication which she had found in the future. You getting confused...? Well thats how I felt sometimes whilst watching it.

The rest of the movie is focused on her attempt to work the puzzle out and stop a tragedy. It's one of those movies with a complicated story line and you have to pay great attention from start to finish otherwise it won't make much sense to you. The underlying theme is that when you try and prevent bad things from happening you actually end up causing them. The problem with the plot is that we never quite understand why she had this bizarre experience. We are left wondering how is it possible that she could she experience the future? Did she have a special gift or what? Hhmmm no one tells us. The fact that it fails to answer some important questions makes it kind of corny and superficial. The acting is quite good although I never connect with the husband's character. He seems detached and away with the fairies somewhat. Also the ending is rather abrupt and leaves you feeling quite unsatisfied and a little confused. (Well at least I was...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 10 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the ad for this film on the tv when it was at the cinema, and was looking forward to it coming out on DVD.
The film is well acted but is sooo jumpy, you don't know if you are in the past, present or future. When it ended i looked and my wife, she looked at me and we both said "is that it?". Very weird but could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all........., 8 Dec 2007
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
Having read some of the reviews I was expecting this to be awful, but although no Oscar winner, this is a pretty decent film. Its a little schmaltzy and overly sentimental, and seems to have suffered some heavy handed editing, but whats left is a decent enough supernatural tinged thriller, that has you paying attention throughout as things get a little complicated.
Sorry that so many people dont like having to think when they watch a film! sorry guys, no shootouts in this film....
acting is ok, and I think Sandra Bullock does well in her role as a woman trying to work out what is real and what is not...or is it all real?....or none of it?

Worth buying? no worth renting? yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's really okay, 8 July 2007
By 
Bezerus Bezby "Bez" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
I am not going to go into as much detail as the previous reviewer, since they have pretty much covered plot, acting and so on. What I will say, is that this is not a bad film. I went to see it at the cinema and I enjoyed it. I didn't feel that I had wasted my time or money.

I actually feel that the storyline was a clever idea and there are some genuinely spooky moments in this film. I almost cried at the end as well,as it was quite moving.

Okay, okay, it's not brilliant, but it certainly deserves more then a one star rating. Maybe best to rent it rather then buy it, but it's certainly worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An original thriller, 25 July 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Premonition [DVD] (DVD)
In 'Premonition' Sandra Bullock stars as Linda, a housewife who finds out that her husband has been killed in a car crash the day before. She then awakens the next morning to find him alive at home, so she believes that it all must have been a bad dream. But then when she awakens the next day she has gone back to a world in which he is still dead.

At first this film can be a little confusing until you work out that she is living the days of the week in the wrong order, but this is a very clever and different way of creating the mystery of what is going on. The story itself is very tense and chilling, emotional and pretty exciting the whole way through. Bullock plays the distressed character Linda extremely well and does a believable performance as the devestated widow and mother.

This is a very enjoyable and original film anyone looking for a supernatural, psychological thriller should love, adding new twists and styles to the genre. It's not so much a scary film, more mysterious and unpredictable. If you enjoy films like The Sixth Sense, Tell No One, White Noise or Stir of Echoes, this is one film you should definitely look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Premonition [DVD]
Premonition [DVD] by Mennan Yapo (DVD - 2007)
£3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews