Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful adaptation.
The perfect companion for all readers of historical fiction is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER

Having read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it I was a bit hesitant on purchasing the dvd, as it turned out I was pleasantly surprised to find the adaptation had followed the book faithfully.
A story of hardship and love, had me laughing one minute and crying the...
Published 2 months ago by IP

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you feeling all soft and squishy
A new recruit to Catherine Cookson - i love her films... although i enjoyed the first disc better than the second, but i am not going to say why cause it will spoil the film for you... and also do no read the back of the DVD as it will spoil the storyline - a bit like telling you the end before you see it!!
Published on 24 Jun. 2011 by K. Neary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful adaptation., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect companion for all readers of historical fiction is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER

Having read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it I was a bit hesitant on purchasing the dvd, as it turned out I was pleasantly surprised to find the adaptation had followed the book faithfully.
A story of hardship and love, had me laughing one minute and crying the next, it stirs all the emotions and leaves you exhausted at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good watch, 10 Jun. 2009
By 
T. Tracey "story lover" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
Cathrine Cookson researches her work well and knowledge of the historical facts surrounding the era the book portrays is excelent.
Her characters are believable and storyline rich. The only beef I had was the actual DVD I felt they left the audience to guess what the storyline was, they taak it for granted that we knew what the charactures wer thinking. Subsequently there seemed to be areas that didn't quite make sence for me. The book explained the plot more clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good - Catherine Cookson, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
Milliemollym (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
A happier outcome for most of the deserving characters so i enjoyed watching it - except the actors playing the two male characters in later life looked nothing like their younger versions and it was spoiled for me as one actor is now kind of type cast in his role in Shameless. But it could just be me. Watch it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic to the end, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
Catherine Cookson as always keeps you wanting to keep on turning the pages until the very last one she has a knack of allowing the reader to become one with the characters I was totally enthralled by this piece of fiction and didn't want it to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant adaptation of a Catherine Cookson book I really enjoyed ..., 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
Another brilliant adaptation of a Catherine Cookson book I really enjoyed this from beginning to end. The acting was superb, the storyline brilliant and it all came together to be a dvd that I know I will watch again - and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this story!!, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
Reason for ordering this dvd I have sky+ all the Catherine Cookson story's but for some reason it missed out part2 of A Dinner Of Herbs.. Couldn't be left wondering so had to order!! Wasn't disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. L. Haines (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
I got this for my parents who had the video version first and they wanted the DVD. They love the book more because they have missed out parts in the DVD. Still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent fast service dvd and as usual happy hours watching Catherine Cookson, A Diinner of Herbs, excellent dvd, thoroughly enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD], 3 Jun. 2014
By 
VICTOR (WALTON-ON-THE-NAZE,ESSEX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
I missed the film on TV and only caught half of it. I thought the DVD had more content and was really pleased with the transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you feeling all soft and squishy, 24 Jun. 2011
By 
K. Neary (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] (DVD)
A new recruit to Catherine Cookson - i love her films... although i enjoyed the first disc better than the second, but i am not going to say why cause it will spoil the film for you... and also do no read the back of the DVD as it will spoil the storyline - a bit like telling you the end before you see it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD]
A Dinner Of Herbs [DVD] by Alan Grint (DVD - 2007)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews