Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaption of a good solid story
This is much better than most of the Catherine Cookson series.

The story centres around a girl who opts to live with her young brothers and sisters in a cave, rather than enduring the horrors of the work house.

The characters are more rounded than you expect from Cookson. This leaves plenty of scope to develop major dilemmas. Each character has to...
Published on 26 Feb. 2008 by Prof TBun

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... back film on a sunday afternoon the book is better..
its ok abit slow at times but it ok for a back film on a sunday afternoon the book is better .....
Published 9 months ago by lillie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaption of a good solid story, 26 Feb. 2008
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
This is much better than most of the Catherine Cookson series.

The story centres around a girl who opts to live with her young brothers and sisters in a cave, rather than enduring the horrors of the work house.

The characters are more rounded than you expect from Cookson. This leaves plenty of scope to develop major dilemmas. Each character has to make difficult choices between following their emotions or following a safer route to security. In the end, all the characters have to make compromises.

Much of the action takes place outside in idyllic settings. This reinforces the value of freedom, even if it means being homeless.

There are those who won't like the ending, but I felt that it was in keeping with the sensibilites of people in the era the story was set in.

The story does drag a little towards the end as issues start to become resolved.

I would recommend this DVD to anyone looking for thought provoking entertainment, which isn't too emotionally taxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dwelling Place by Catherine Cookson, 4 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
This is the kind of film that you want to watch on your own,without any distractions.It is a very haunting film.I bought it a while ago now but it is still with me.You know when you watch a film and say that was ok,well this was more than ok.To me it was so true to life that I have dreampt and dreampt about it.
The character in it focuses on a young woman who was raped by the son of a wealty man and not only does she have to bring up the baby in utter filth but she also has younger brothers to also look after who have to work in the mines.She does the best she can with the child and tries to keep her home (the dwelling) which is basically a hole in a cave,clean and tidy.She has many suiters who try to help her,but due to her pride she will not let them help her.It has a wonderful ending that will make you cry but I won't spoil it for you,you will have to watch it to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars our katherine, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
I like a Katherine Cookson DVD they are easy to follow even when the story weaves in and out of several characters at a time What a woman to have this type of mind I think I have all the DVD.s made now I also send them to my Brother in Namibia. He says there isnt much to do there exept the pub. A night in with a great Katherine Cookson costume drama is a treat for him and his wife. He passes them on to neighbours who are German speakers but understand English well They seem to go the rounds and so he is asked if I have sent any more. Their TV are all American series. The fact that these storys are in a Northumbian dialect is a change for my brother and his friends there.There isnt a review on products like DVDs Anthony Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very Touching Story, 6 Feb. 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Hanson "Gilly" (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderfully moving story, why can't we see more of Catherine Cookson's masterpieces on the television? Quite a long story so you need to reserve a wet Sunday afternoon to watch it or a time when you are snowed up in winter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine fan, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
I only bought this film as I accidentally scratched the dvd in the box set I purchased.
Love the Catherine Cookson series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
I do like most of Catherine Cookson's films and this one is a really good one. It brought tears to my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great a must watch, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
A great reflection of the hardships of a young girl left to fend for herself and siblings. Brilliant film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... back film on a sunday afternoon the book is better.., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
its ok abit slow at times but it ok for a back film on a sunday afternoon the book is better .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 July 2014
By 
Ms. C. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film, it varied a little from the book but was a good adaptation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dwelling Place [DVD] (DVD)
As usual a good adaptation of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dwelling Place [DVD]
The Dwelling Place [DVD] by Gavin Millar (DVD - 2007)
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews