Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent.
The perfect gift for all historical movie buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
The Gambling Man is the story of a complicated and intelligent man with ambitions and a deep love for his family. Some of his decisions weren't the best, but it is infinitely clear that he was trying to make the best of what life was...
Published 7 days ago by Fortuna

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A big con!!!
I ordered this due to being a fan of Robson Green and what turned up was the free disc you get from the Daily Mail. I was fuming and think this is very misleading and wrong. I WON'T be ordering from this specific person again!!!
Published 13 months ago by Barbara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent., 11 Dec 2014
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all historical movie buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
The Gambling Man is the story of a complicated and intelligent man with ambitions and a deep love for his family. Some of his decisions weren't the best, but it is infinitely clear that he was trying to make the best of what life was offering. This is the eleventh CC novel adaptation that I've see so far and it is probably the best. The acting was very good and the story was believable, earnest, gripping and touching. I hope you enjoy the ride as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gambling Man, 17 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film from start to finish. What a hunk is Robson Green nice to watch and a good actor. This i s a true catherine cookson film to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CC. Never lets you down., 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
This story opens as you would expect, a card school. Rory Connor and John George are rent collectors in Jarrow. They are the best of friends. A visit to Rory's home left me a little confused, their relationship to each other was somewhat ambiguous. From his friends takings Rory borrows £5 for a planned gambling session. A very lucrative night it is for him too. However, the Pittie brothers (thugs), who set the game up, demand most of his winnings, he refuses their request and receives one hell of a beating. There is a lot of deception throughout this story. Whilst Rory is recovering from his mauling, his friend is accused of stealing the £5 and is sent to jail. Rory marries Jennie. His boss Charlotte has the hots for Rory and makes him her bookkeeper but is taken aback when he tells her he is married. The story is intriguing and ends up with a young Rory holding hands with his mother and grandmother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Louise Gillham (co durham england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
This Movie is a Great Film, the story had my in tears by the end, it is a wonderful story and film and Robson green is at his best and rest of the cast is amazing to.
Catherine Cookson at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the gambling man, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
So touching, Janey was alot like my sister, very forceful, she was excellent, they all played their parts very well, I really thought the son of the spiritualist was going to be pushed into the river.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
I did nor expect to like it so much. I thought it would be old fashioned and sort of Harlequin style.But it turned out well acted and surprisingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A big con!!!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this due to being a fan of Robson Green and what turned up was the free disc you get from the Daily Mail. I was fuming and think this is very misleading and wrong. I WON'T be ordering from this specific person again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS STORY THE GAMBLING MAN, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
GREAT BUY DVD EXCELLENT VIEWING. VERY ABSORBING TO WATCH. INTERESTING STORY
BY CATHERINE COOKSON . I ENJOYED WATCHING THIS DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buying in UK when you live in Canada, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
It's not that I hate catherine cooks because I don't, I enjoy her books and films. The problem is because I live in Canada the disc will not play here. I guess I learned the hard way!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally recommend, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gambling Man [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film would totally recommend..great value for money.. one of the best catherine cookson films.. totally worth every penny spent..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gambling Man [DVD]
The Gambling Man [DVD] by Norman Stone (DVD - 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews