Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars36
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£4.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2010
An absolutely amazing film. A mixture of romance, action and family life makes this an incredible adaptation of the novel. Tilly Trotter's gran was burned down in her house and has always been harassed by the man who did it. Now when a handsome gentleman offers her a job as housekeeper and nursemaid to his terrible children, she gladly accepts, thinking that this would give her a real boost in life. She joins in her position, but all the kitchen staff and maids resent her, accusing her of being a witch. But when a bombshell is dropped by the mistress of the house's mother, the whole house falls apart and so does the relationship of the mistress and the master of the house who offered her work. Now Tilly loses her job and her life becomes a totally different story. Of life in the mines, being attacked, falling in love and almost being killed in a major accident, Tilly Trotter brings an exciting adventure story to our screens. A must have for any DVD rack.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2010
I thought this was an excellent adaptation of Catherine Cooksons book. This was Carli's first major film role. Simon Shepherd is a very sensitive actor. I'm very pleased to see that others have enjoyed it too.It's an exciting,romantic,sweeping tale in true Cookson tradition.....highly enjoyable.....watch it...you won't be disappointed.
11 comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
Yet another drama adaptation of a great book. The dvd brings to life the characters within the book and I thought it was really well acted out. Recommend watching this to all Catherine Cookson fans.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
It's the best thing on British TV at the moment; 5-star production values and naturalistic acting from the actors make Tilly Trotter the best thing on TV at the moment. Carli Norris plays the eponymous heroine in a rural North-East setting from the nineteenth century. Tilly Trotter is good entertainment - admittedly it is not Shakespeare -but its lack of pretension is its strongest suit.

The acting is excellent as is the script, photography and music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
The video transfer leaves something to be desired, but the narrative is so gripping and the production so beautifully executed in all respects that all is ultimately forgiven, DVD picture quality-wise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
I love Catherine Cookson, she never fails to impress me and Tilly Trotter was another one of her great works. I would really recommend it. It kept me riveted throughout the whole film. Simply Great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I have not yet had an opportunity to view the DVD's but hope to very soon.

I always enjoy Catherine Cookson dramas and hope to buy more in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
As far as Catherine Cookson adaptations go, Tilly Trotter would have to be one of my favourites. Watch it. I don't think you will be disappointed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Great story and period drama
Good acting
Give you a good family entertaining
Together with several other Catherine Cookson DVD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Enjoy Catherine cookson novels and adaptations on TV so decided to purchase dvds great bargain good service delivered quickly
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.