Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the secret-cookson's only thriller!!
Well,Cookson may be famed for dramatic,heart-wrenching stories with love,marriage etc.But this is far from the genre.Although still containing the North-East background(hurrah!)and gritty realism-this ITV movie cannot be missed amid all those Cookson fans.Colin Buchanan as the main leading man was very good,and Hannah Yelland gave a heartfelt performance as Belle,at the...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by Rachel Tanner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Decent movie.
Published 1 month ago by T. G. Howlett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the secret-cookson's only thriller!!, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
Well,Cookson may be famed for dramatic,heart-wrenching stories with love,marriage etc.But this is far from the genre.Although still containing the North-East background(hurrah!)and gritty realism-this ITV movie cannot be missed amid all those Cookson fans.Colin Buchanan as the main leading man was very good,and Hannah Yelland gave a heartfelt performance as Belle,at the centre of all those secrets and lies.A brilliant choice of acting from Claire Higgins as Maggie Hewitt,Belle's guardian,Liz Carling as the mysterious woman with the scarred face and who could forget June Whitfield! A marvellous story,gripping,keeps you on the edge of your seat-why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson - mostly excellent!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
I have most all of Catherine Cookson's tv movies and have been impressed and greatly entertained by all of them. They are well directed, well acted, and always tell a story that is believable and true to the time period in which they were written. I am not going to review each one, but my favorite was THE GAMBLING MAN, with Robson Green who was absolutely great in this film. I can truthfully recommend anything written by Catherine Cookson. Buy them all - you will enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret, 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you for the dvd of Catherine Cookson's 'The Secret'. A really good film which we thoroughly enjoyed, and will watch again from time to time (good for cold winter evenings). The film was in excellent condition, and arrived promptly. Thank you. Joseph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mystery., 12 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
The story is set in the late 19th century. The first scene is of a birth. We then see a young Freddie Musgrave who is sent on a mission along the quayside. Instantly, Freddie is now a young man with his mentor Maggie Hewitt. There is a 'bloody' scene where Freddie gets beaten up and the story slowly unfolds, with flashbacks throughout, filling in the gaps. It steadily moves along, goes full circle and finishes up where it started. 'The Secret' in my mind could be any number of things. It kept me guessing, but I'm still confused about what the 'secret' was. Nevertheless, it is intriguing and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A clever story, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Dr. Michael J. Atkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
With expectations low, this is a well acted and great story with twists that you can guess and some you cannot. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always!, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
I love all of Catherine Cooksons Dvds . They are always equally as good as the book, and this 0 one did not disappoint me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
The dvd was very good,the storyline was enjoyable,I would recomend it to anyone that likes period dramas such as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good DVD and it is in very good condition and works very well on my DVD player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the secret dvd, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Maureen E. Henderson (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
i got thi d v d for a friend as she likes catherine cookson and she realy enjoyed watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret [DVD] (DVD)
Love all hers. These have just been on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret [DVD]
The Secret [DVD] by Alan Grint (DVD - 2007)
£3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews