Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
Let's get the negatives out the way. The Daft Punk influence is overwhelming at times, and there are a few average tracks on this album. But for a dance music artist album (remember how bad these often are) it is still exceptional. If you are going to model yourself on someone, Daft Punk isn't a bad place to start. Rock musicians are allowed influences without people...
Published on 16 July 2007 by J. P. Curtis

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic but frustrating
A schizophrenic and typically French mixture of choppy beats and fractured, processed sound. When it works, as on the stunning opener "Genesis" and the stomping closer "One Minute To Midnight" it's the equal (if not the better) of the best of contemporaries Mirwais and Daft Punk. The clipped and arrythmic Genesis is one of the best Parisian dance tracks I've yet heard,...
Published on 6 April 2008 by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Future Is here!!!!, 9 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
Ladies and Gentlemen, stap yourselves in and get ready for the future of music. If like me you have been wondering when the next movement would arrive then you need not look any further its here. Like great albums that have changed music history before, "cross" by Justice will go down in the recording archives. It crosses many music bounderies, through many time lines to arrive in an ultra modern look at where we are headed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome delivery ^_^, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
It actually arrived sooner than expected, so I am well pleased with this delivery, Thank You :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not convinced., 11 Sep 2007
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
I dunno. Yes, there is a unique style here. It's not house, it's not trance, it's not hip-op or trip-hop. It's minimal, retro, basic, and... well... rubbish. I think that's the whole point. You're meant to like this album in an "ironic" way? I just don't get it, though. It's unique and original, I'll give it that. But it certainly doesnt make me want to listen over and over again, unless I'm in the mood for something outrageously quirky. At times this album is painful to listen to, but there ARE one or two pleasing tracks if you dare journey to the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evil disco, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
Another over-hyped album that disappoints. I hear what previous say about the low-quality production of the album, but I think that is part of the appeal to be honest. What really lets the album down for me is it's just a bit too disco. I prefer the Justice of Waters of Nazareth and the opener Genesis, rather than D.A.N.C.E (although it's quite a decent tune).

I'm still waiting for this year's killer electronic album, this ain't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete rubbish!, 24 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
This album is complete rubbish. One reviewer above talked about the variation in the tracks - they must be on drugs - this it is the most monotonous piece of self-indulgent tripe I've ever had the misfortune to pay for - just because the tracks have no structure does not mean there is variation in the music! No structure, no purpose, no idea of what it's there to do. Sounds exactly like what you'd get if you gave a bunch of drunken teenagers a few lessons in how to add effects to some of their parents rock album collection and then recorded the ensuing cachophony. Apart fron aforementioned anonymous rock albums the only discernible influence on this album is Daft Punk - and they've done it all before and far, far , far better - in fact it's even an insult to them to mention them in the same review. I'll make up for it by saying - buy the Daft Punk back catalogue and FORGET THIS OVER-HYPED RUBBISH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Bad Daft Punk plagiary, 4 July 2007
By 
G. H. J. Maccario "HenriThe64" (Go South) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
The album is only a collection of sample loops cobbled together without any great skills, I'm afraid.
Absolute lack of melody and the rhythm is chaotic, without any subtle variation.
I cannot see how this music can be played in a club? It can only be used to link, introduce or being re-sampled by a DJ to do a better job.

ABLETON or SONAR users as advised: buy it, sample it, rip it, mix it, burn it and do a better.

Ciao G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have to agree with G. H. J. Maccario, 6 July 2007
By 
A. Wall "Wevie Stonder" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cross (Audio CD)
Justice are good Dj's undoubtedly, i think perhaps they released this album too soon. The production is average in comparison to other french house muscicians i.e. daft punk, alan braxe, cassius.

Newjack's a good tune though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross
Cross by Justice (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews